We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Where to eat and enjoy”
Review of Amanzi Restaurant

Amanzi Restaurant
Ranked #5 of 160 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Description: Situated in the heart of the Northern Suburbs of Harare, Amanzi Restaurant is set well back from the road in 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. An old farmhouse, architucturally converted to a stylish modern restaurant. Amanzi has the capacity to seat 100 people. Amanzi offers it customers "fusion" cuisine. The decor is a sophisticated blend of interior styles created to form a backdrop for unusual collections of African antiquities and contemporary art. The water feature is stocked with koi carp, and is floodlit at night. The property is noted for its collection of indigenous trees, predominately msasa, and colourful shrubs, which provide a cool, restful atmosphere.
2 reviews
“Where to eat and enjoy”
Reviewed August 16, 2014

Brillant Setting, top class resturant with a great menu set in converted Harare Home. Visit them in the evenings for an awesome experience

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank Camesawconqured
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

319 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    124
    131
    48
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
79 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“Great for sundowners and chillout”
Reviewed August 7, 2014

I visited on my last trip to Harare. Its a great venue for sundowners and you are surrounded by peace and senerity in their botanical style gardens property. The cocktails are reasonable although I didn't get to try the food menu.
You also have a vast wine and champagne collection to choose from which isn't common in the area.
Lovely place to catch up with friends or spend you

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
Thank gemma m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town
Level Contributor
45 reviews
27 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“A hidden gem in the suburbs”
Reviewed July 31, 2014

This restaurant was recommended to us by our taxi driver while we in Harare on business.

We went during a quiet night and I can certainly say it was one of my best Zimbabwean food/eating experiences.

Loved the food - I think I ate an oxtail dish - piping hot and tasty. The service was great. There is a limited menu but my choice was so tasty I would have not had anything else.

I loved the environment - beautiful and serene garden setting - well kept grounds. Also recieved great service - possibly because it was a quiet night.

After nights of eating hotel food this was a welcome change! Although a bit pricey.

It also doubles as a night venue with live music and draws a mixed crowd including expatriates and locals. Loved the music and loved the vibe. It was one of my best nights out in Zim!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sandisiwe N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level Contributor
40 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Great Ambiance”
Reviewed July 8, 2014 via mobile

Whilst there was a small menu the food was great . Could just not beat the ambiance. Nicely tucked away in a suburb with sounds of a waterfall outside. I believe they also do a live band on certain evenings.
Yes I give it a thumbs up.

Helpful?
Thank afzalmoti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bath, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Really very good”
Reviewed July 3, 2014

As good as you would expect in far metropolitan locations. Nice ambience, good service and the menu is interesting and very well prepared. Had two dinners there, not cheap but worth it.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
Thank SimonPortico
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanzi Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Amanzi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing