We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good Ibis standered”
Review of Ibis Tunis

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Ibis Tunis
Ranked #2 of 55 Hotels in Tunis
Certificate of Excellence
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“good Ibis standered”
Reviewed August 8, 2012

nice and clean,new and quite ,just to sleep and work in center of city near to every thing ,very good rate value,food is ok but no room service so you have to order and go to the cafe to get it ,rooms as of Ibis standard so you can be sure you get good value for your money

Room Tip: all rooms with no view so just sleep in this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdulwahab B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

378 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    66
    225
    69
    10
    8
See reviews for
15
61
33
234
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai
Level 6 Contributor
138 reviews
98 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 118 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2012

The Ibis Hotel in Tunis is pretty much the same as the Ibis anywhere else - a reliable budget hotel, with a good bed and modern bathroom. We cut short our stay at the Carlton and spent four nights at the Ibis. It was such a relief to be in a comfortable room where everything worked. The internet was perfect, unlike the "high-speed WiFi" promised at the Carlton, the television had plenty of English channels, the toilet flushed properly and there were no problems with the lifts. We also found the staff here much friendlier, and we had no problem getting plates, cutlery, ice or hot water from them when we wanted to eat or drink in our room.

The only thing that didn't work was the safety box. We couldn't get it open, and neither could the maintenance men, though they tried several keys. We declined their offer to put in a new box, asking them to do it after we'd checked out, as we didn't really need to use it and didn't want workmen in the room after their first two attempts to open it.

We didn't bother with the breakfast, but we did have the dinner buffet one time - four times the cost of eating elsewhere, but it was very good. My only criticism is that some items were not replaced when finished, so, for example, I missed out on some nice-looking cheese that disappeared before I got around to trying it.

The location is less central than the Carlton, but it is right near Nelson Mandela Metro station, and there is a big market and Carrefour supermarket a couple of blocks away. We also found an excellent local restaurant down the road near the next Metro station (Republique).

We got the feeling that this hotel genuinely wanted to look after their customers and were making an effort to get everything right. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
339 reviews
162 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 239 helpful votes
Reviewed June 5, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. This hotel is categorized as business hotel, however it is still a good hotel for any travel type.

The hotel is quite new. Everything in the room is basic but all work well. The room is bigger than average Ibis hotel elsewhere. The breakfast is not so great but food for dinner is quite good. The restaurant doesn't have much choice but people should understand that it is a business hotel restaurant so don't expect a fancy place. The hotel staff are very helpful and efficient.

The location of the hotel is also good. Not too far from the airport and there is a train station nearby (Nelson Mandela).

Considering the price and the value of it, I would recommend this hotel in a heart beat.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank LeoLHR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 3 Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 11, 2012

The hotel is only 10 mins away from the airport and 2 mins walk from metro station ( Nelson Mandela, Line 2). Buffet breakfast for TND16. If you don't want to get breakfast at the hotel, there are cafeterias outside the hotel.
The room/bathroom is clean. I love their shower!!
Cable tv is available with English channel. Most room are double, no twin room available at all, but the bed is big enough for two people.
I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank YayoP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed April 24, 2012

As an Ibis Hotel customer in England and France, happy with my previous experiences, I chose to stay in Ibis Hotel, Tunis, on 23 and 24 April 2012. It is brand new: opened last February, and it presents the classic Ibis features. I was placed in room 307 overlooking blocks of flats but comfortable. In fact the bed is more comfortable that the beds in Reading Ibis, England, for instance. The light did not function properly in room 307 so reception obliged and I was moved to room 308 about which I have no compaint, except that the window overlooks the courtyard of Novotel next door. So I could see only buildings.
I wanted to stay in floor 8 to have a chance to look at the city of Tunis from the window but receptionist said the hotel was full, which I doubted given that it is low season and i could not see many customers around. Never mind.
No problem with the bar service: polite staff.
Food: one evening I tried a Lasagne and a panini with tuna fish to be taken away to the room. I was quite disappointed. It was the usual stuff offered in Ibis hotels in Europe. Frozen food heated and presented to customer. 'inmangeable' as the French would say!!
I did not try the restaurant because I have the impression that food is also frozen and heated.
I find that drinks prices are rather high but this applies in all tourism hotels in Tunisia. (Champain price is exorbitant) : judge by yourself: (1 euro equals 2 dinars):
- a glass of local wine: 8 dinars
- a glass of whisky (chivas): 26,000 dinars
- coffee express: 3,500 dinars
- tea: 3,000 dinars
- local celtia beer: 4,500 dinars
- bottle of champain: 300,000 dinars!!!!
-fruit juice: 4,500
-bottle of water (90 cl): 3,000 dinars

-Room: 100 dinars a night

Conclusion: Personally, I will not use Ibis Tunis next time. I prefer to go to La Goulette, by the sea, but I would recommand it to businessmen because it is in central Tunis, in a quite location.
It is true that everywhere, Ibis is for business, not for eating.
Sarzanese

Room Tip: always ask for floor 8
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Sarzanese
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanoi
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
102 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2012

Nothing outstanding, but good for the price, when you see the quality / price of the other hotels in Tunis (I go there 4 times a year for business). It is in the center of the city, in the financial district. Just nearby within walking distance, a lively local neighborhood.
It just opened, so super clean, good breakfast, with fresh orange juice!
Low speed wifi, depending of our far away you are from the wifi spot.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Tree69
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amman, Jordan
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed April 12, 2012

Modern and very clean hotel which best suits business travellers as well as people looks for best value for their money. There is no room service but you can take your meal from the restaurant to your room. People working there are very friendly and helpful. A safety box is located in each room so you can put our valuable things. It's location is excellent and near bou rkeeba st and downtown market.
One downside is that they don't have a business center. However, the reception was very kind in printing and scanning my documents free of charge.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TamQQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.0 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 55 in Tunis
332 reviews
0.8 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 55 in Tunis
450 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Hotel Les Berges Du Lac- Concorde
0.8 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#7 of 55 in Tunis
401 reviews
0.9 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#12 of 55 in Tunis
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ibis Tunis? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ibis Tunis

Property: Ibis Tunis
Address: Rue de Syrie, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Phone Number:
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Tunis
#3 Business Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Ibis Tunis 3*
Number of rooms: 156
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Orbitz, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Ibis Tunis reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ibis Tunis Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing