We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not honest hotel - Absolutely stay away!”
Review of Dar El Medina

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Dar El Medina
Ranked #23 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
rome
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Not honest hotel – Absolutely stay away!”
Reviewed September 27, 2010

I stayed with my husband for two days at the Dar El Medina Hotel. On the phone they gave us a rate in Dirhams, as obvious in Tunisia, but at check out they said it was in Euros. Almost double the price! We had to call the police and at the end not having any proof on paper settled to pay 50% more than the price the hotel first told us. The owner of the hotel is a real fraudster. Not even a pleasant stay before this happened.
The worst and most expensive hotel we stayed at in Tunisia- in all other places we visited we stayed at hotels with better rooms, better service and at better rates.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank livlen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

128 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    40
    13
    21
    7
See reviews for
14
67
17
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

Me and my husband spent two nights in this hotel as part of our honeymoon. The hotel is very stylish, with antique furniture and attention to detail. We loved our room, very spacious with loads of character, and all staff have been nice and attentive - our favourite being Raja. Breakfast is lovely too.
We arrived in Tunis around mid-day and walked from the train station to the hotel through the souks which wasn't bad at all. If you arrive at night though I might be better to take a taxi to the constitution square and then ask a member of staff to come and get you (its only 2mins away).

The hotel is in a very nice street unlike most of the souks and its close to everything. We particularly enjoyed having tea at the terrace which is overlooking the whole of Tunis and also the flowers and candles staff put in our room every day. Overall, it has been a great experience - we loved every minute and definately recommend if you want a bit of an upmarket stay in a traditional Tunisian house. Hi-fi doenst work really and even with a cable connection we didn't manage to connect to the internet.

Tips:
In terms of shopping in the souks everything seemed to cost 150dinar - definately trying to rip tourists off but if you start at 10dinar, you'll find that you are going to end up with a much better price in the end.What has worked for us is come up with a price we are willing to pay for an item before we start haggling and stick to it. When you reach that price and they are still nowhere near aggreeing to that price then say ok thank you very much and make your way to the door. Then they know you mean business.

Taxis: always ask to put the meter on. We met quite a few nice taxi drivers but there is also those trying to make more money. That is why you should always ask to put the meter on. If there is a dispute just ask them to call the police and soon they will be willing to negotiate the price. There is a big problem with taxi drivers apparently and they can loose their licence easy. Taxis are cheap though so don't think twice. We went from Tunis centre to Sidi bu Said and back with a stop at another sea side village for £10!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samaraki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
basel
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2010

whoever is a bit familiar with traditional mediterranean/moorish architecture knows that old buildings are based on a composition of narrow, high ceiling rooms, organized at various levels revolving around patios and inner courtyard. Those levels are connected by narrow, steep staircases. Henceforth some reasons of complaint by fellow travelers who probably expect something else. One can argue why, while reconverting old houses into hotels, a lift is not included, as well as larger bay windows, or more "roomy" rooms... However, the description of this hotel as it appears on its internet site is quite accurate, as well as the map clearly showing its location smack in the hearth of the old medina. i appreciate its authenticity, the tasteful refurbishing and decoration, the wonder of its unusual interior proportions, the spontaneous kindness of a non-chain/marketing-oriented service and, finally, the charm of its sky, filled with birds and muezzin's calls.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank fztraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 3, 2010

We arrived at the hotel quite late only to find the receptionist wasn't in a mood to sort us with our room but kept hustling which I assume was as a result of us not been ripped off enough by the taxi driver (paid 13 TND for a ride from the airport (normally should be about 10 TND) + 1 TND tip).
After an hour of contemplation and numerous calls from hotels.com where we booked the room, he agreed to let us in.
Other than this experience the room was decent size, clean and well decorated in typical Tunisian style. The breakfast was good and abundant but it was identical the following morning. Good we only stayed here for 2 nights.
Not at all worth >120 GBP per night in my opinion.

Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ElenaDi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
56 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed March 1, 2010

The previous reviewers are correct in saying that it's not very easy to find, particulalry if you arrive after dark - may be better to arrange a pickup at the airport with the hotel. having said that, our taxi driver came with us from the square about 5 minutes walk away to make sure we found it. There are lots of steps, although there are also rooms on the ground floor off the two courtyards so this doesn't have to be a problem. Yes the breakfast is the same and can get a bit wearing but it's good value and good to eat.

It's right in the heart of the medina and really easy to get around. Wouldn't walk through the main aprt at night, but there are at least three good restaurants within two minutes walk of the riad which serve excellent food - one of them is patronised by local politicians and has had the Prime Minster of Singapore eating there - best food we tasted in Tunisia. If you want to go further afield to the new town, just get a taxi - costs about £2 each way and easy to pickup at the nearest square.

The rooms are big enough, although can understand why some people found the space between the bed and wall a bit tight. It's very atmospheric though and there's a roof terrace to sit out on. We found the staff very helpful and keen to please. Booked through hotels.com and got a good rate.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank george_bishop
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
15 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed February 6, 2010

Stayed for three nights. The building is lovely and the hotel is right in the heart of the medina. Beware if you don't like steps as there are a lot in the hotel. The room was fine, clean and unoffensive. The staff are not hugely helpful, and room service was appalling. We did not feel safe walking around the medina at night, which made going out in the evening a problem. Breakfast is good.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DLTW
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2010

The first thing to say is that we are in our 70s, and it didn’t suit us at all. Awkward to get at, with some very uneven surfaces whichever route you choose. You either have to walk quite a way to find a taxi (watch out for taxi crooks who don’t use meters) or battle your way through the teeming mobs of rue de la Kasbah. Never has so much junk been on sale to so many and bought by so few. Who on earth buys that stuff?!
The allegedly best room in the hotel is long, thin and again, awkward. Double bed so close to the walls that getting in and out is a real challenge.
No choice at breakfast. Same thing every day, and exciting it wasn’t. Wears a bit thin after 5 nights.
Not a safety regulation to be seen in the whole place.
Internet worked sometimes (hard wired, not wifi)
A self-satisfied, allegedly 4-star boutique hotel that, in our humble opinion, is a complete rip off. Obviously not everybody feels that way about the Dar El Medina, but here are two world-weary travellers who do.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Lboro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
1.2 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
377 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.4 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#14 of 54 in Tunis
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Palais Bayram
Palais Bayram
#9 of 54 in Tunis
54 reviews
0.1 mi away
Dar Ben-Gacem
Dar Ben-Gacem
#8 of 54 in Tunis
95 reviews
4.4 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dar El Medina? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dar El Medina

Property: Dar El Medina
Address: 64 Rue Sidi Ben Arous, Tunis 1006, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#16 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Dar El Medina 4*
Number of rooms: 12
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and HotelQuickly so you can book your Dar El Medina reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Dar El Medina Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Dar El Medina Hotel Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing