We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Haven of old world calm”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Tunis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Grand Hotel de France
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
London
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Haven of old world calm”
Reviewed April 26, 2013 via mobile

This is a really nice place to stay amid the chaos of Tunis, with loads of (slightly rundown) character, big rooms, friendly staff and a fabulous location just by the medina and souks. It's very good value. You can get free wifi near the reception area and a nice simple breakfast and friendly greetings each morning in the bar. Like everywhere in Tunisia, there isn't a smoking ban so expect to smell cigarette smoke inside. Slightly lumpy pillows are a small price to pay for an overall excellent budget choice.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank LondonSmudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

71 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    28
    5
    3
    1
See reviews for
7
26
11
6
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed April 8, 2013

Authentic and charming. If you don't mind certain inconveniences related to what is old then this is your place. But, to me "the old stuff" is what makes this place so special!!! One of my fav kind of hotels. I could've easily stayed more than a week...
This place has a lot of soul and is in the heart of Tunis (a block from Bab Bhar so perfect for those of you who want to spend time exploring the medina).
If you want IKEA and carpet with double glass and a hair-dryer.. don't come here.
Some rooms have shared bathroom/showers on floor (spotless).
I stayed several nights and it felt like home (several young families with young children as well as the usual solo).
Service was perfect and sincere.
Courtyard is a great place to have a cup of coffee and plan your day or write postcards if you need to rest a bit from all your street combing!
It's a shame they don't offer more in the mini bar area (just tea and coffee). But hey, that area is part of the charm too!

Room Tip: quieter rooms look onto the courtyard. If you want city street views and don't mind a bit of noi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Seramusafirah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

This lovely old hotel in a narrow street was one of the hits of our travels in Tunisia. The staff are friendly but as another reviewer has said, a little French goes a long way. Having said that, when I rang to check they had rooms, the receptionist's English was very good. They don't take online bookings and aren't even that keen on taking phone bookings, just said "call back when you are closer to Tunis". But it worked out fine and we enjoyed our stay. The hotel has an old colonial charm, with a lovely central courtyard garden. Our rooms had balconies overlooking the garden and were spotlessly clean. The croissants and coffee at breakfast were amazing. There was free wifi and reception can explain to you where the laundromat is. It is near the bazaar and other attractions. I would feel comfortable staying here as a solo woman traveller.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the central courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Redaurella
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barnstaple, England, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

This is a charming, friendly hotel in the centre of Tunis. The staff are friendly and helpful (a little French goes a long way!) Our room was clean and tidy. The room was serviced every day and we were provided with clean towels everyday. Breakfast was tea, coffee or hot chocolate served with 2 lovely fresh croissants each - some with chocolate or almond paste! Yum yum. Quite adequate to set you up for the morning. The hotel is situated in a prime location for exploring the souks, medina and fresh food market; all literally on your doorstep. Definitely good value for money. I highly recommend if you are on a budget and want to feel a part of Tunis. If you prefer 5 star luxury, this is probably not for you.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the courtyard as it will be much quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sarah C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rabat, Morocco
Level 4 Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed January 28, 2013

The staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. The hotel itself has a beautiful, old French architecture which made it quite charming. Everything was clean and well kept. With the low price, this was one of the best bargains I've received on a hotel. I stayed 3 nights and I really enjoyed my stay. The only negative I had with this hotel is the size of the shower. The shower was very small and difficult to move around in. But this was not bad enough to deter me from staying there in the future.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Globe T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
151 reviews
101 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

I loved getting my morning coffee as I would be served by the delightful charming man asking if I wanted a croissant or bread, The service at the front desk is first rate. All the other comments are true. It is nice to have access to free WiFi. The Wifi is sometimes a bit spotty, but it is good enough to check emails and do basic research. It has a great location. It is close enough to the tram station, the souk and the large avenue.

Room Tip: The inside rooms are quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank spiritedbolderwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berlin, Germany
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2012

Looking for a great value budget place to stay in Tunis? This may not be the super cheapest but well worth the price, the standards well above those of the youth hostel (Auberge de Jeunesse) which is also in a slightly dodgy place within the medina. This was obviously once a very grand hotel, it's charm remains, full of pretty tiled walls, high ceilings, pillars & 40's furniture. We paid 53 Dinar, approx 32 Euros for a double room with bathroom attached and aircon (necessary in August) & little balcony facing the inner, open, peaceful leafy courtyard (where breakfast is served). Breakfast inc. in price, fresh bread (not always the case in Tunisia, even at pricier places) & the best coffee ever. The hotel is safe, extremely clean, towels included, free wifi, computers available in lobby, lovely friendly staff. A couple speak a few words of English but they're used to foreigner's bad French). It's down a little street just off Place de la Victoire (local taxi drivers know it as 'Bab Bhar'), don't get in a taxi until it's clear they will use the meter, should cost about 5 -7 Dinar from the airport during daytime hours. Very safe for single women!!, no annoying tiresome wannabe gigolos hanging around which is very refreshing! excellent location, right next to the medina.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a little balcony overlooking the inner courtyard.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nina e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Metropole Residence
0.4 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
448 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Tiba
Hotel Tiba
#10 of 54 in Tunis
170 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Dar Ben-Gacem
Dar Ben-Gacem
#8 of 54 in Tunis
97 reviews
0.1 mi away
Tunisia Palace
Tunisia Palace
#14 of 54 in Tunis
168 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Royal Victoria
Hotel Royal Victoria
#15 of 54 in Tunis
20 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel de France? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel de France

Property: Grand Hotel de France
Address: 8 Rue Mustapha M'Barek, Tunis 1000, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #28 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
Number of rooms: 12
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel De France Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing