We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bargain” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel le Consul

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hotel le Consul
Ranked #13 of 54 Hotels in Tunis
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Bargain”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 27, 2012

Small business hotel. Very unfussy hotel. Clean and presentably furnushed Reasonably efficient staff. Clientele mainly male business travelers. Serviceable mini gym and ok restaurant. Don't lose your key card!

Helpful?
Thank Nimbu2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

79 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    35
    7
    2
    0
See reviews for
3
13
23
45
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Munich
Level Contributor
168 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2012

First I need to mention that this is not a 4-star hotel although they claim so; 3-stars would be appropriate. Second, the service in the hotel, whether reception, check-in, luggage, or restaurant needs significant improvement. Housekeeping deserves a big compliment though and 5 stars! Generally, staff are lazy and slow, and guests are more of a nuisance than revenue bringing customers. The bathrooms are very nice, but the rooms are at a 3-star level and do not even have a safe. The so-called "restaurant" is a total disgrace both in terms of comfort and service, and breakfast is awful.
Overall, if you are on a business trip, do not have breakfast and only need a good place to sleep, then this hotel will be fine.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SusanneMunich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra, Australia
Level Contributor
31 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 2, 2012

I visited Tunis for a four day stay after 6 weeks on the road travelling through parts of Europe and North Africa. Based on Trip Advisor reviews I booked Hotel le Consul and this turned out to be a great hotel experience and a real haven for those four days. My room was spotlessly clean, comfortable, very quiet and a good size. The bathroom was well set out with wonderful shower with instant hot, hot water. The staff were all very friendly and responsive, particularly the Directeur, Monsieur Kefi. He was there most mornings to greet me for breakfast and welcome me back after my daily excursions. I felt there was nothing he would not be able to arrange if I needed it, very comforting for a female solo traveller.

Transfers to and from the hotel went as planned and M. Kefi was even able to arrange drivers for day tours to Sid Bu Said, Carthage, the Bardo museum, Dougga and the Tunis Medina. The drivers were very courteous and the prices extremely reasonable. I experienced no hassles at all in Tunis apart from the usual hard sell from vendors in the Medina which is common in all medinas.

There is free wifi in the restaurant and reception area and free wired Internet in the room.

The restaurant was excellent. All meals were of a high standard with fresh, homemade ingredients, mostly French style although some lovely local dishes too and indeed much better than a certain 5 star restaurant in Luxor Egypt which I'll be reviewing shortly. Even the wine was good. Breakfast was also good but a little more variety in the hot dishes over the four days would have been appreciated although what was provided was delicious.

Overall I was very impressed with the room, service, food and value and would definitely return.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bindip61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2011

Hotel le Consul provided much of what I needed during my stay in Tunis. The hotel has recently been refurbished, and the result is a clean, modern hotel with good service. The hotel restaurant also provides good food during dinner and better than average breakfast, which was free for my stay. The room I had was quiet and with tasteful decor and comfortable furniture and layout. Even the internet connection was good. The location of the hotel is not ideal for tourists looking to save money by walking. Taxis are probably the most convenient way to get to and from the hotel if visiting the sites of Tunis. That being said, Hotel le Consul seems like it would be a very good hotel for business travelers (my visit was for recreation).

The overwhelming majority of the staff was very friendly and helpful. The only exception was the "gentleman" working the desk when I first arrived to check-in. Attitude made it seem that he was very annoyed that I chose to stay there. His attitude may have been related to the fact that arrived at the hotel directly after an excursion to some the ancient sites in the interior of Tunisia. I was a little dirty in my trekking shoes, excursion clothing, and large backpack in tow. I'm sure I did not match the clientele the hotel is trying to attract :o) But I guess I cleaned up well..I had a good experience from the rest of the staff.

Room Tip: Don't arrive at the hotel sweaty and dirty after an excursion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CJReisen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guildford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
25 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2011

Stayed here on business for a week in Sept 2011. Hotel doesn't have great kerb-side appeal, however the interior is much better. Rooms are clean and service throughout the hotel is good. Hotel is conveniently located, however I did find a few taxi drivers who did not where it was located when I tried to return here after a day out. Overall a good clean hotel, probably around 3* in Europe equivalent, great service inside and a good location for Tunis.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank OnlySme
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 31, 2011

I stayed at the Hotel le Consul for business with a large group and the hotel was very accommodating and helpful. The rooms are clean and the service was good. The location was fine for this trip, though you must take a taxi to the Souk or La Borgita. Most of the taxi drivers did not know the hotel, so if you don't speak Arabic (some of our drivers didn't speak French) it's a good idea of keep the card with hotel contact information with you. Overall we were very happy with le Consul and I would recommend it.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Fennerlicious
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint-Paul de Vence
Level Contributor
105 reviews
96 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 182 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2011

I booked at Le Consul on the basis of previous reviews. The first impression was just terrible: a nondescript building in a quiet but dirty street with a stinking sewage odor all over the place. Fortunately, the inside sounded better: a warm welcome, a clean and large bedroom overlooking a backyard and a parking with flat screen TV and good selection of foreign channels, a modern bathroom well supplied with amenities. Stationery, recap of hotel facilities, Tunis maps, etc are not available any more. The shower curtain is about 2 to 3 in. too short with the consequences one may figure out. Buffet breakfast was simple but ok but it could do with a bit more variety. The bar could be a relaxing place for a last drink if it was not for a TV (soccer matches) at a volume that no one was willing to turn down.
Safety in Tunis has become an issue. My wife got her gold chain snatched 200 meters from the hotel. During our visits in town and our trips with the TGM we have been constantly reminded by Tunisians to be extremely vigilant. The hotel is far away from the city center (not recommended to walk in small streets) and we were strongly advised against the use of public transportation these days. The use of taxis - inexpensive - is a must, even though catching one may be time consuming at busy hours.
In short, Le Consul remains a comfortable hotel but I am not convinced that it deserves its rank.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Chagoule
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tunis hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Belvedere Fourati
0.4 mi away
Ibis Tunis
Ibis Tunis
#2 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
1.2 mi away
Carlton Hotel Tunis
Carlton Hotel Tunis
#3 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 428 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Africa Hotel
Africa Hotel
#4 of 54 in Tunis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 363 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Mohamed V
Novotel Mohamed V
#5 of 54 in Tunis
4.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
0.4 mi away
Golden Tulip El Mechtel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel le Consul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel le Consul

Property: Hotel le Consul
Address: 84 Rue de Palestine, Tunis 1002, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Tunis
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Spa Hotel in Tunis
#10 Luxury Hotel in Tunis
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel le Consul 4*
Number of rooms: 154
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Downtown business hotel, 43 rooms, 1 suite, free internet connection in all rooms, 1 conference room, 1 fitness centre, 1 restaurant, 1 private parking. 10mn from the airport, 20mn from Carthage and Sidi Bou Said. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel le Consul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Consul Hotel
Hotel Le Consul Tunis, Tunisia, Africa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing