We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointment in Tunis”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
Ranked #8 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Reviewed June 9, 2013

Despite having only recently gained the Sheraton name in Tunis, I was extremely disappointed by my stay at this hotel, and would never return. Apart from being charged what turned out to be an exorbitant rate, this hotel has very little going for it. Upon checking in I was given the keys to a room that turned out to already be occupied, making me doubt the safety of my possessions left in the room and question how well it is managed. A 5 day stay was more than enough to confirm what I felt when I first walked in. This hotel is poorly run, has bad service, and only benefits from the semi-decent view afforded by its hilltop location.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MaxOfArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

We were of course concerned to learn of the disappointing elements which fell below the high standards we strive to achieve.

Please accept our sincere apologies for the shortfalls you experienced. This is certainly not indicative of our company standards. We have notified the relevant departments of the issue highlighted, and in our continuous effort to exceed guest expectations they will be taking corrective action.

Thank you again for your understanding.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (482)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

168 - 174 of 482 reviews

Reviewed June 8, 2013

This is a huge hotel perched on the top of a hill in a corner of Tunis. Among options in Tunis, it is definitely in the highest end category, but the location is a problem, as it is one of those hotels where you have to get into a cab to go anywhere, even for a cup of coffee. The rooms are spacious and there's a nice lobby area for drinks/lounging. The best part about the place is a fantastic fitness center and pools, indoor and outdoor. They seem to have reasonably priced spa options as well, but was unable to book. The worst thing about this place are the restaurants, which are exorbitantly overpriced, but with absolutely terrible food. A "salmon club sandwich" had barely a sliver of salmon in it and nothing else. The Italian restaurant, by far the most expensive place i've been to in Tunisia, had inedible greasy, cold, boiled vegetables along side "grilled" cold shrimp. The pasta dish was clearly reheated noodles with precooked sauce. And because you're sort of stuck at the hotel, you're hostage to the ridiculous prices for terrible food. Room service coffee was cold and undrinkable, but nearly $10 after all the fees and taxes and charges. Also, the AC machine was acting up in middle of night making loud noises, so engineer had to come fix it, taking over an hour. Perhaps this can happen anywhere, but i wonder if better maintenance might have avoided such problems. I would prefer one of the tulip or novotel hotels next time.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank slwjosh123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to express your concerns following your recent stay at The Sheraton Tunis Hotel . Your constructive feedback; it will certainly help us find ways to enhance our facilities and services.

We truly look forward to welcoming you back upon your next visit to Tunis, hopefully in the not too distant future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013

You will definitely do better there than just about any other hotel in Tunis, but it has its imperfections. The rooms are nice, the lobby and restaurants are nice, the breakfast is good, the available services are good. The drawbacks? The front desk staff is hit or miss in terms of helpfulness and competence. Its more of a business hotel, so not that interesting for a vacation. The location is on the back of the medina, so not that good, unless you are on a business trip involving certain ministries. For that it is perfect. The only better hotel I've stayed in in Tunis is the Golden Tulip.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank A L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 10, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to post your review on TripAdvisor. I do apologize for the shortfall experienced with the front desk . We value all guest comments, and constructive feedback helps us to continually improve upon our services and facilities.

I do hope you will allow us the opportunity to restore your confidence in our quality of service in the near future.
Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 3, 2013

very intersting trip in summer,tha hotel is very nice and calm,the rooms is comfort and clean,the Locals were very friendly,folk dance,belly dance,cheep clothes,fresh fruites and juices,we visited historical places,museuim,disko

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank bluenile_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded June 20, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you so much for staying with us at the Sheraton Tunis Hotel and for posting such an amazing review.
I will certainly share your kind words with the team. We cannot wait to welcome you back upon your next visit to Tunis

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I have stayed many times at this hotel. It is ok for business but not 5 stars. The room is in need to be refurbished and the bathroom was not very nice. The room is not very well isolated and I woke many times during the night because of noise from corridor or outside. The furniture in the lobby is very old. Internet is not included and with 12€ for 24 hours quite expensive. Breakfast is ok but also a bit expensive.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Veren S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded May 3, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review further your last stay at The Sheraton Tunis. We were of course concerned to learn of the disappointing elements which fell below the high standards we strive to achieve.

We are sorry for the shortfalls you experienced. We have notified the relevant departments of the issue you've highlighted, and in our continuous effort to exceed guest expectations we are happy to announce a full hotel refurbishment in the near future.

Thank you again for your understanding.


Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2013

When entering the hotel you are welcomed by a very friendly consierge. At reception desk I encounter an employee who basically is standing doing absolutely nothing and asking me to wait for his colleague. Hmmm .. I did not bother to ask if he was actually that busy to check me in. Anyways, the room is really nice and very spacious.

In the evening I decided to venture an head towards their Bar .. " Harry's Pub " ... catastrophic experience to say the least. When I was seated I asked about the hotel having free WIFI in the lobby area ( where the pub is located ). The waiter basically did not speak English to understand the word " WIFI " .. you can order your drink, but you will wait .. and wait ... wait a little longer ... read a book .. finish the book .. OH .. here is your drink :))) .. music in the pub was great .. I did wonder when leaving if they have a sign outside the pub that states " Male only " ;)))

Room service food was ok .. quality was ok ..

Overall stay was ok .. but something is just missing in this hotel ... some " character "

But overall .. something is missing in this hotel.

Room Tip: Choose a room next to the elevators .. otherwise be prepared for an exersize
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Amin2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 29, 2013

Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to share your valuable feedback following your recent stay at the Sheraton Tunis Hotel.

We appreciate your constructive comment; it will certainly help us find ways to improve our facilities and services. On a more positive note, we are pleased to hear that you‘ve found our rooms nice and spacious and also liked our food.
We truly look forward to welcoming you back in the nearest future.

Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 24, 2013

This was a nice and pretty hotel. Clean and for what I could see well maintained. I was with a Cosmos tour so the hotel was picked for me. The food in the buffet was good for both breakfast and dinner. The breakfast service was very poor. No service and looking for coffee was pain! They have a free use of the pools, BUT you must rent a pool cap for 15D, and can't use your own!? It was about 5D ($3.75) for taxi to downtown. Taxi to/from airport should be about 17D ($12.75).

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled solo
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lamike2500
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dejla d, Public Relations Manager at Sheraton Tunis Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded April 26, 2013

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your amazing review following your recent stay here at Sheraton Tunis Hotel.
I am so delighted to hear that you enjoyed so many aspects of the hotel except the service at breakfast, please rest assured that we will take all your comments seriously as they are very valuable to us to enhance our services .
We are truly looking forward to the opportunity of welcoming you back upon your next visit to Tunis.

Sincerely,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
4.2 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
2.5 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
471 reviews
1.9 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
371 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
2.5 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#6 of 55 in Tunis
446 reviews
1.9 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 55 in Tunis
407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sheraton Tunis Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sheraton Tunis Hotel

Address: Avenue de la Ligue Arabe | Cedex Box 345, Tunis 1089, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Tunis
#6 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range: $141 - $240 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sheraton Tunis Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 285
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located in the central business and diplomatic quarter of Tunis, the Sheraton Tunis Hotel boasts an all-encompassing view of the Tunisian capital. Each one of the 285 rooms has a balcony with a view over the city or the gardens. In the evening the Club Lounge offers cocktail and hors-d’oeuvres service in the private club lounge located on the 5th floor. The hotel offers a choice of 3 restaurants and 2 bars. The elegant ‘Walima’ restaurant serves both unique and typical Tunisian specialties according to the finest local tradition and boasts an outstanding local wine list, the ‘Azzurro’ restaurant serves an authentic Italian cuisine accompanied by the enchanting music of a live band, and the all-day dining ‘L’Oliveraie’ features a delicious buffet of Mediterranean and International dishes as well as ‘A la Carte’ menu. The wellness centre of the hotel ‘The Garden Spa’ offers a wide selection of treatments. All of these are complemented by a modernized and well-equipped fitness room, gymnasium, sauna, hammam, indoor pool with aqua gym, Jacuzzi as well as an outdoor swimming pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Sheraton Tunis Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sheraton Tunis Hotel And Towers
Tunis Sheraton
Sheraton Tunis Hotel Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing