We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regressing since 2012” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Ranked #17 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
98 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 108 helpful votes
“Regressing since 2012”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2014

This hotel used to be much better. My last stay was somehow terrible. The rooms were not very clean. I had issues with internet and the staff is surely less friendly compared to couple of years ago. Serious concerns about a hotel managed by an international chain

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Elie A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

277 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    63
    74
    72
    36
    32
See reviews for
28
18
20
169
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lewes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
125 reviews
119 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 9, 2014

I stayed here for one night as a group of 7.

The exterior of the hotel is pretty impressive, and sticks out like a sore thumb compared to the other buildings around the area. Once inside it was a slightly different story though.

My room, bathroom, the reception, restaurant, bar, communal areas and gardens were all a bit of a swing and a miss (not to mention incredibly dated) - and is why I feel a little bad about writing this review as you can tell the staff are trying, they're just misguided.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank hjpkt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
50 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2014

I had stayed in the other Golden Tulip which was good but far from downtown. This branch has the same standards and is central. The price is really competitive and the hotel is nice. Breakfast and WiFi included in the cost of the room. Staff are very pleasant and helpful. I recommend this hotel. Only problem, the open-air swimming pool was closed.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank constantParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, February 27, 2014
Dear Sir,

We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

We are highly delighted to read all the positive comments you mentioned, and please be assured that we truly take your remark regarding the Swimming pool seriously, so we will certainly share your points with the respective team members.

We look forward to seeing you again at your Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia

Warm regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 23, 2013

I was invited to this hotel for a conference. Not to mention the bad service, I arrived back home with a stolen valuable item in my luggage. when I called the management, this took few weeks and emails for the them to conclude that they are not able to elucidate what happened- staff said they did not steel it- and they can not compensate me as this would require... a letter from the police. conclusion: Simply avoid it.

Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank fatima I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, December 30, 2013
Dear Madam,

Thank you very much for your comments ;

We are very sorry for your loss (Chanel 5 as in your email I believe). We done everything we could to retrieve you good , but considering you contacted us only 3 days after check out and traveling back to England, it was not possible to find it or any clue that it was lost in our property.

In the other hand, according to the regulation, a complaint is receivable by our insurance only after a formal complaint have been made to the police station.

Again sorry for any inconvenience and we look forward to seeing you again at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia ,

The Managment
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Tunis hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
78 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 16, 2013

I think I was in one of the not-full-updated rooms, but it was still quite roomy and perfectly clean. As with all of Tunis, the concept of non-smoking areas is a bit fuzzier than you might be used to. The breakfast options were great, if a bit chaotic at times, and the Lebanese food at the Afandi restaurant in the hotel grounds is quite good.

Very nicely done outdoors and lobby areas.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank joncamfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alzey, Germany
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 15, 2013 via mobile

The hotel is OK situated near the centre of Tunis. My room could need a renovation but was still OK. For Tunisian standards the cleanliness was very good but not Western standard. Good breakfast. Restaurant Peppino is not to be recommended.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank 123clem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaysia
Level Contributor
47 reviews
35 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2013

The hotel is big old build in the 80 I think they never done any change or movie any thing ,the staff of the reception not doing their job as when I chk in they gave room where was work in this floor the smile very bad because of the painting I asked her why they put us in this floor she said we don't have any note .old towels ,the breakfast was not bad the staff not doing the job you get your tea or coffee by right the should serves you always they talk or they asked which room you stay I find not right by asked by different person? This hotel should should closed then renew all in the fresh staff plus more trainer the GM of this hotel French but can't understand what he do you never see him out to follow up what happen in the hotel?the price of the hotel very high plus should gave only 2 star not 4star .

Room Tip: Don't book in this hotel there is better hotel in this hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank myvision58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this review, November 23, 2013
Dear Sir,

We thank you for taking the time to post your comments & remarks about your last stay at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations with regards to your remarks on the evoked services, please be assured that we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates.

Thank you also to note that the DG came down to meet you in the reception to discuss your complaints and he suggested you making a discount of 10 % but not a stay free as you had asked and required…

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our property.

Best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.6 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#4 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#5 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#15 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip El Mechtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Property: Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz and Expedia so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing