We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“certainly very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Tunisia Palace

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Tunisia Palace
Ranked #12 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Modena, Italy
Level Contributor
98 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“certainly very good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2012

The hotel has small, but nice rooms. in some rooms we have noticed that the shower force you to be a weird position. better to check it before taking the room.

the staff is cordial and the coffee very good. The food is excellent, and the celia beer a nice surprise.

they have an hammam, which was closed because it is still summer, and do not have a gym. may be a problem, but the hotel is few hundreds meters from the medina, and i enjoyed a morning run in the small roads of the medina.

recommended

Room Tip: check the shower before accepting a room
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank beingandrea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

157 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    68
    31
    13
    1
See reviews for
16
51
27
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
121 reviews
76 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 190 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2012

This hotel is ideally located just steps from the medina and the centre of the new city. You couldn't get a better location in town. The room we had was very spacious, bed was comfortable (I like firm beds) and it was all very clean with good strong water pressure and fluffy bathrobes. It was located in the back of the building and was very quiet. The staff was very friendly, helpful and attentive. The Wifi, although free and meant to be everywhere in the hotel, didn't work in our room, but it did work in the lobby at the entrance. Breakfast was average, although the coffee was cold. There is no business centre with spare computers and printers. That would have been handy. We were not expecting such a great place in the centre and were glad we did find it.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank emiana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman
Level Contributor
39 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 10, 2012

The hotel is in an old building but it has obviously been renovated so the rooms have a high ceiling, freshly painted with nice new doors and bathroom tiles, decent furniture, but i couldnt help but feel that something is missing. Even though we were in a double room the closet space was barely enough for a single person. The towels, though clean, were worn out. The beds had clean white sheets but covered with a beige blanket which didnt look too clean since unlike the sheets it most probably wouldnt get washed regularly. Breakfast had everything one could possibly need, including great fresh orange and grapefruit juice, but lacked in prompt service. The staff were friendly and very helpful but we had to ask for everything. With a little bit extra effort and attention to these minor details it could be a very good experience especially that it has an excellent location at the entrance of the old city and the corner of bourguiba avenue. They have free wifi everywhere in the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sarroun
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Juneau, Alaska
Level Contributor
171 reviews
71 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

This hotel is in a good location, with easy access to the medina and cafes and the city center. The room was comfortable and clean, but the bed was very hard and the amenities were basic. I first stayed in a very quiet room in th back which was quite spacious and when I returned, stayed in a front room with a small balcony over the street which was much smaller. Both were fine for different reasons, The breakfast buffet is grandiose - and will suit any appetite. The staff was multi-lingual, helpful, and very courteous, but I expected a little more in the accomodations for the price.

Room Tip: If you want a larger room, a room in the back may be more suitable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank polaraubie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
24 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2012

City slickers and leisurely tourists mingle at the Hotel Palace Tunis. Formerly an ornate bank, this popular central hotel is well placed for the Medina and Marche (old town and market) and the European quarter of the city. With just fifty rooms, it’s quite the little boutique, and just as fashionable. Complete with triple-height banking hall, where dinner is now served instead of currency transactions, the hotel is as friendly as welcoming friend. The charm is in its quaintness; this is no homogenous chain. You’ll find quirks and eccentricities in every room, so if you want everything to work first time, every time, this isn’t perhaps the palace for you. On the other hand, with staff who tend to any need, day or night, and a policy that’s none too strict on opening hours and checking out, you might just want to make the most of their very warm welcome.

Room Tip: check the shower head is properly installed. I changed twice and still had to wedge it in place to...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank DethStarr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 13, 2011

Rooms are lovely. Big, spacious, clean and comfortable. The bathrooms also very good.

Wifi is free throughout the hotel but there was no signal in my room. I asked if there would be a possibility of improving the signal strength and they came to my room with a router! That on sly solved the problem. There is also an Ethernet port in the rooms for laptop users.

I only had breakfast here as we went out for food in the night it the breakfast wasn't great for a four star hotel. Poor selection of meats and cheese, not very nice sausages and boiled eggs. Some fruit and yoghurt also and a few croissants. Not the best. The orange juice however is to die for! It's incredible.

Location wise, it's right next door to the souk, which for me was not very enjoyable. Typical North African style harassment and pestering for money. We were followed for about five minutes by someone wanting us to pay him to take us somewhere.

However, across the road from the hotel, hidden the other side of rue Amilcar is a fantastic indoor market selling fresh fish, olives, herbs, cheese etc. well worth seeing that.

Personally, I was here on business and was fine. For a holiday though, I would stay clear of Tunis. It is not anything special in my opinion. I would go to the west coast if you are looking for a holiday.

  • Stayed December 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Duck117
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
359 reviews
192 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2011

The Tunisia Palace fits between boutique and a big hotel, generally with the benefits of both. It's rooms are largely, well maintained, and comfortable. And it does not have the bland anonymity of large international chains. The downside is that the food offer is just average, and some of the services often available in a 4* aren't here immediately; when I forgot my toothbrush the hotel had to send out a staff member to go to a pharmacy, which they did quickly and successfully for a fee, I'd stay again if in central Tunis. The hotel is right by the northern entrance of the souk.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank OnwardTraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.9 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
0.3 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 377 reviews
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 436 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 317 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#16 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunisia Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunisia Palace

Property: Tunisia Palace
Address: 13 Avenue de France, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Tunis
#9 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Tunisia Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 48
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Tunisia Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunisia Palace Golden Yasmin Hotel Tunis
Tunisia Palace Golden Yasmin Tunis
Tunisia Palace Tunis, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing