We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Tired and well past its best days, now run-down.”
Review of Yadis Ibn Khaldoun

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Tired and well past its best days, now run-down.”
Reviewed July 13, 2012

Stayed for 10 days in July 2012, in a large "superior" room. This hotel needs an overhaul, it was probably good 20 years ago. Room furniture was battered, carpets were filthy, air-con was noisy, hot water kept coming out a brown colour. The TV was old, the channels available are limited and picture/reception was awful.

Restaurant was help-yourself buffet for both breakfast and evening meals. The food was OK/average but after a couple of days of the same dishes being laid out every day it became depressingly boring. Tend to recycle food from the previous service, meat and cheese not eaten at breakfast appears in the evening salads or tureens of stew.

The Bar is just a large room for beer drinking and smoking - Nothing special.

Bed linen was clean and fairly new. Room was not serviced on Fridays.
Location is good if you need to be near the city center.
It is tolerable for a business trip for a couple of nights. I feel sorry for anyone who books it as a holiday destination.

Room Tip: Find another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Willis-UK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

96 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    26
    23
    14
    14
See reviews for
14
19
13
29
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 1, 2012

Its location is very good and you need 10 minutes walking to reach center of the city.
The room was clean and room service was good but the air condition system did not work good and also there wasn't minibar or refrigerator in room.
Internet connection was only available in lobby.
Buffet breakfast wasn't bad. Lunch and dinner menu was so poor and their price was too high.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamed A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
UK
Level Contributor
25 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed in this hotel in summer 2009, when we arrived they tried to give us room with non aircondition and asked for more money if we wanted an aircon room...which wasnt what we booked!!!! after telling them we booked a air con room and telling them off, then they gave us the room we wanted. the staff are not very helpfull in terms of the tourist information or anything else unless they are offered tips. one positive is the hotel is not far from the centre, otherwise very disappointing!!!!!! wont be staing there again!!!!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Masziyah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, BC, Canada
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2011

Stayed here 3 nights in total in Dec 2010 and Jan 2011. Clean, decently modern. Front reception is polite and helpful with good English skills. Easy to catch a taxi to go anywhere. Very cheap to get a taxi to the Medina, Carthage and airport - 10 dinar max. Best thing about this hotel is it's just around the corner from a large shopping centre complete with food court with lots of cheap and tasty foods!! I recommend this hotel and would gladly stay there again. One thing - be careful of getting ripped off by a taxi driver when flying into Tunis. The cost from the airport to this hotel should be about 6-10 dinars. We got taken for 60 dinars at 3am in the morning after we cleared customs. The meter was rigged. I thought it was very expensive but I didn't know any better at the time. Stupid me.

  • Stayed December 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Russianfront
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2010

We booked this hotel through airmiles and their headline was "Good, centrally located hotel with comfortable rooms" nothing in this sentence it is actually true!
Rooms are dingy and dirty not to mention the bathroom which can be classified as a bog standard! Breakfast has nothing fresh but the bread and concierge staff were quite difficult to deal with and dodgy at times. My suggestion is if you have to spend one night in Tunis find something else!

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank EnricoLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 5, 2009

Hotel was quite nice and bathrooms clean but the bedrooms were dusty and the bed linen had cigarette burns in it! The worst thing was being frogmatched by the concierge to a bank to withdraw money to pay the bill because the Hotel had a problem with its bank and it would not accept my card. I had cleared the card before going to Tunis to avoid any problems but asked them to call the number on my card so I could find out what the problem was. They confirmed in front of the receptionist there was no problem with either the card or the balance of the account and they had the problem. Didn't notice till after I paid the bill in cash (fortunately I had just enough extra money to cover the money above my daily card withdrawal) but they even charged me for the telephone call confiming my card was OK.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Tripoli2k09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#39 of 53 in Tunis
3.0 of 5 bubbles 66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Golf Royal
Golf Royal
#23 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 57 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#19 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Hotel Metropole Residence
0.9 mi away
Hotel Tiba
Hotel Tiba
#10 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 170 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yadis Ibn Khaldoun? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yadis Ibn Khaldoun

Property: Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
Address: 30 Rue El Koweit | BP70, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #44 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yadis Ibn Khaldoun 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yadis Ibn Khaldoun reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun Tunis, Tunisia, Africa
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun Hotel Tunis

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing