We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Hotel for a short business trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Ranked #21 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Stayed there at the time of North Africa Com in May. It took us approximately 3 hours to locate the hotel, because of 2 facts:
a) because we are great scholars of French & Arabic Literature
b) because there are 2 Golden Tulips in the same city. Yes you heard me right!!! We went to the wrong one first (which was apparently an opulent 5-star property in the Gammarth area)

Travel Tip: Learn a bit of French or Arabic before landing in this country as these are the only 2 languages known to the common people(read taxi drivers) there. English is as alien to them as UFO's to us.

Now coming to the hotel, it was a decent stay for the price we paid. Rooms & the bathrooms were good & clean. Size of the rooms was just enough. Neither too big nor too small. 100% carpeted floors which felt a bit old fashioned (or maybe in Tunisia its still the norm). The biggest surprise for us was when we were asked to pay on per hour basis for internet usage!! They don't even provide you free internet with your stay. On top of that, the internet is NOT WiFi. There is ONLY a single cable per room & me & my colleague had to take turns using the net. Simply irritating. No lockers in rooms too. If you have valuables then store it in the reception which they think is SAFER than individual room lockers!!!

Apart from that, the hotel staff could do better with a class of English. Expect the receptionists no one understands English. We had a pretty hard time ordering room service for this reason. Also, food options are absolutely a NO-NO if you are an Indian & that too a vegetarian. Its beef everywhere & in every item of the menu. They should really provide some good options for vegetarians (apart from green salad). Coffee is strong & fantastic. We really enjoyed it for the whole length of our stay.

All in all, a good place to stay but they can do better in many ways. Recommendation? Stay there if you don't have any valuables with you, are used to pay for internet usage & can eat beef.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sumit_bose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, Directeur général at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded October 6, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for your valuable comments concerning your stay in our hotel Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis.

We are very happy that you enjoyed our facilities, and sorry about about the confusion between the two hotels Golden Tulip in Tunis.

Concerning the other points, we are the process to renew our oldest bedrooms and to review our Wi-Fi policy.

I am surprised that you did not find a safe in your room as they are all equipped with this asset.
We also have an Italian, a Lebanese and a very comprehensive buffet catering for all taste, including vegetarians.

Thank you again for your comments and we are looking forward to welcome you again in our property.

Warm Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (294)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

92 - 98 of 294 reviews

Reviewed September 14, 2012

I spent 4 weeks at the Golden Tulip El Mechtel for work in July/August 2012, and the experience was not a positive one. The hotel's location makes it impossible to reach restaurants or places of interest (except a park and zoo) on foot, while the on- site Lebanese and Italian restaurants were disappointing to say the least. There was no lack of personnel at breakfast, but service could be un-nervingly slow and unattentive. Maids would also barge into my room at all hours without even knocking. Theft was also a concern as a smart phone mysteriously disappeared from my room, where the window was left wide open in the 40 degree heat. The management did react with concern and eventually "compensated" me with a huge basket of fruit. They also claimed to have suspended a maid, which was upsetting since there was no proof that she actually took it. My hunt for the phone also led me to move the bed, revealing a fair amount of filth underneath it.
I do not know what other alternatives Tunis offers as far as "business" hotels, but I would certainly investigate them before electing to stay atthe Golden Tulip.

Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
3  Thank Todd C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christian Q, General Manager at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2012

Dear Sir,

Thank you very much for writing to us concerning your stay at our hotel Golden Tulip El Mechtel.
We are very sorry your stay did not match your expectations.

We are aware your phone was missing, but we did our very best to find it and unfortunately did not, so as a gesture we thought to send you a large fruit basket.

We can insure you that the disagreement you experienced in your room and in the restaurant does not reflect the standard of our hotel.

If you like to discuss the matter further, please do not hesitate to contact us.

However, we would like very much to welcome you again at Golden Tulip El Mechtel and to make you then have and unforgettable experience.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 10, 2012

as it is very hot this time, we decided this hotel if there is an outdoor pool despite the center, internet and safe deposit box in the room. But one - this hotel is located quite isolated from the center of which there is nothing to consumable round so you have to take a taxi every time, 2 - Internet is a charge, 7 DTN by the hour or have to go to coffee in the hotel to be free but you need to eat so it is not at all free!, 3 - the safe deposit box in the room did not work (they were all removed in the hotel because they are easy to rob that the reason given by the receptionist of the hotel). 4 - arriving at the hotel, the case calls for a guarantee of 100.000 DTN this is normal but a surprise by leaving hotel, we had the cash to repay this amount to say that they have cashed if wanted not just print! that means we paid commission from the bank about 6 euros (12 TND), and we were reimbursed by the local money that we have absolutely no need for this money! The last, leaving the hotel, the guardian call a taxi parked in the garage of the hotel when it is not normal but regardless, we took the taxi to the center's request, he was very upset and very rude, explaining thatvery angry and very rude, explaining that he thought we go to the airport but we are free to go wherever we go! I think!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank charles75015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2012

The Hotel is average in all sides, also it is very crowded
no wireless in rooms so you wll find everybody down at the lobby using the internet
breakfast is poor, and due to the crowd it becomes worst
AC was not working , they said it is still cold to use it , so i had to open the window
the view for the garden is nice one

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Ahmad B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni O, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded July 23, 2012

Dear M. Ahmad,
We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your last stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed the garden view; effectively the Belvedere Park is the only green space in the city center of Tunis.

We regret learning that we unfortunately could not meet your expectations with regards to the Wireless Internet access in rooms as well as the quality of the buffet breakfast.
Kindly be informed that the Air conditioning is already functional starting from the 1st of May …
So, we sincerely apologize for any inconveniences you may have experienced during your last stay with us.

With regards to all your remarks, please be assured that we truly take your comments seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve any carelessness and failures.

We look forward to seeing you again at your Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia

Warm regards,

Sales department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 18, 2012

My second stay, my first was in 2009. Much better now with the brand of Golden Tulip. The rooms are clean, need better attention on the service in the outlets. Food in the new Afandi restaurant great.

  • Stayed: March 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Adenparadise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 16, 2012

The staff was very friendly during our stay and truly felt like they got to know us and learned what we liked, how we like our breakfast.. The rooms are very clean and spacious and the hotel location is right in thecenter of anything! The WIFI is not free in the rooms but is by the pond. If i visit Tunis again I am definitely going to stay at this hotel again. Before setting on my trip, i read a lot of negative review here but the hotel was really great and none of the remarks i've read applied.

Room Tip: ask for a room with a balcony its totally worth it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sdarine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni O, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

Dear Miss Darine,

We sincerely would like to thank you for taking the time to post your feedback from your last stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

We are highly delighted to read all the positive comments you mentioned, especially regarding the great attitude of our associates as well as the quality of our guest rooms and the location of our hotel ; please be assured that we will share your points with the respective team members.

We look forward to having the pleasure of welcoming you soon again at the Your Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 29, 2012

This is a large modern business hotel at just the right 20-minute walking distance from the city centre that encourages you to see the local life around. The area is bordered by the zoo and public gardens to the north-west and north, and an urban dual-carriageway to the south west, but otherwise to the south-east towards the city are small shops and businesses: the area seems to specialise in car repair shops. The staff were very helpful and friendly and on our day of departure when our pre-arranged transport did not arrive took the initiative to make sure we reached the airport in time. We were staying well out of season and at this time of year there were a number of conferences and seminars to keep the rooms utilised. On the downside there is no free wifi (despite the management's assurance). Breakfast was adequate for such a hotel, but the two in-house restaurants were not up to standard. The Italian would be passable, the Lebanese has obviously just started and the food was not Lebanese and appeared to have been reheated from several days before.

But these issues aside, we would be happy to stay there again for the friendliness and general smooth running.

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RetiredTraveller1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Giovanni O, Director of Sales at Golden Tulip El Mechtel, responded to this reviewResponded August 7, 2012

We would like to express our sincere appreciation towards you taking the time to post your positive comments about your last stay at the Golden Tulip el Mechtel Tunis.

We are truly pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially regarding the staff of the reception area as well as the location of our hotel. So we will share your posting among our team members.

With regards to your remarks on the two in-house restaurants, please be assured that we truly take your evaluation seriously and share them with our associates, so we may resolve the gaps at the level of the dishes of Italian and Lebanese specialties. Again thank you for your constructive comments, which will help us in our ongoing efforts to improve our service.

We look forward to seeing you again at your Golden Tulip El Mechtel on your next visit to Tunisia

Warm regards,
Sales Department

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#17 of 55 in Tunis
131 reviews
1.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 55 in Tunis
431 reviews
1 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#4 of 55 in Tunis
463 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
#6 of 55 in Tunis
471 reviews
0.6 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#3 of 55 in Tunis
358 reviews
0.6 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Golden Tulip El Mechtel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Golden Tulip El Mechtel

Address: Avenue Ouled Hafouz | El Omrane, Tunis 1005, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#15 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: $74 - $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Golden Tulip El Mechtel 4*
Number of rooms: 344
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Golden Tulip proudly opens its new doors in previous Hotel El Mechtel.Situated on the perimeter of the Belvedere Park, Hotel El Mechtel, now under the management of the Golden Tulip chain, combines the ideal world of both business and relaxation. Having gone under extreme renovation of it's rooms, reception and conference facilities, with a focus on service upgrade, the Golden Tulip El Mechtel is now prepared to welcome international and local guests, while still offering international service standards. Relax and recline in the luscious greenery that surrounds this pacifying hotel, where service is ready at the ring of a bell.Please let us know your feedbackPaul Z. DiabGeneral Manager ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Golden Tulip El Mechtel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel Tunis
Mercure Hotel El Mechtel
Golden Tulip El Mechtel Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing