We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Ranked #27 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
South Staffs
Level Contributor
38 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Average hotel”
Reviewed July 22, 2010

The hotel itself is clean and tidy with numerous staff (too many!) on hand!

There are various restaurants and bars none of which are explained on arrival. The breakfast and lunchtime buffet are very expensive for Tunis (20D for breakfast and 38D for lunch)

The hotel offer a happy hour at churchills bar in the room for Mon-Sat 1700-1900 hrs, only when you get there nothing is advertised and when asking the staff you get a grunt of a response and a leaflet handed over explaining the offers

The worst part about the hotel is that the lovely outside gardened bar areas in the evening are frequented by high class 'working women' which is very off putting

Not in the best part of town, would be better staying in La Marsa/Gammarth

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

265 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    75
    75
    36
    32
See reviews for
29
20
20
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
switzerland
Level Contributor
14 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2008

Staff unfriendly and not welcoming. I don't expect much, but at least a "Welcome" or "Hello" would be nice instead of throwing a form at me to fill out. Also not helpful to assist e.g. where's the next supermarket or a map etc.

Room Service food acceptable, but for that price not great.

Breakfast buffet had a lot of choices, but did not look appealing.

Room was okay and clean.

  • Stayed February 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Wombelero
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PaulDiab, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, January 11, 2011
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.

Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards.

Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.

Please let us know your feedback

Paul Z. Diab
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Doha
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed September 17, 2007

Mercure El Mechtel is a poorly kept nondescript hotel. I stayed in a so-called junior suite. Although the room was specious in size and I got a good rate for it, the quality of the room upkeep and furnishing is of a 2-3 star standard. Internet connection was primitive, unreliable and very very slow. The only café at the hotel was always full with people, mostly locals, and cigarettes smoke. Staff were inattentive and visibly unhappy. I do not recommend this hotel.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — internet
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank qsqmqa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed July 19, 2007

The Mercure El Mechtel is a nice hotel located halfway between the airport and the Medina (Old City). It is just around the corner from the Tunis Zoo.

The rooms are nice with spacious bathrooms, comfortable beds, flat-screen cable television and air conditioning. The restaurant buffet is generous and delicious.

I would have given the hotel a 4 rating had it not been for the fact that internet is only available in the hotel lobby, and very slow internet at that. A couple times during my stay, I found myself in a lobby full of frustrated computer users who could not connect to the internet. After several tries myself, I contacted the hotel staff who were unable to fix the situation. It would be nice if the hotel offered faster internet access in each of the rooms.

  • Stayed June 2007, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Cybjorg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Genk
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2007

We first were very afraid of this hotel, which was part of a group tour in May 2007, because of the reviews here before.
What a relief to find out that the hotel is a beauty in Tunis. We think that because it is now a member of Mercure it has been refurbished or else there has been some change of management.
The reception was a very warm welcome. All the staff were very friendly and the rooms surely earn 4 stars (see pictures).
On arrival we had lunch which was very good. We were a group of 34 and no complaints at all. Actually compared with 4 stars hotels in Hammamet and Sousse this was the best.
Dinner was also quite good and the bar people were very friendly. Also the small but nice swimming pool was a treat.
The only minus point I could say is that there is a disco close to the hotel and you hear some noise of it but it didn't keep me from my sleep. We can really recommend this hotel to you for a stay in Tunis.

  • Liked — Room, food
  • Disliked — Noise disco
  • Stayed May 2007
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank Racing1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2007

I stayed in this hotel for 6 days in April 2007, and I have to say it is one of the worst places to stay.

The hotel is located on the main road, and the level of pollution is terrible in this part of Tunis. The surounding streets especially towards the main centre are full of automobile related shops; there is a smell of petrol everywhere. And the streets themselves are badly paved with rubbish left everywhere.

There are no non-smoking rooms in this hotel with the result that everywhere you go can smell smoke - not very pleasant if you aren't a smoker.

The staff are unfriendly, and don't seem to know anything about service.

This is not a 4 star hotel - more like a 1 star.

Avoid this hotel at all costs.

  • Liked — nothing
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
4 Thank uk_traveller82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
travel agent, San Francisco, CA
Level Contributor
143 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 224 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2006

this is not a fancy hotel. The lobby/bars are nice. staff is very helpful. food in the cafe is buffett style and not real exciting. I didnt try the italian restraunt. My room had cigarette burns on the carpet, but bathroom was large and adequate. spa at the hotel is inexpensive, but only one person working and was interrupted a bit during treatments.

Helpful?
11 Thank christy2064
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 441 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#19 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 121 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip El Mechtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Property: Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#17 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing