We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great breakfast ”
Review of El Ali

El Ali
Ranked #2 of 302 Restaurants in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Tunisian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: El Ali restaurant & Café is charming, an oasis of peace away from the chaos of the medina streets.when you step into it, you feel as through you've walked straight into someone's house; a home of the past.You have to come and see to discover how tasty are the recipes, how beauty is the place and how intense is your evasion when stretch out into it's different levels reserved to a restaurant, cultural café and an airy and greenery terrasse.
Reviewed February 21, 2019 via mobile

Highly recommend this place for breakfast. Very frenchy I must say. Very touristic since it’s around la medina.

Date of visit: October 2018
Thank janisao2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL A, Propriétaire at El Ali, responded to this reviewResponded February 22, 2019

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (446)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 446 reviews

Reviewed February 16, 2019 via mobile

It’s very hard in Tunis to find such a restaurant I mean service wise especially after the revolution (2011).
In this restaurant every single customer will feel that he is the most important person sitting there at that time.
I can’t talk about the food presentation... quantity... quality and taste.
Certificates of international awards all-around....
I strongly advise this restaurant... whenever I will visit Tunisia I will go there again and again.

Date of visit: February 2019
Thank hkamkoum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elali-tunis, Propriétaire at El Ali, responded to this reviewResponded February 17, 2019

thanks. You are welcome. we will wait you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 10, 2019

My local friend brought me to El Ali in the Medina for the au pignolles. I returned for more tea and to enjoy the views over the Medina. It is a lovely place to hang and get away from the business of the Medina below.

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank TravelinKiki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
EL A, Propriétaire at El Ali, responded to this reviewResponded February 11, 2019

Thank youuu

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 8, 2019

Overall an average place. Very few good options in Tunis, so this place shines in comparison. Food was average. Design was nice. Service is unfriendly, unorganized and slow. Owner on the arrogant side, and rushes you through. Restaurant very small and tight.
Tourists note: this place closes at 4:30, and they don't serve alcohol. Not worth a special trip. If you're walking around the medina at lunch time and need a peaceful break from all the annoying hawkers, give this place a try. Otherwise don't bother.

Date of visit: February 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank earth-is-home-com
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2019

BEST RESTAURANT IN MEDINA.
TOP QUALITY FOOD AND SERVICE.
Rooftop restaurant and also shop for souvernirs. They produce also their own products in their workshop. Ask for a tour!

Date of visit: December 2018
Thank jomokko
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
elali-tunis, Propriétaire at El Ali, responded to this reviewResponded January 10, 2019

Thank you for visiting and appreciating

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed El Ali also viewed

Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
Tunis, Tunis Governorate
 

Been to El Ali? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing