We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Choice For Tunisa”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #19 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Island of Gozo, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Good Choice For Tunisa”
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed at this hotel in our trip return from Djerba .The Hotel is clean but was refurbished years ago leaving maintenance to be desired in all areas of the Hotel. Breakfast needs a lot of improving BUT most of All staff need a lot of training in speaking and serving the clients .Reception desk was the only sector that worked correctly and they were nice and friendly and helpful . Over all the Hotel could improve a lot but considering other Hotels in Tunisia I think this is one of the best one can go too...

Room Tip: Choose a room with a bath
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank charmaine v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

121 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    11
    60
    34
    10
    6
See reviews for
11
18
14
53
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
72 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 2, 2013

I stayed there for one night, choosing it based on the location which was quite near to where I would have a meeting the following day.
The hotel is functional, but whatever made it "Majestic" has been lost in time.
Though rated as four stars, it would not have more than 3 according to Western standards.
Ok for a one night transit stay, not recommendable for holidays unless you are in a tight budget.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Gui_Kaizen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
grand rapids, minnesota
Level Contributor
108 reviews
92 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the majestic. The location is quite central yet off the main drag. Most of the central attractions are within walking distance. The room was quite nice - nicer than I expected and comfortable. The staff when I arrived was great. Haythem, the bellman, was such a great welcome to Tunis and made me feel immediately comfortable. The breakfast was good and the overall experience I had was quite positive. I'd certainly stay there again if looking for a nice place in the central area. It's a classic converted palace so the architecture is interesting and cool.

Room Tip: I enjoyed the upper floor street view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eric N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valby, Denmark
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2013

We had a feeling we were the only guests. Nice and quiet. Beautiful archtecture and decoration. The area had seen better days and is a bit worn down. But it is close to everything (walking distance) and the breakfast and the coffee in the cafe is good. So are the view and the sunset over the park. Clean room and free wifi- very nice ! I would definetely come back if I ever visit Tunis again.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marcor66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Djerba Island, Tunisia
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

One of the things that I love to do as a tour operator, is to see how hotels will treat me when they don't know who I am. I book in under a different tour operator and see how they treat me. This is slightly more costly but worth it for future business to my own client so to speak. The Majestic Hotel passed with flying colors. They treated me well, gave me a splendid room. Service was excellent. Breakfast was extremely varied and healthy. The double doors shielded the room from a busy noisy street. The chamber maid could even speak some English and the receptionist was extra helpful. The building is in a very good condition and giving a taste of what Aristocrats had in years gone by. A great experienceintunisia all together.

Room Tip: I have been to this hotel several times and all the rooms are good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Djerbaman001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Udine
Level Contributor
38 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Good location, in the centre. This hotel has large, clean and quiet rooms: if you are just looking for accommodation, I do recommend it. The restaurant is not up to the rest: repetitive menu and flavourless food.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank viandant
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uk
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. Although the hotel itself hasn't changed much since our last visit, we have found out that the hotel is in a bad area for thieves and muggers.
We stayed 3 nights and was given a large room with a large bathroom, that had a new bathroom in but they left the old tiles on the floor, which spoilt the effect.
The traffic noise outside was atrocious but our room had 2 windows to keep the noise down. The cleaners were another story, they were dragging furniture round other rooms chatting loudly, in other words, get up everyone. The restaurant was no way worth the 30TD but one night we tried it, there was no choice, we didn't like the starters or dessert so we had a steak and were charged 30TD each. We hired a car from the airport which we found to be reasonable.
On the second morning my husband was targeted by pickpockets in the Medina, they only got £70, his phone was in his hand. That evening my bag was snatched from my hand outside the hotel, we gave chase but the robber got on a motorbike at the top of the street, so it was obviously planned. There was no air conditioning working and no fan to borrow.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank safish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.3 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Hotel La Maison-Blanche
0.9 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Property: Hotel Majestic
Address: 36 Ave. de Paris, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tunis
#14 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel, entirely refurbished in 2011, welcomes you in the heart of the capital. Blending charm and elegance, the hotel offers 68 rooms and 9 suites of timeless beauty, an à la carte restaurant, a "Table d’Hôte" restaurant with its nice "Verrière", two bars, meeting rooms, a business corner and a SPA center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Booking.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Tunis
Hotel Majestic Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing