We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice food”
Review of Amanzi Restaurant

Amanzi Restaurant
Ranked #6 of 159 Restaurants in Harare
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $7 - $35
Cuisines: International, European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Large groups, Business meetings, Special occasions, Scenic view, Bar scene, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Drinks, Breakfast, Dinner, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Validated Parking, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Situated in the heart of the Northern Suburbs of Harare, Amanzi Restaurant is set well back from the road in 4 acres of beautifully landscaped gardens. An old farmhouse, architucturally converted to a stylish modern restaurant. Amanzi has the capacity to seat 100 people. Amanzi offers it customers "fusion" cuisine. The decor is a sophisticated blend of interior styles created to form a backdrop for unusual collections of African antiquities and contemporary art. The water feature is stocked with koi carp, and is floodlit at night. The property is noted for its collection of indigenous trees, predominately msasa, and colourful shrubs, which provide a cool, restful atmosphere.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
408 reviews
89 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 289 helpful votes
“Very nice food”
Reviewed March 7, 2013

The food was varied and very tasty, and the setting is lovely in an old Colonial style house in lovely gardens.

  • Visited February 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank A380fan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    121
    131
    48
    10
    6
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Harare
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“AMANZI RESTAURANT”
Reviewed February 19, 2013

The food was excellent. Good variety and dishes you wouldn't cook for yourself at home. Everything cooked and seasoned to perfection. Great atmosphere. Band that was playing was excellent - music to suit all tastes.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
Thank Michelle H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Michelle H thank you for your review. We are glad you enjoyed our food. We are working on our new menu with a Consultant Chef at the moment and have lots of new dishes coming up. The menu changes next week.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
116 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“best food in harare”
Reviewed February 1, 2013

Well, in the four nights we were there. You can eat indoors or on the veranda overlooking lush and beautifully landscaped gardens including a little waterfall into a pool, so we were serenaded by the frogs, and well sheltered when it poured down. The food was good - there is one menu, lunch or dinner, so if you want a light lunch you can have one of their many interesting tapas-type starters eg spinach and feta samosas, salmon fishcakes, carpaccio of venison. Very good food, and attentive but not intrusive service. When it was raining,there was someone in the car park with umbrellas! You need to book in the evenings, but it was quiet at lunchtime. Closed Sunday lunchtime. Prices are like an average UK restaurant, but the food was more interesting than I have had for the same price in UK, and Zimbabwe is not as cheap as South Africa.
By comparison, at a quite upmarket hotel restaurant in Harare we were given a "Greek" salad in which chopped up processed cheese wedges were substituted for feta (!) so Amanzi was a real find.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eurilla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Eurilla thanks for your review. We pride ourselves in our landscaped gardens and waterfalls. Amanzi means flowing water which was one of the first things we put into our property.
Very shortly we will be opening a wine bar section to Amanzi, so that you can enjoy the tapas menu in a more casual setting with a chilled glass of wine. Watch this space as there are interesting changes going on at Amanzi!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare
Level Contributor
2 reviews
“Business environment with privacy”
Reviewed December 27, 2012

Amanzi offers privacy that is suitable for business lunches. The meals was great and the staff is friendly. The place is also easy to locate and traffic flows smoothly and there are minimal traffic related delays when one has an appointment there.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
Thank Max N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jama24, Owner at Amanzi Restaurant, responded to this review, March 4, 2013
Thank you Max for your review regarding business lunches. We hope our guests enjoy the peaceful environment our gardens and waterfalls provide. It is always good to hear our staff are friendly and welcoming. With business lunches it always helps to tell the staff if you are in a hurry as they can make the service quicker if you require.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harare, Zimbabwe
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great ambience, happening dance floor, slow service”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went to the Amanzi for our Christmas dinner party. The atmosphere is mindblowing and one would be really surprised at the nice ambience and good music at the place. Food is a bit expensive even for Harare, but one does not mind paying as quality is really good plus Amanzi has one of the most happening Dance floors in Zimbabwe. However service is slow and it is common to wait for 30-40 minutes before your order comes through.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aditya s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amanzi Restaurant also viewed

Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 
Harare, Harare Province
Harare, Harare Province
 

Been to Amanzi Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing