We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Our city is safe"”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Ranked #1 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 159 helpful votes
“"Our city is safe"”
Reviewed February 11, 2013

The Fourati family has a long tradition of hospitality in the capital of Tunisia, and we felt very welcome here. This hotel is not a resort. It was recommended by our friends in Tunis, and it's a popular gathering spot for local meetings as well as business travelers. The waiters kept our coffee cups full at breakfast, which offered croissants comparable to what you might find in Paris. You'll be better off if you speak French, but limited English is spoken and everyone on the staff is eager to please. Our triple room was clean and spacious with a large bathroom and good wifi connection. The post Arab Spring economic downturn has hit Tunis hard, and while the streets are bustling during the day, the neighborhood is a scary ghost town at night. The hotel is an oasis from the crazy traffic and trash in the streets. You should hire a car and driver from a nearby Ulysee Rent a Car agency for seeing the sights of Carthage, the medina, and day trips to Dougga and El Jem. Our host family made sure we didn't encounter any difficulties from `'the transition`' as they call it, and if you are fortunate enough to experience Tunisian home hospitality you'll be overwhelmed. They'd love to see more American tourists here and when we checked out the desk clerk made a point of saying `'Tell people our city is safe." There's a discount for booking online.

Room Tip: Elevator is a bit slow, so we were happy to walk up to the 2nd floor (3rd floor).
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank strangersblog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    161
    57
    8
    2
    4
See reviews for
22
19
20
154
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reston, Virginia
Level 6 Contributor
117 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed March 11, 2012

Although this hotel is classified as four stars, note that it is missing some amenities such as swimming pool or fitness center. But by Tunisian standards this hotel is quite good value, friendly and well-run, as noted by some other interviewers, esp. with a corporate discount rate (I paid 104 Tunisian Dinars per night, which is a very good price in Tunis). The lady at the front desk is very helpful and cheerful, and other staff are also usually friendly and competent. The restaurant is reasonable though choice is not extensive, and during my two week stay in Feb. 2012 the menu was the same each day, lunch or dinner, though for lunch they also offered a set-price menu ("businessman's lunch") which I did not have the chance to try, but looked like a good deal. As usual for this part of the world, water is not offered, and you will pay for a bottle of water. The room has a small minibar with reasonable prices for a hotel, and includes Tunisian wine and beers (some neighborhoods in Tunis are "dry" even in very expensive hotels, but that is not the case here). My room included breakfast, which was very good: excellent croissants and rolls, yoghurt, a modest selection of fruit and dates, and eggs and sausage which I did not sample. The coffee was strong though quite bitter, but on request the staff will prepare very good espresso (no extra charge).

I was initially in a room at the back of the hotel (room numbers beginning with 9 even though on the 2nd floor) and the room was a disappointment: very old furnishings and little light. I asked for a room at the front, which was cheerfully arranged, and the difference was substantial: much updated, and a nice view over the street lined with palm trees, much nicer than the view of air vents in the other room. Internet service was reasonably good, though not fast, and included in the room rate. The mattress was somewhat thin and firm, but acceptable, and the room reasonably clean. There don't appear to be non-smoking rooms, so the smell of cigarettes is hard to escape. The bar just off the reception area would have been inviting but every time I opened the door I was nearly overcome by the clouds of smoke).

The location is about two blocks from the large Belvedere Park which also has quite a nice zoo, which is a popular family attraction on weekends. A short walk away are Monoprix and Carrefour, large French supermarket chains. As with other neighborhoods in Tunis, zoning is non-existent, and walking toward the downtown from the hotel (a 15 - 20 minute walk) you are likely to walk through an area of auto repair shops and wonder if you have made a wrong turn. It is also walking distance from the old market area, the Medina, which is well worth seeing.

Room Tip: Rooms are best at front of hotel and upper floors; stay away from the annex at the rear which has ou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank fredswartz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed October 31, 2011

I check in this small family-owned hotel whenever I am in Tunis. Staff is very friendly and helpful. There is free Wifi in the rooms, which are comparatively spacious. Breakfast is good, as is the restaurant. Downstairs you'll find a large lobby where you can work or just sit and discuss. And don't forget to visit the bar, it's quite an experience :-)

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank soupmama
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
Level 5 Contributor
70 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

I stayed here for several days in early July. Parts of the hotel have been renovated, others haven't -- I was on the 7th floor which had not and the room was perfectly serviceable if a little worn. Other rooms on lower floors had been updated more recently. The air conditioning worked beautifully, and the wifi in the room was strong (although the speed dropped in the evening when everyone seemed to be online, but that's not the hotel's fault!).The staff was friendly, especially in the dining room.

The hotel's location is fairly quiet - I had a room facing the street and the noise wasn't much of an issue. There are a couple of kiosk/convenience store type shops within steps, and a coffee house across the street. There is a MonoPrix grocery store within five-ten minutes of the door (pick up a map of Tunis at the front desk and ask for directions).

Room Tip: 7th floor rooms haven't been renovated; -05 rooms are next to the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Khowaga
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
100 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed November 21, 2010

This hotel is a very good choice when you are staying on business in Tunis. A very central location, all cab drivers know it (huge advantage!), the rooms very clean albeit a bit 1960s style.
Very friendly staff, and the (free!) internet worked very well in my room, although I heard other guests who stayed on the top floors complain about it.
Breakfast & dinner were fine, a nice addition was that there was a Tunisian musician performing every evening during dinner time with some classical Arab music - I can really recommend this plance, good value for money!

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank holly04
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sussex, England
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
Reviewed October 2, 2010

I stayed a week on business in September, apart from problems with the Wi-fi, one could not fault this hotel for value and comfort. Contrary to the previous review, which I cannot understand, the staff were very helpful - doorman, receptionists, waiters, room service - and plentiful, there are always members of staff available. Even with my execrable French staff were always courteous and did their best to make my stay comfortable.
Breakfast was reasonable, fried and scrambled egg, excellent croissants, fruit and good coffee. Not totally an American breakfast, but do you expect this in Tunis? Dinner was reasonable but with a few rough edges, acceptable Tunis wine available.
Rooms comfortable and well serviced with pleasant and helpful maids. Only one English channel (CNN) on TV, but not a problem for me.
The bar, rather detached from the hotel, is like most bars in Tunis a bit rough (and extremely smokey,, again as normal), but reasonably priced.
There is building work in the area which starts early, but Tunis generally seems a construction site.
As commented previously the situation is not central, but taxis are very cheap and once one is familiar with the geography the centre is easily walkable.
Price was superb and at less than £40 a night a real bargain.
The only problem was poor or non-existent internet access. The manager said this was temporary as they were changing provider. However, this was a real inconvenience and it is worth checking if it is important.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Miner1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Island of Malta, Malta
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 2, 2010

If you feel like having a Fight and not a holiday - Go to this hotel!!
The reception staff are very rude, not polite and insulting!

The staff were so unwelcoming that, even though I was on a half-board basis, I had only 1 lunch in this hotel and took the rest of my meals in other hotels. (I was in Tunis for 8 days)

As for the breakfast; the crockery is always wet, the buffet includes food like rice and spaghetti (which you would normally want for dinner rather than breakfast!) and you always have to supplicate the waiters to be provided with tea-spoons to stir your coffee or eat your yoghurt, that is sad.

Instead of writing 4 Stars near the entrance, they should write; ''Beware of the receptionist -''it'' may bite you!!''

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Adrou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.4 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
378 reviews
0.5 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
332 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
449 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 54 in Tunis
400 reviews
3.4 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
5.9 mi away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Belvedere Fourati? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Belvedere Fourati

Property: Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Address: 10 Avenue des Etats Unis d'Amerique | Tunis Belvédère, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Tunis
#1 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
#4 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Belvedere Fourati 4*
Number of rooms: 70
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Hotel Belvedere Fourati reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Belvedere Tunis
Hotel Belvedere Fourati Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing