We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bad area”
Review of Hotel Majestic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hotel Majestic
Ranked #17 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed April 11, 2013

This was our second time at this hotel. Although the hotel itself hasn't changed much since our last visit, we have found out that the hotel is in a bad area for thieves and muggers.
We stayed 3 nights and was given a large room with a large bathroom, that had a new bathroom in but they left the old tiles on the floor, which spoilt the effect.
The traffic noise outside was atrocious but our room had 2 windows to keep the noise down. The cleaners were another story, they were dragging furniture round other rooms chatting loudly, in other words, get up everyone. The restaurant was no way worth the 30TD but one night we tried it, there was no choice, we didn't like the starters or dessert so we had a steak and were charged 30TD each. We hired a car from the airport which we found to be reasonable.
On the second morning my husband was targeted by pickpockets in the Medina, they only got £70, his phone was in his hand. That evening my bag was snatched from my hand outside the hotel, we gave chase but the robber got on a motorbike at the top of the street, so it was obviously planned. There was no air conditioning working and no fan to borrow.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank safish2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (129)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

33 - 39 of 129 reviews

Reviewed February 8, 2013

I didn't stay at this hotel. I got stuck in the hotel bar during Wednesday's riot. The staff was so kind and helpful even though I was booked in at a hotel that I couldn't physically get to. They helped me book a flight home and arranged a taxi. Thank you so much!

Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
1  Thank voyageureviajera
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2013

The food was not so good ( not fresh) and the spa it's closed after 19.
but the location it's great,near the bars,restaurants,stors.and it's very easy to find a taxi there.
but on the ather part it's so mutch trafic and a lot of smog.

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank likeaprayer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 22, 2012

The hotel is very well located to visit the centre of Tunis, the Medina or for the tram/TGM to Carthage however the downside of being so wel situated is the traffic noise - unfortunately there is little that can be done without affecting the beautiful architecture of this building. The car horns and drunken conversations disturbed sleep throughout the night.
The hotel is a stunning piece of architecture and the rooms spacious if minimalistic in decor; there are no pictures in the rooms and the blank white walls are a little too much like an asylum.
The restaurant and breakfast are good.
Be wary of apparent helful people directing you to the Medina or anywhere else. Tourists stand out in the crowd and the centre of Tunis attracts con men willing to help you empty your wallet. It seems eveyone that spoke to me had just become a father/uncle/or celebrating something else.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Smoghead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 20, 2012

i am wondering how people liked this hotel, to start with; room furniture is pretty old and all the rooms we booked (total of 3) have insects and all of my friends wake up with bites. It was fun to see the areas all got bitten but it wasnt as fun when i was there. Hotel location is good but then there is a noisy street behind it and in front so dont expect to have a nice sleep. Breakfast is simply limited. The funny part was even when i showed a picture of how i wanted my eggs to be cooked it was done poorly. The waiters are rude but maybe because they are not english speakers but then i speak arabic and they couldnt communicate correctly so the expectation is to speak french and pay tips from day one.
when it comes to hotel reception staff are moody and i didnt feel friendliness at all. I felt sad for many reviews that were recommending the hotel and unfortunate we booked it.

Room Tip: ask for front facing rooms as these tend to be quiet when it is dark
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank 22,337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 5, 2012

This hotel is located in downtown Tunis, a short walt to the Habib Bourguiba Avenue (Champs Elisee) and 15 min walk to the Medina. The rooms are very spacious and the service is gentle. If you are in Tunis on businees I would recommend this hotel, but if you are on tourism, I would advise you to saty at Sid Bou Said, a much more pleasant village. Tunis is crowded and dirty. You can make a one day visit to the Medina and thats ok.

Room Tip: If you are on business travel its a good hotel. But if you are on leisure or tpurism, I would recomm...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CeciliaLapertosa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Newly refurbished, the Majestic Hotel, 4 stars, has regained its golden days of glory. Construction works have managed to preserve the genuineness of its "Art Nouveau" style while at the same time adding a touch of modernity.
Excellent location in the heart of Tunis, within walking distance to all the main attractions: Medina, TGM station, train station, tram station and Avenue Bourguiba, well known by its charming cute cafes and restaurants.
Rooms are huge, all fully equipped with air conditioning, TFT satellite TV, Wi-Fi connection (though I didn´t use it), telephone, mini bar (empty, but it helps keep bottled water refrigerated), safe and room service. Bathroom is also very spacious, with a big bath tub (I prefer a big shower, though).
Very good breakfast buffet including some Tunisian dishes and freshly squeezed fruit juices. Halwa was delicious (sweet confections tahini-based with pistachios).
This said, don’t expect a 4-star hotel in Tunisia to meet the standards as those in the USA or Europe. Anyway, hotel facilities and rooms are very clean. Twin beds are small, but mattress is firm and provides a good sleep. Staff is very friendly and helpful, very fluent in French (don’t know in English, as I can speak French).
As a downside, rooms are a bit noisy, with heavy traffic streets and no soundproof windows, which can be very annoying, especially if you are a light sleeper. Ear-plugs recommended.
Definitely a good choice when in Tunis, though there is still room for improvement. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amore64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.5 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
387 reviews
0.4 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 55 in Tunis
425 reviews
0.3 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
455 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
0.5 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
348 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Metropole Residence
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Majestic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Majestic

Address: 36 Ave. de Paris, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Tunis
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: $55 - $68 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Majestic 4*
Number of rooms: 77
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Majestic hotel, entirely refurbished in 2011, welcomes you in the heart of the capital. Blending charm and elegance, the hotel offers 68 rooms and 9 suites of timeless beauty, an à la carte restaurant, a "Table d’Hôte" restaurant with its nice "Verrière", two bars, meeting rooms, a business corner and a SPA center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Majestic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Majestic Hotel Tunis
Hotel Majestic Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing