We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice cheap Hotel”
Review of Ibis Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Ibis Tunis
Ranked #2 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Bergame, Italie
Level Contributor
21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice cheap Hotel”
Reviewed December 12, 2012

Hotel is clean and cheap. Large rooms. The hall is a little bit caotic and small, but girls at the reception are very nice and friendly. I did not take lunch or dinner but quality of food seemed fine.
It's an ideal location for a short stay in Tunis.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PaoloeClaudia_66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TRABELSI M, Directeur général at Ibis Tunis, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Dear Mr.

We very much appreciate your comments regarding your stay at the ibis Tunis. It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback.

I will share your comments with our team. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all of our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as the previous one.

Sincerely,

Mohamed TRABELSI
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    65
    225
    69
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
60
33
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Washington
Level Contributor
102 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
Reviewed December 2, 2012

On a recent business trip to Tunis, I found this hotel to be perfect. It was safe and clean and the staff was very friendly. I wasn't expecting too much from the breakfast buffet but I was pleasantly surprised.

It was a bit out of the centre for touring, so if you are going to Tunis for a vacation, I would advise staying somewhere closer to the Medina.

Room Tip: If you choose a room on the 4th floor, there is a direct indoor hallway that leads to the Novotel ne...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laura_Travels196
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Level Contributor
121 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 122 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

The ultimate in cookie cutter hotels...the Ibis in Tunis is as ibis as you can get. Small, well-designed rooms that are meant to be slept in and little else. Clean, reasonable, just a tad stylish. The Tunis Ibis is all that and nothing more. The lobby is a reception desk and two chairs. There is a breakfast room, but breakfast is pricy compared to what you might get if you were to talk outside a few steps.
Service is excellent all around. The staff is very friendly and helpful.
The area immediately around the hotel is a bit iffy, however, and probably not all that safe at night. It is a short walk to the city center and there are cafes and even a Carrefour within a few blocks as well. You can take taxis if you do not wish to walk to the center but beware of gouging. Taxi to the airport should be 4 or 5 Dinars, but they try to charge you 25 to 35....for example.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rupertpb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi
Level Contributor
251 reviews
41 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed October 28, 2012

If you are in Tunis on business I highly recommend this hotel. It's simple, clean and does the job. Skip breakfast as you can get much better value for your money elsewhere. Same goes for the food at the hotel. I had a steak which was not very good. Sleep here and eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maninasuitcase_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tripoli
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Quality and type of room CLEAN but VERY basic we chose this hotel to accommodate our very short 2-nights trip and due to its nearness to the clinic I’m seeking. Good shower, open closet, small room, no fridge, terrible pillows and a slight unpleasant smell! I think it was the sewage system (used half of my perfume bottle to mask it)!!!!!
Breakfast was basic buffet style, 16 TND per person. We had dinner on our arrival which was horrible and overpriced 65 TND…. Café’s and places nearby sell lovely scrumptious food for quarter of the price…. Sleep at Ibis but definitely eat elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SarahEE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 4, 2012

Tunis and its northern suburbs has some lovely small luxury hotels and some atmospheric ultra cheapies but if you are looking for a central good midrange option with reliable wifi, the Ibis is perfect. Unlike most hotels in the city, it's also bustling and a good option for women travelling alone who want to sit and eat dinner and have a glass of wine without feeling like a pariah. Reception staff seem to genuinely want to do their jobs, and the restaurant's waiters are great. Only dud was the guy at the bar in the morning who seemed shocked at my request for a cappuccino (touted on their branded Lavazza menu) and kept half heartedly washing the dishes and fussing about. When I asked after several minutes how long the coffee might be, he shrugged and said 'five or ten minutes?'. I cancelled and went down the road to Africafe where the staff are smiling, the coffee is pretty ok and comes fast, it's busy and mixed (cafes are usually men-only affairs) and a huge slab of cake and a coffee comes in at 2.6TD.

Room Tip: Rooms with odd numbers have a neighbourhood view (some interesting mid-century architecture if run d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fitzroygirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cheshire
Level Contributor
67 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
Reviewed October 3, 2012

Quality and type of room was exactly as expected. It was clean and comfortable, with a modern Ikea-type style. Good shower in the bathroom, fluffy towels etc. An awful, thin pillow was the only thing that spoilt the room for me. The food was awfully expensive by Tunisian standards. Breakfast was buffet style, bread, croissants, pains au chocolat, coffee, orange juice, cheese etc at a cost of TDN 16.00 per person. Next morning we walked across the road and just around the corner to a perfectly pleasant, clean cafe with a friendly owner/waiter where we had bread, croissants, pain au chocolat and coffee with a total bill for 2 people of TDN 5.00
Stay at the Ibis but eat elsewhere!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank alaquiao
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tunis
0.0 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 54 in Tunis
324 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.9 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#14 of 54 in Tunis
161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
444 reviews
0.8 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#6 of 54 in Tunis
393 reviews
9.5 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Tunis

Property: Ibis Tunis
Address: Rue de Syrie, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#3 Business Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Tunis 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Priceline, ACCOR, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Booking.com, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Ibis Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tunis Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing