We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded expectation”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Ranked #3 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 4, 2014

Seeing that this is a three star hotel by Tunisian standards, my friend and I were pleasantly surprised at the level of service, cleanliness, breakfast and overall stay for the price. The room was spacious, newly renovated and clean. The bathroom was huge with a nice size bathtub. A balcony overlooking Avenue Habib Bouguiba. Definitely recommended.

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Charlotte K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (452)
There are newer reviews for Carlton Hotel Tunis
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

79 - 85 of 452 reviews

Reviewed May 1, 2014

I stayed on two occasions (4 nights total) at this hotel during my recent trip to Tunisia. I am very pleased with most aspects.

Pros:
Very friendly and helpful staff (they all can speak English).
Great location
Very clean
Bathrooms and rooms recently renovated
During my second stay i had a room with a big balcony, which was great
New flat screen TV with good reception
Fantastic wifi in room
Airport transfer for reasonable fee
They kept some of my luggage at the hotel while i visited Tozeur

Cons or suggestions
Although 3 star, it will be great to have a safe in the room.
Maybe a few more options at breakfast

This hotel has the potential to be a boutique type/style hotel. It was a far bettr experience compared to the 4 star hotel in Tozeur where I stayed

Will stay here again

Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
1  Thank PierreZA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

There are a few really nice features about this hotel:
excellent location, near bars and restaurants, handy for the Medina and for the central market, Avenue Bourguiba full of taxis.
Small rooms and bathrooms but good showers and plenty of hot water and above all else , really clean….
Very helpful service at reception
less attractive are the hard beds and pillows as well as an indifferent breakfast.
On the whole, we liked the hotel and would come back.

nothing to do with the hotel but important:
A few streets away from the hotel we were accosted by a very nice man, saying he was working for the hotel (not true) and wanted to show us the medina… needless to say it was a pretext to take us to a carpet shop where, upon learning that we were not going to buy a rug, the nice man became much less than nice… Most people in Tunis are genuinely charming and helpful but don't fall for the guy who pretends to work as a waiter, security or anything else in your hotel!

Room Tip: ask for a rooms at the back on a high floor: quieter and nearly a view...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radiolondres
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2014

Me and my brother moved to this hotel from the Tiba down the street which was disappointing. The staff on reception here were friendly and helpful. Breakfast was also better here than in the previous place.

Rooms are pretty simple but clean and have everything you need for your stay. Ignore anyone on the street who asks you where you are staying or just lie to them as you will get hassle from these people who are friendly, but a bit dodgy.

I would stay here again if I went back to Tunis.

Room Tip: Ask for one that doesn't face onto the main street
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank thejournalist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 14, 2014

We, two teenage daughters and a mum and dad, stayed here for two nights in April 2014. The hotel placed us on the back side of the hotel on the fourth (highest) floor in two separate rooms.

We had to stay in two separate rooms due to the reason that there are no suites or rooms that are ready to accommodate more than two people. There wasn't even a door between the two rooms to connect them together, which was very inconvenient. We found this to be a bit shocking since we're used to staying in hotels that offer either connected rooms or, at the very least, suites that would suit our needs. Keep in mind that each "double" room is the same, consisting of two single beds pushed together to make a king-sized bed.

The hotel is under maintenance at the time, so be sure to keep that in mind as you read the following notes. Every time we'd walk into a room that we'd left the window open in, we'd notice that there was this very faint, yes still EXTREMELY irritating, smell of sewage that would wonder in from outside, where the construction (I'm assuming) was being made. The reason why we couldn't close the windows was because there was no air conditioning in the rooms available, although there were switches and dials to turn it on.

The beds were fairly comfortable, complete with fluffy pillows, snuggling comforters, and light sheets. However, the sleep was nowhere near fairly comfortable due to the fact that there was a bar right next to the hotel that would keep blaring loud Arab and pop music mixing with noisy, obnoxious laughter of men up until roughly 4:00 A.M. Just when you finally close your eyes and are about to sleep, noises of wood and metal clinking together along with some more obnoxious noises by men working on the rooftop at the next building keep you awake. Add to all the noises, mosquitoes kept flying in and I'd wake up with batches of mosquito bites all over the next morning. Although this isn't necessarily the hotel's fault, they could've assisted in this by adjusting the problems with their air conditioning so we won't have to keep the windows open all night to stay cool.

The rooms are nowhere near soundproof. You could hear a conversation of people about 20 feet away from your room, speaking in the hallway outside, perfectly. Whenever someone outside opens/closes a door, the noise comes to you, loud and clear. I could even hear the man in the room next to mine snoring, which is pretty outrageous.

The breakfast of this hotel, which is offered from 6:00 - 10:00 A.M is exactly what a lot of other reviews here say it is: OK. There isn't anything special to it (although I did enjoy the bread counter, where you slice your own bread), but you also can't say that it's bad. There were also fresh juices being offered. Orange juice that is squeezed in front of you was at 2 dinars, but the lemon/lime juice was free of charge. But, I wouldn't recommend the salads that they have offered as you can tell the lettuce and other vegetables used are limp, and the salad is most likely rather old.

The facilities at the Carlton Hotel Tunis aren't many. There's a breakfast room where the breakfast is served, which is very neat, classy, and comfortable. However, there aren't any fitness rooms, pools, spas, or lounges. Every other room offers a mini fridge that (surprise, surprise) doesn't even operate and there aren't any microwave ovens in the rooms. The washrooms don't offer many supplies to use (other than towels, toilet paper, and two cups) so you'd have to bring your own bathroom kit.

The hotel is kept clean and the washrooms are comfortable and near spotless. I think that, recently, smoking has been banned from inside the hotel because I haven't seen, or smelt, any smoke. Minus a small fraction of the reception staff, the rest of the staff is friendly and ready to help in any way. The Internet is surprisingly great: it's quick, easy to connect to, and always there. The T.V isn't that bad either, a flat screen with many channels. Remember though, you're in Tunisia and there aren't many English channels offered. However, if you speak French or Arabic, you're settled for entertainment during your stay.

The location of this hotel is really why so many people come back to it. It's located smack in the middle of Central Tunis, and is only a 2 minute walk away from the Souk, where you'll find the most amazing traditional Tunisian wear and utensils, along with souvenirs and all kinds of stuff, for only a few Tunisian Dinars. It's also located on a really nice street where many salon de thés (tea houses), shisha cafés, cafés, and restaurants are situated along with the most "luxurious" retail stores of the entire country.

The only reason we had stayed at this hotel is because we were on a tight budget having stayed five days before this at another hotel in Tabarka and we couldn't afford anything better. If I were to go back to Tunis any time again, I wouldn't check in at the Carlton unless, again, I was on a tight budget.

All in all, this hotel is exactly what you pay for. The price is pretty cheap compared to the rest of the hotels and that's why what is offered here will certainly be less than what is offered at more expensive hotels. My suggestion to you is that if you wanted a hotel that would offer more than the Carlton, you'll have to widen your budget more.

Room Tip: Bring your own bathroom kit. Rooms on the ends of hallways receive less noise from outside of the r...
  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank B K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 13, 2014

The best thing is its location, the street is full of shops and cafes..
the room is average is size, no carpet, no safe, the bathroom is small.. they provide only soap..
The breakfast is poor in quality, and u ve to pay for the water and fersh juice!!!..
So.. it is good for short stay especially if u spend most of ur time outside the hotel...

  • Stayed: April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wsom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 11, 2014

We (over-50 mother & teenage son) stayed for a six night holiday in a smallish first floor side room so it was relatively quiet - some door slamming and quite a racket from early morning as near breakfast room - though nobody should expect great peace & calm in central Tunis! Very reliable strong WiFi signal. Great central location for sightseeing, Medina, public transport, shopping, cafes etc. Staff very pleasant and room spotlessly clean - definitely the cleanest place I have stayed during many trips to Tunisia. A good choice at breakfast with lovely fresh bread & pastries plus cereals, salads, eggs, yoghurts etc though good coffee & fresh orange juice are charged separately (very fair prices though). And overall it felt very safe & secure. Would definitely recommend.

Stayed: April 2014, traveled with family
Thank wedrowiec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.8 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
384 reviews
1.1 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.1 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 55 in Tunis
412 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
341 reviews
3.6 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
0.3 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#18 of 55 in Tunis
127 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Carlton Hotel Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Carlton Hotel Tunis

Address: 31 Av Habib Bourguiba, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#4 Business Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: $64 - $101 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Carlton Hotel Tunis 3*
Number of rooms: 80
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Carlton Hotel Tunis: In the center of the Tunis city center! Perfectly located on the main street of Tunis city center, Avenue Habib Bourguiba, the Carlton Hotel offers its guests a totally renovated setting close to all destinations. On foot, by car or in public transportation, the majority of business or leisure destinations are just 5 to 20 minutes away from the Carlton including The Tunis-Carthage International Airport, the médina of Tunis and the Harbor of Tunis-La Goulette. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your Carlton Hotel Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunis Carlton Hotel
Carlton Hotel Tunis Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing