We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location and facilities - Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Tiba

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Tiba
Ranked #10 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great location and facilities - Terrible Service”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

There is no doubt that Hotel Tiba is in a central location, has good wifi speed, clean rooms etc. However the fall down is that the staff seem to lack skills in customer service and frankly, are rude. We were also concerned that they may have been "informing" others of our stay as on 3 occasions we were followed into the medina by men posing as hotel staff who knew information about our nationality and length of stay. In addition to this the staff refused to assist us in getting a taxi to the airport unless we paid an additional 10 dinar.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Amanda R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

169 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    74
    24
    7
    7
See reviews for
18
46
29
43
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (13)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

Had 2 separate stays here to bookend a Tunisia trip and loved it. Great location, just off the main blvd of Tunis and 5 minute walk to Medina, 10 minute walk to train station. Service pretty good, but ladies on the day desk can be a bit surly (unlike everyone else in this fantastic country!). Rooms immaculate, nice size (You only sleep there!), bathrooms pristine and water pressure lovely. Would also suggest this for single lady travellers, very safe and ladies on the desk, unlike many other hotels which seem to mainly employ men.

Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Matthew W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
173 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 9, 2013

Good location, rooms clean and well presented, good shower pressure, wifi speed good, breakfast reasonable

We used bus to airport, much cheaper than taxi and no agro (30p each way) Go down to marine station, bus station is just next to it, bus took 12 minutes, super quick. Probably best to use a taxi if its dark

Medina is close by, good shops but bargain hard. Beware of scammers, we had a chap show us a shop and take a pic for/of us, and he wanted a fortune (and was extremely abusive when we offered too low a fee !)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bckirk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madrid
Level Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 10, 2013

I was in Hotel Tiba on a business trip March 2013. I regularily have to go for business to Tunis and have often stayed in the Lac area where many of the businesses have their head quarters, but the options in that area are few (albeit very good, like the Concorde Berges du Lac). This property has been recently renovated in contemporary style and good taste. My room was small, but very nice with modrn deco and big flat screen TV, good WiFi coverage (free) in room etc. The location is central just off the Habib Bourghuiba with numerous restaurants and a stone throw from the main Medina gate. The only negative thing I can think of is the breakfast, which was quite typical of the medium range hotels in Tunisia, i.e. not much to talk about. All in all, a good hotel, really excellent value for money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank TomasMadrid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2013

i spent 3 nights in this 2 stars hotel. the room is small but modern and very clean with a clean bathroom. the night receptionist ' Ali ' is friendly and polite but not the 2 girls during the day
the breakfast was very poor.
the position of the hotel is exelent as it's in the center of tunis and every thing are arround you

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Margaritamou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013

Fantastic. Right in the middle of everything, but still quiet. Nice rooms, decent Wifi, hot water, kind staff... And a parking garage for those of us who foolishly brought bikes to Tunisia. Cannot recommend it enough - leave the budget accom for the middle of your trip, this is the place to start and end it in.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank AricSQueen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Foz do Iguassú, Parana, Brazil
Level Contributor
45 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 15, 2013

This hotel is small hidden within the ancient looking buildings in Tunis's revolution street. From outside, it does not capture the imagination, but its quite exquisite inside, well air-conditioned, very clean rooms and quite relaxing. Above all, very very pocket friendly. The staff are friendly, struggle to communicate in English, but still are able to help. A walking distance to the old Medina where you experience the Tunisian culture. Loved staying and will stay there if I go back to Tunis

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffersn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 435 reviews
0.2 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 375 reviews
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 369 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#15 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.2 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#12 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 157 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Tiba? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Tiba

Property: Hotel Tiba
Address: 4 Ali Bach Hamba, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
#5 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#5 Business Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Tiba 3*
Number of rooms: 47
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Tiba Hotel Tunis 3 star luxury, offering a total of 47 rooms spread over 4 floors, offering free buffet breakfast, air-conditioned rooms with free Wi-Fi, the guest rooms at Tiba hotel Tunis are simply decorated. A shower and a hairdryer are features of the modern en suite bathrooms.Free private parking is available on site at the hotel.Tiba hotel is located in the center of Tunis and 15 minutes from Tunis-Carthage Airport, 50 meters from theatre, 5 minutes from the souks. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Tiba reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Tiba Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing