We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Run down with some good points”
Review of Le Diplomat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Le Diplomat
Ranked #39 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
218 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 196 helpful votes
“Run down with some good points”
Reviewed March 28, 2011

Very Run down hotel but clean. Also free and fast wifi. But entire hotel needs a lot of renovation and also to improve food. Ok place for a couple of nights if on business.

  • Stayed March 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lovelacuisine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    32
    29
    18
    8
See reviews for
13
17
16
34
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
N/A
2 reviews
Reviewed November 7, 2010

The room is great. Marble floor, nice comfortable bed, and clean.
I will stay in that hotel again with my baby and my husband.
THE BREAKFAST IS INCLUDED IN THE PRICE but it is a very poor, cheap boring breakfast. I paid $633 for 2,5 weeks for 2 people regular room.
Watch out for the young arab (35/ 40 year old) who is viciously hitting on woman.
I will not want him to accompany me to my room.
Watch out if you have a baby and are staying in Tunisia because they will rob your baby. It happend to one woman. DO NOT TRUST ANY ONE WITH YOUR BABY OR KIDS.

oUR ROOM was on the street side at RAMADAN times. Not very noisy at all.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TRAVELRETTE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
1 review
Reviewed January 25, 2010

I thought this hotel would be rather good as it had no terrible ratings well I was wrong the staff were really not nice they were really nasty to our younger members of the family they actually swore at her because she took more then 1 plate one was for the bones from the meal The toilets were leaking onto the floor it was very dusty not good for people with asthma i tried to charge my phone and the whole socket fell out, the lights went on and off the shower also gave out brown water for the first 15 mins I wish to never go back worst place ever needs to be refurbished. Then agin the area was really colourful. not that far from medina.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hilery
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Lisbon, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed September 23, 2009

I stayed in this hotel just for 1 night, included in a package that contained a circuit to the south of Tunisia and a beach stay in Yasmine Hammamet. I consider it a good hotel for 1 night before starting a circuit through Tunisia. In a leisure trip I don't see the reason why you should stay more than 1 night in Tunis. Diogo Costa - Portugal

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Diogo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
Reviewed September 1, 2009

i will stay at this hotel and i will recomend it to my freinds and family the only thing is quite far from the city center the services was very good

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank soulaz99
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 1, 2009

I stayed only one night, and found it a pleasant place to be for the night. The room was big enough and airy, and clean (albeit not overly so). A safe was present in the room, and I did have (free and fast) Internet connection.

Staff during my stay was helpful and friendly.

Breakfast is not very nice though - not too much choice and set up in a room that is run-down and in which smoking seemed to be allowed (a curse all over Tunis, I'm afraid).

In short: good value and recommended, if perhaps not a "top tip".

  • Liked — Good value for money, and a working Internet connection
  • Disliked — The breakfast arrangements
  • Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank BlueRabbitz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kent
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2008

Well, this will be a mixed review because there were some good points and it was certainly not a horrible hotel. The hotel itself is a star, except it really should be 3 as it is in need up updating and plenty of repairs.

Our room was big and you could see that at one point it was probably very nice similar to say an English Hilton International,

The bathroom had had a bidet which had been removed and left behind was an awful brown mark! The toilet brush was literaly covered in faeces!!! There was mould around the sink, a nnails coming out of the wall by the shower and the plug holes were filthy. The floors looked as though they needed a good scrub and the lighting played up. We had to ask for replacement bulb for a strip light but it did not arrive. The lamp flashed on and off with dodgy electrics. My partner was taking his clothes out of one of the draws and pulled out a used sanitary towel!!! We were horrified and decided at that point to leave.

The food was not too bad, but I did end up very poorly for 5 days and I did not eat much while there through fear of being ill.

The bedding was changed every day which was good and the towels, though the towels looked like old ones used from a salon.

The service was quite good in as much as they tried to be helpful but at one point our lighting had gone and we were in total darkness. We phoned down 4 times and waited what was a good half hour before someone came!!!

We left after 6 days and booked into a hotel in Hammamet which was better and only 3 star!

My advise, always listen to the reviews and try to get a balanced view from them all. Tunis is not very nice it is incredibly dirty and uncomfortable for a women as it is a strict Muslim country. It is more relaxed around the coast and I would seriously recommend Sousse and Port El Kantaoui especially for first timers in Tunisia.

I hope this review has been of some help and please feel free to ask any questions.

  • Liked — It was spacious
  • Disliked — The cleanliness
  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank sma68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 mi away
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
Yadis Ibn Khaldoun
#46 of 54 in Tunis
96 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#20 of 54 in Tunis
122 reviews
0.2 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
Hotel Les Ambassadeurs
#31 of 54 in Tunis
45 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Du Parc
Hotel Du Parc
#41 of 54 in Tunis
67 reviews
1.1 mi away
Golf Royal
Golf Royal
#24 of 54 in Tunis
58 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Diplomat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Diplomat

Property: Le Diplomat
Address: 44 AvenueHedi Chaker, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
#22 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Diplomat 4*
Number of rooms: 170
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Le Diplomat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Diplomat Hotel Tunis
Le Diplomat Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing