We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Business Hotel”
Review of Tunis Grand Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Tunis Grand Hotel
Ranked #16 of 53 Hotels in Tunis
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
“Average Business Hotel”
Reviewed June 6, 2014

Stayed here on a 5 days business trip. If I went back, I would definitely try to find a better hotel in a more populated area. Firstly, the staff at this hotel was TERRIBLE. Very unhelpful, slow, and carless. My room was always clean and the wifi worked well in the room, but besides that the hotel did not offer much. The pool was nice (although small); however the location of the hotel is somewhat isolated. There really are not many restaurants / things around the hotel, so this leaves you to dine in the hotel restaurant which has a limited menu, is over priced, and not particularly good. Nonetheless, if you are a busy traveler and are just going to this hotel to sleep at night, then I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Sometimes the elevators didn't work, so you might want to choose a low floor. Except usually the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BizTraveler_0025
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

91 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    34
    30
    5
    5
See reviews for
7
4
3
60
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
224 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 83 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

In Tunis for business, I've found this hotel after a suggestion. The position is optimal for the airport and the not so far industrial area. The cleaness was ok and also the room was good and clean with only the evidence of a smart guy that opened the bottle of water and reclosed it... The breakfast is fairy good but poor as an international one.
There's a pool but only outside and no wellness available, facing that's not a good idea to take jogging outside.

Room Tip: Better high floors.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Beppe M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2013

Was there back in early 2012, pretty “interesting” staying; the hotel has a pretentious set up and appearance, but they need to work a lot on the actual contents; wifi never worked in 3 days, and the constant explanation was “it’s a temporary problem”, the room had no toilet paper, and no hanger in the closet (!), we asked to have a few hangers and we got back .. one!!! Nevertheless the personnel was more or less courteous, but the four stars are really optimistic!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Роберто Т
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed July 13, 2013

Good hotel for a stay in Tunis. Rooms are spacious and comfortable. Matresses are terrible and are not more than a thick foam mat. Set up of the hotel is nice and the restaurant good. However the coice of food is limited and after two or three days you run out of options. Service is inconsistent. The business facilities are functional and as dull as in most other hotels. They seem to have a lot of fuctions in their main hall which can be a interesting but turn the lobby into a busy hall. The internet is reliable and free which is not ususal in this part of the world.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marahari222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Casablanca, Morocco
Level Contributor
33 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

I stayed at this hotel as I was attending a conference.
I got a very large room with view on the pool. Had my own living room.

The staff is very courteous and checking in is great. They know how to make you comfortable.

Watchout for the room keys as they get demagnetized when put close to your phone. I had to go to the reception 3 times to reactivate my key because it wouldn't open the door.

The food is OK, not the greatest. Wifi is not very good.

Room Tip: Pick the room at the Mezzanine, there are only 2 rooms in this floor and nobody around, it feels lik...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Houda O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adare, Ireland
Level Contributor
90 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed May 19, 2013

Overall this hotel is okay. It's not a 5 star by any reckoning. The rooms are big, but dark and worn. The bathroom is okay except for the shower which went from hot to cold every 5 seconds. Wifi was very poor in the evening but improved in the early morning.

Breakfast was nice by the pool. If you like omelettes or crepe's they will make them fresh for you. However, the buffet is not worth looking at.

Staff were friendly and relatively efficient. Pricing is about right at 80 euro per night.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Chimemark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austria
Level Contributor
245 reviews
48 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

Big rooms, big bathrooms, breakfast ok. I did not try the restaurant, but in such Hotels I would never do. Better go to the Astragale in Tunis. I would go again on a business trip. Near to Airport and duento sound tight windows a good rest at night.

Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Abusultan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
3.2 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 374 reviews
3.2 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#4 of 53 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 321 reviews
2.8 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#5 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 385 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
Sheraton Tunis Hotel
#7 of 53 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 438 reviews
2.9 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Tunis Grand Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Tunis Grand Hotel

Property: Tunis Grand Hotel
Address: Avenue Monastir, El Menzah VII, Ariana, Tunis 1030, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#13 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Tunis Grand Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 63
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Our hotel, shiny new, is located at 10 minutes from the Tunis Carthage airport.Tunis Grand hotel is near the new economic centre of Tunis, commercial galleries, healthy and beauty centerOur 63 rooms and suites, designed to combine a refined style and comfort, offering a panoramic view of the crested city of Tunis and its surroundings Our meeting room, the biggest of the capital, with a capacity of 1500 people, equipped with ultra modern audio visual equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Tunis Grand Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Tunis Grand Hotel Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing