We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN HARARE”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Small World Backpackers Lodge
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Simrishamn, Sweden
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A GREAT PLACE TO STAY IN HARARE”
Reviewed July 16, 2011

we stayed while we were in harare and found the place to be an oasis!! it is a great place to stay and the staff are super friendly. it is not that far from the centre so i would highly recommend this place to one and all.

Room Tip: the room facing the pool and opening out to the rear patio.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank rabotat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    23
    52
    20
    4
    6
See reviews for
7
18
23
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Austin, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 9, 2010

Note: This is a review for the Small World Backpackers in the Bvumba Mountains (affiliated with the Harare hostel). My boyfriend and I stumbled upon the beautiful getaway in the Bvumba Mountains by complete accident, but it was the best value accommodation and service we received in our 3+ months touring Southern and Eastern Africa. This quiet getaway is new and currently being developed, so some amenities may still be unavailable. We opted for a private cottage that came complete with nightly warm fires to chase away the dampness and cold. The surrounding rain forest is incredible and the staff went above and beyond to make us feel like we were 5-star guests while only paying budget prices. Just note that the accommodation is mostly self-catering (camping is also available) and although transportation by minibus (or hitchhiking) is possible to the lodge and area attractions (hiking, Botanical Gardens, etc), you need to allow ample time to explore the area. Please support this small business and the hospitable and friendly Zimbabweans who are trying to deliver a unique experience!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forshotful
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seremwe, Manager at Small World Backpackers Lodge, responded to this review, March 1, 2016
Thank you for your review. Please continue to come and stay with us we are always to host you. We are so happy that your stay at Small world.
Thank you for choosing to stay with us
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Small World for two nights in April 2009. Considering all this country has been through and is still going through, it wasn't bad. Of course everywhere in the country, electricity and water go on and off but Small World had a generator that kept most things working. They do not offer any food but have a kitchen that guests may use. We had a private room with a bathroom in the room. They also offer dorm rooms with bunk beds. The TV, portable heater and lamp didn't work in the room we had the first night. The furnishings were outdated and old but the bed wasn't bad. We changed rooms for the second night and were more comfortable. Again there was an old TV in the room but it didn't work.

There was internet-$1.00 for 30 minutes but it was on and off because the networks are down quite a lot. There was a bar serving Lion beer-$1.00 and other drinks.. The swimming pool doesn't work and is green with algae. The garden and sitting areas are nice. The parking is limited and the area seemed to be full of vehicles that had been left there.

We paid $50. for the first room-they wanted $70 and $40 for the second, worth about $30. If you need a inexpensive, clean and safe place to stay in Harare, Small World I recommend Small World. All the other guesthouses have closed and the major hotels are over $150 US a night.

Presently Zimbabwe is using the US and South African currency and you should have plenty before you enter the country. No option for ATM's and credit cards.

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank snowcap_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Harare hotels
2.2 mi away
The N1 Hotel Harare
The N1 Hotel Harare
#3 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 281 reviews
1.8 mi away
Bronte Hotel
Bronte Hotel
#1 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 355 reviews
5.1 mi away
Cresta Lodge Harare
Cresta Lodge Harare
#2 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Harare
Holiday Inn Harare
#5 of 13 in Harare
4.0 of 5 bubbles 271 reviews
4.7 mi away
Simba Harare
Simba Harare
#37 of 50 in Harare
3.5 of 5 bubbles 41 reviews
5.8 mi away
Sunbird Guest House
Sunbird Guest House
#3 of 50 in Harare
5.0 of 5 bubbles 98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Small World Backpackers Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Small World Backpackers Lodge

Property: Small World Backpackers Lodge
Address: 25 Ridge Rd | Avondale, Harare, Zimbabwe
Location: Zimbabwe > Harare Province > Harare
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 58 Specialty Lodging in Harare
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
It's a Small World Lodge", in Harare, offers everything from camping, for backpackers, to family suites, for larger groups. Skype: smallworld251 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jovago.com and HostelWorld so you can book your Small World Backpackers Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Small World Backpackers Hotel Harare

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing