We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique! World Class!”
Review of Bardo Museum

Bardo Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$143.29*
and up
Full-Day Tour to Carthage Sidi Bou Said and Bardo Museum from Sousse
More Info
$44.78*
and up
Bardo Museum and Medina Guided Half-Day Tour in Tunis
More Info
$92.65*
and up
Full-Day Tour of Carthage, Sidi Bou Said and Bardo Museum from Tunis
Ranked #1 of 99 things to do in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Spectacular Roman mosaics are the high point of this museum.
Northport, New York
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Unique! World Class!”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

The Bardo Museum has one of the most extensive collections of Roman mosaic work anywhere in the world. The preparation and presenation are absolutely world class. Self-guided audio available. This is an absolute MUST SEE if you are interested in the history of Tunisia, the Roman empire or mosiacs. 2-3 hours to do it justice.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank RG B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

985 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    667
    253
    49
    13
    3
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Boynton Beach, Florida
Level 6 Contributor
351 reviews
127 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“Surprising and beautiful”
Reviewed November 17, 2013

we had one day on Tunis and were taken to this beautiful museum. its amazing the reach of the Romans, and what they are still finding. we strolled around the museum with our guide, we accidently made a wrong turn and found a "Torah" discovered in 1887. they also uncovered some plaques written in hebrew... the mosaics were simply beautiful, so well preserved. it is a must see if you travel to Tunis. the people were so friendly and helpful.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank bestbites26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NY
Level 6 Contributor
362 reviews
164 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 184 helpful votes
“Amazing”
Reviewed November 13, 2013 via mobile

This is one of the most interesting museums I have visited. Although the museum has some special art objects of a different nature, it is quite focused on the subject of mosaics originating from the time the Romans lived in many locations in Tunisia after defeating Carthage.

The museum itself is located at a grand Palace where the Bey used to live, and the building is quite impressive with a mix is styles that encompasses different cultures and time periods but does not look like things were just put together - instead the decoration has a style of it's own. Not all rooms are ready and the new wing hasa lot of empty space. Informative texts in Arabic, French and English are found all around the museum.

But the real trove here are the mosaics. Collected all over the country, they are displayed both on the walls and on the floor - yes, there are that many. While some are dedicated to the mythology, other mosaics provide great insight about the daily lives of rich and poor people. Details such as the one found in the dice players mosaic - where the referee can be seen to participate in the game - literally help turn the stone representation into a kind of time machine.

For those who like literature, the Bardo museum also has a rare mosaic, one that shows Virgil. They say it is the only such representation of the writer.

The Bardo is really worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank R_TheReader
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
“Beautiful and interesting museum”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

If you are interested in roman history, this is a unique opportunity. There are plenty of mosaics that showing different aspects of roman life that time. On top, I've seen a few mosaics I found provided unique insights, differing much from Italian roman history. One example, I found particularly interesting was that Dionysus in northern Africa was attributed with different abilities and associated with different animals than in the original Italian roman history. Also, female centaurs are something worthwhile to pay attention to. Some negative aspects worthwhile to mention, the guides in the museum are not quite well informed. Ours almost ran with us through the museum and plainly ignored or made something up when being asked on more details. The joke of the day was something like this: "The man on the horse was clearly famous and rich, must have been a gladiator of some sort." Anyway, if you choose to hire one, they tell you to pay them afterwards. Do not on top reward this sort of behaviour.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank gece77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level 5 Contributor
80 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“If you can only do one thing in Tunis, go to the Bardo”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

I am not that interested in mosaics and I was totally in awe of the Bardo. There are more mosaics there than I would guess nearly anywhere else in the world and they are of astonishing quality. The mosaics are mostly from the Roman era in the 1st through 5th centuries AD, although some come from other time. There are also some archaeological materials from other periods. The museum is housed in the old palace of the Beys and contains several lovely rooms with original decoration from the 19th century. There is also a recent expansion (adding to several older ones) that I found to be very sensitively done. As a result, some maps from old guidebooks are out of date. There were many signs throughout the museum on history and on the art. They are in French, English and Arabic. A review below complained of lack of signage and these must have been added recently as I found them to be quite complete. There are, as of now, no restaurant or other such facilities and there is not much obvious to me in the immediate district.

The museum shares its grounds with the National Assembly and the buildings connect as part of the old palace. When I was there, there were a light tank and an armored jeep guarding the entrance. This is intimidating but I found the soldiers to be friendly and I walked around the Museum's grounds and those of the National Assembly without any interference.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ceshorey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bardo Museum also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to Bardo Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing