We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ibis Tunis” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Ibis Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Ibis Tunis
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Ibis Tunis”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2013

Ibis is the hotel for me when I am in England (Reading) and in France (Marseilles-Mediterrannee). And now that I have retired in south Tunisia, I stay in Ibis Tunis whenever I am in Tunis, the capital. Last time I stayed there was from Sunday 19 and Wednesday 22 May 2013. When I walked in, I headed to reception and I placed my Internet booking details on the desk. The lady pushed the paper aside and asked me for my passport. She did not ask me for my Accord client membership card, which she was supposed to do, so that a client may claim points. I did not have my passport so I gave her my ID carfd and asked to be put in a room where WIFI signal reception is strong because I work on the Internet in the afternoon ( I am a journalist by profession).
She gave me room 511 at the 6th floor where I have found out that Wifi reception was poor. In the middle of a long page, my work would be interrupted by a disappearing signal, and I have to reboot to get it back again: annoying waste of time.

- Second disappointment: one evening I was doing some work, I phoned reception and asked for a lasagne to be sent to me upstairs; a lady said; we are busy, we have no room service, you have to come down and take it up yourself, which I did. I do not know whether they do this to tourists, which would be counteproductive.

- The bar staff, par contre, are polite and helpful. One evening I fancied a drink and asked for a bottle of Vieux Magon which is the only wine in Tunisia that I can ingurgitate; all the rest are horrible to my taste, "plonk" as they say in England! Me who knows what a good wine is, having lived in England all my working life and travelled widely in France and Italy. I was disappointed because the bar staff said they did not haveany Vieux Magon rouge. Never mind, but I was disappointed albeit I was ready to pay the 28 dinars for it.

- Drink Prices are what you may expect in Europe: coffee, tea: 4 dinars (2 euros), glass of wine: 4 dinars, mineral water bottle: 4 dinars. whisky: 8 dinars a glass, champagne: 300 dinars a bottle, glass of beer; 4 dinars

- Food you take upstairs is tasteless: I tried a lasagne; it was frozen stuff, heated and sold to clients. I have not tried the restaurant, which I will do next time, but I don't expect a great meal because I know from from experience that Ibis being conceived form businessmen in a hurry, does not offer great meals.

- Another remark: Being a journalist I must listen to then TV news bulletin; one afternoon, I switched the TV to listen to the 1900 bulletin but it did not work. I called reception, they promised help which came only very late.

- I am going to stay at Ibis Tunis in mid-june 2013 and will insist on a room where Wifi is good, this time round.

Sarzanese

Room Tip: Room 511 in the 6th floor is all right but Wifi reception signal is poor quality
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarzanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear guest,

First of all, we would like to thank you for taking time to write down your notes which is very important to us so we can have your feedback and follow up with your comments.

Please be advised, that after checking with different departments concerned about your notes, we found out some points that we would like to share with you :

-Regarding your check in day, our receptionist didn’t ask you for your LeClub AccorHotels card as you have been staying with us on February and all your card details are registered on your profile, maybe she could just double check it with you to reconfirm it but please be aware that all points regarding your stay have been credited on your account.

-Our IT manager has been informed about your complain regarding the Wi-Fi access, and we regret that last time you had some troubles with the connection, but we are pleased to announce that since your last visit we worked on this matter and the issue has been solved as we updated our system and we are placing some more Wi-Fi access points in the floors that will improve the connection.

-We are also pleased to know that during your stay you tried our “Encas” menu, but this didn’t satisfy your expectations and we regret that; As mentioned by yourself this is not exactly a room service but we try as much as we can to be helpful and to be at the convenience of our guests. Our Chef has been informed about your comments and we can ensure you that during your next stay, if you visit our “Wok&Co” restaurant you will get surprised about what our menu can offer you to eat after a long day of work.

-Television matter has been reported to us, and please note that that day it was a general matter in most of the rooms and it has been solved since it.

We are very happy and excited to welcome you back during your next stay in Tunis, so all our staff will be at your disposal so you can enjoy your stay and benefit from all our facilities.

Kind Regards;
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

364 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    62
    217
    67
    10
    8
See reviews for
14
58
32
226
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Pescia, Italy
Level Contributor
56 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 8, 2013

Since its opening, March/April 2012, when I pass in Tunis I like to stop in this hotel. As mentioned before, the structure is very new, architectonically in the typical functionally design and carefully furnished. Any place is clean and the personnel is very friendly and helpful. They have their own parking in the basement (in common with the nearby Novotel) and have a restaurant with a small choice of international as well as Tunisian specialities. WiFi is everywhere available and in normal condition is working good. The hotel is on one of the main communication roads connecting the Place 14 Janvier (the Square with the Clock where Av. Burguiba starts from) to the airport, so very convenient for being in the Capital without the disturbings of the City (traffic, etc...) and good as starting point to visit the companies in the industrial areas and in the suburbs of Tunis. Of course, is not convenient for people moving on feet: in any case, you need a taxi (much better than own car) to visit the Bardo, The Medina etc... Park of Belvedere is not extremely far away.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
Thank Runningnic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yangon (Rangoon), Myanmar
Level Contributor
61 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 16, 2013

I stayed in Ibis hotel for two nights for a business trip.
I went with very low expectation and was pleasantly surprised with the quality against the price.
The room was newly renovated and extremely clean. The internet connection was free.
I have tried lunch and it was not bad at all.
The only downside of the hotel is the restaurant does not have non-smoking area so it was full of smoke from the morning. The breakfast can be also improved.
I highly recommend this hotel to business people going to Tunis.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mosquito2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Google Translation
Cher Client,

Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour chez nous. C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe.

Nous avons pris note de vos remarques afin d'améliorer la qualité des prestations évoquées.

Dans l’attente de vous recevoir prochainement, veuillez croire en nos salutations les meilleurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2013

The hotel staff were friendly and spoke English, which in Tunisia is a bonus.
The rooms were clean but you could hear the neighbours TV.
Breakfast was very nice, but the same every day.
It was useful being able to exchange money in the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Helpful?
1 Thank Jim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,

Nous vous remercions d’avoir pris le temps de nous écrire suite à votre séjour à ibis Tunis.
Nous sommes heureux que vous ayez apprécié votre séjour. Nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute l’équipe.

Votre feedback est très important afin d’améliorer la qualité des services évoqués.

Nous vous remercions encore une fois et espérons vous accueillir prochainement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 22, 2013

excellent hotel for business, nice rooms,
restaurant menu somewhat eccentric based on a Wok themed menu !
booze available
reception superb, speak lots of languages
air con in rooms not working so vvvv stuffy
at least one english tv channel found

Room Tip: ask for highest floor possible away from traffic noise, as u have to have window open to survive the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abelljms
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, March 25, 2013
Dear Guest,

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Tunis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nyon, Switzerland
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2013

I spent 5 nights at the Ibis Tunis on business. The location suited me very well as it is a comfortable walk to offices, Ave Habib Bourguiba, shopping areas and the Medina. Overall I found that the staff were very friendly and helpful and that service in general was efficient and courteous. Most of the staff appeared to be able to speak English as well as French and Arabic.

Whilst we don't expect the height of luxury at the Ibis, my room was functional, spotlessly clean and felt quite homely. My main complaint about the room was that it was overheated and whatever I did with the air conditioner (except turn it off) it kept producing hot air. I also found that the chair in the room was quite uncomfortable during a lengthy session working on my laptop.

The WiFi in the room was free and worked well on the laptop except for one evening when it was woefully slow. At other times it was good enough for skype calls. It only worked intermittently on my I-phone, however. In the bar, restaurant and lobby it worked conisistently well on both devices, but this is not an area where one could effectively work.

The food was of a good standard at breakfast, lunch and dinner, although you couldn't call it gourmet cuisine. There was an itnteresting mix of local and international dishes on offer. Some local restaurants provide better fare at lower prices however.

I would not hesitate to stay here again

Room Tip: The sixth floor is the highest non-smoking floor and is directly beneath the smoking floors. When I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Huntdag
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Google Translation
Cher client,
Nous vous remercions pour vos commentaires suite à votre séjour à ibis Tunis.

C’est avec grand plaisir que nous recevons vos compliments. Aussi, nous ne manquerons pas de partager vos appréciations avec toute notre équipe. Votre satisfaction est la plus belle récompense pour notre personnel qui travaille jour après jour pour vous offrir un service irréprochable.

Dans l’attente de vous accueillir de nouveau, nous vous prions de croire en l’expression de nos sentiments les meilleurs.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Itala, Italy
Level Contributor
84 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 28, 2013

Ibis is located in a quieter area of Tunis, but at a stroll distance to the Medina and Bourghiba St.
It is one of the few building in a good shape, and hopefully will preserve this in the future.
Rooms are the Ibis classic. Quite, cozy and well equipped.
Shower was a great surprise, efficient and large. Same for the Wifi signal, perfect and reliable.
Due our incoming flight time, we asked to be checked in at 11 am, and the crew at the reception was happy to help, and let us in after a short wait of 15 minutes.
I can't comment the breakfast.
Just beware of the taxi driver waiting outside the hotel, eager to rip off with triple prices.
All in all, a great base for our Tunisian weekend.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ilPetrarca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, February 28, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Tunis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.
I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.
Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mohamed TRABELSI
General Director
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.5 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#4 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#5 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Majestic
Hotel Majestic
#15 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Tiba
Hotel Tiba
#11 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 166 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Tunis

Property: Ibis Tunis
Address: Rue de Syrie, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#3 Business Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Tunis 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Agoda and Travelocity so you can book your Ibis Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tunis Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing