We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I was expecting more”
Review of Africa Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Africa Hotel
Ranked #6 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed February 22, 2013

I stayed here one night for business trip. Hotels location is in the center of city. Very close to places you can eat. But when you see the hotel from outside you expect better hotel but rooms are quite ordinary. You can not even find a toothbrush or toothpaste and the price is realy not cheap.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ugur F N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 11, 2013
Google Translation

Cher client,

Nous vous remercions infiniment d’avoir laissé vos commentaires sur TripAdvisor.
Nous sommes vraiment enchantés que l’emplacement de notre hôtel a répondu à vos attentes.
Nous vous assurons que nous avons bien pris en considération vos remarques et nous tenons par la même à vous informer de l'existance d'une note dans les chambres stipulant la mise à disposition d’une brosse à dents et un dentifrice au besoin du client.

Nous espérons tout de même avoir à nouveau l’occasion de vous recevoir dans notre hôtel.

Meilleures salutations

La direction

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

143 - 149 of 446 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed on short business trip, actually a conference taking place in the same hotel. There was nothing outstanding there but on the other hand everything was Ok and the location is truly great. Oh yes, and wifi did work, was free and fast. Happy to go back.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ivar_t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded February 9, 2013

Dear guest,

We thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us at Africa Tunis Hotel.

We are pleased that you enjoyed the location of the hotel and the internet.

We are looking forward to your next visit to Tunis.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2013

good location, confortable, and I could stay there for a good price. I chose to have no breakfast. There are many caffè near, with nice Tunisian pastry and drinks .Free wifi worked very well, the room was clean and the staff was very kind

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 394Paolo394
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 16, 2013

Dear Guest,

Your wonderful comments on TripAdvisor are very much appreciated by the entire team.
We are happy to read that you enjoyed the hotel and its services. Thank you as well for your feed-back on our staff, this will be a wonderful source of motivation for them.

We are very much looking forward to the pleasure of welcoming you back soon.
Best Regards

Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 9, 2012 via mobile

I've stayed twice, very short business stays. Free wifi worked very well. I thought customer service had improved. Food as you would expect but wine was horrible. Service at breakfast is rubbish, as it was last time I stayed. For example, I asked to sit at a table near the window, this meant that the table I wanted hadn't been set and rather than setting the table the waiter insisted I sit elsewhere! There were no cups in my table, waiter bought cup but not saucer, when I asked for a saucer her brought a spoon! Please get this sorted. Asking for butter also seemed too much.

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Afshan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 19, 2012

Dear Guest,
Thank you for posting a review of our hotel on Tripadvisor.
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location and the internet.
Please accept our sincere apologies regarding the service in the restaurant. We have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the concerned managers.
We always appreciate getting feedback and hope to welcome you again with better service.
Regards,
Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 28, 2012

Good location but in the lobby its very noisy not a single place to sit .The room is not so clean ,carpet dirty ,curtain very old n temparature in the room is very hot abt 29 t9 32 degrees.It seemed to b a 3 star hotel nt 5 n there is no slippers ,no complimentary bottles of water n coffeemaker in the room Old furniture n room is nt comfortable..Breakfast nt tasty everyday the same but the staff were polite.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank nazimaMauritius
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded December 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for having taken the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor.

We are happy to read that you were satisfied with our staff and the location of our Hotel.

We have noted your remarks regarding the comfort and the cleanliness of the room. We have addressed these issues to the concerned team in order to prevent reoccurrence in the future.

Also, we are very concerned by your constructive remark regarding the breakfast. Our Excecutive chef is taking the necessary steps to improve this service.

We hope to have the pleasure to welcoming you back soon in Tunis.

Regards,
Sales Office

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 16, 2012

the place is clean but i found the staff a bit rude especially the staff standing outside which look intimidating! not welcoming at all..i see it more as a 4 star hotel.. its overpriced, but it was paid for ! otherwise i would have moved out for sure

Room Tip: top floors for a nice view of tunis
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ellie_kaur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 28, 2012

Dear Guest,

We thank you very much for your comments following your recent stay with us at Africa Tunis Hotel. We are pleased that you enjoyed the location and the cleanliness of our hotel.
We also would like to apologize for the unpleasant experience you had with the door Staff. We have immediately brought your comments to the attention of the respective managers in order to bring our services to the level you would expect from an hotel like ours.
We are looking forward to your next visit to Africa Tunis Hotel.
Regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 8, 2012

Stayed at Hotel Africa for two nights in July 2012 to visit family. Location couldn't be better. Rooms pretty good - higher level rooms offering a fantastic view.

Front desk and bar staff lovely, but chambermaid couldn't seem to grasp the concept of privacy, opening the door both mornings and bardging in at 8:30-9:00am without so much as a knock. Had to repeatedly speak with the front desk to instruct her to stop entering the room. Hostess at the breakfast buffet needlessly rude.

In general, a decent stay.

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank V8888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
AyaB, Director of Sales at Africa Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 24, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your attention. We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed the location of our hotel, the room and the staff of the reception and the bar.

We also regret your disappointment regarding some points and would like to insure you that your remarks were taken into account in order to improve the quality of the service.

We always appreciate getting feedback and hope to welcome you again with better service.

Best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
473 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
407 reviews
3.7 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
2.5 mi away
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
#8 of 55 in Tunis
482 reviews
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Africa Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Africa Hotel

Address: 50 Av Habib Bourguiba BP 73, Tunis 1001, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: $75 - $107 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Africa Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 189
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Africa Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Africa Tunis
Africa Hotel Tunis, Tunisia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing