We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not very clean”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tozeur
Paris, Canada
Level 5 Contributor
87 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Not very clean”
Reviewed April 1, 2013

Dirty flat sheet on an old mattress, with no pad in between .... a little distressing. Taking a shower was very risky because the bottom of the bathtub was so slippery. The rooms were amply large but the bed was hard and lumpy. The wait staff was not very friendly. The food was just average.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sheila020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

177 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    49
    71
    37
    13
    7
See reviews for
29
60
8
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Vancouver, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2012

The hotel is clean and friendly. Its so GREAT to see an eco friendly hotel with recycling bins everywhere. They are definitely green conscious. They have great gardens and lovely pools. Its a busy hotel, the tour agents use this hotel, so expect the big tour groups at breakfast and dinner. The food is also catered to big tour groups so I think its a let down. Its the least tasty food Ive had in a hotel and very limited breakfast option. I was thrilled with the hotel - the size of our rooms was excellent but the food was highly disappointing.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Claritylife
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of the Golden Yasmin chain, this hotel was another that seems to have double beds in all rooms, not the greatest situation for two people travelling together as singles. The room was large, like a suite, but the balcony was tiny. Unfortunately our room was invaded by the smell of a nearby drain, but it was only for two nights. We were on a package tour, so I can't speak to prices of meals but the buffets were adequate. Air conditioning did not work (maybe because it was off-season) and the internet wi-fi was slow. Like most hotels we found in Tunisia, coffee was available at breakfast but not at other meals. You pay extra for any kind of drink. Overall it's an attractive-looking hotel. The ambience of the town and learning about the oasis make up for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Constanta, Romania
Level 5 Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've just came back from a 7 days holiday in Tunisia, and we had a 2 days trip in the Sahara Desert. We have slept in Tozeur, at the Hotel Ras El Ain. Our main accomodation in Port el Kantaoui was terrible so we were a little worried sincerely about what hotel we will find in the middle of desert. But we had a very, veru pleasat surprise finding this hotel, which is really really nice to stay in. The restaurant is wonderful. They don't have a very large variety of plates, we had there dinner and breakfast, but was enough and good food. Only we had to pay the beaverages. The staff was very kind, you have WI-FI Internet acces in the lobby and at he the pool. All the rooms are in little bungalows, very very nice, rounded by a great garden. The rooms are very big, with balcony. They are like junior suites, with a sofa and a DBL bed. Air conditioning was functioning properly and we had hot water permanently. Cosmetic amenities were available in the bath.
I kindly reccomend you this hotel for a short stay, or even for an entire holiday. Its only inconvenient is the location, Tozeur is a little bit far from civilisation, in the middle of the desert. But if you want silence and be far from everything is exactly what you need :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank any-nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on tour in Tunisia. We only stayed at the hotel for one night. We found our room clean and comfortable. The staff apeared freindly and polite. There was plenty of choise of food and the food was of a good standard. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickWPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel was overpriced. I disagree with other reviewers: it deserves 3, not 4 stars. Firstly, our bathroom was dirty and they never cleaned it. Secondly, the food was ok but not worth the price. If you stay here DO NOT EAT LUNCH!!! It is way, way, way more expensive than any restaurant close by. We ate lunch one day and were so shocked by the price that I talked to the manager. He basically said: whatever, too bad.

Furthermore, we stayed in another Golden Yasmin property and it was much, mush better. We wouldn't stay here again: there's a new Palm Oasis going up in town and just down the street is the Dar Cherait or the El Mouradi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed December 27, 2011

Terrible hotel, terrible service. First there was total confusion when we checked in. The old man behind the desk did not know what he was doing. He did not input our names on the systems which was the first big mistake. Once we got to the restaurant the confusion continued. We were a group of 25, the waiters could not understand the concept that each family wanted to pay for their own meals and drinks. They kept insisting that one person would have to pay for 25? Then came dinner, more confusion. Despite us having submitted our payment vouchers. ( proof that we had paid for the entire stay and meals), we were told that we had not paid for the Christmas dinner, which turned out to be just normal dinner; no special dinner or animation as promised. The food was just terrible.

The rooms were very small. We asked for a baby cot, it could hardly fit in the room, it was ancient, very low and my son could just raise his leg and fall out of the cot.

If you want to enjoy your holiday, do not even consider this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tozeur
0.2 mi away
Hotel Ksar Rouge
Hotel Ksar Rouge
#2 of 14 in Tozeur
135 reviews
1.0 mi away
Palm Beach Palace Tozeur
0.2 mi away
El Mouradi Tozeur
El Mouradi Tozeur
#4 of 14 in Tozeur
211 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Dar Tozeur
Dar Tozeur
#3 of 14 in Tozeur
7 reviews
13.8 mi away
Dar Hi
Dar Hi
#1 of 4 in Nefta
145 reviews
0.0 mi away
El Mouradi
El Mouradi
#2 of 7 in Douz
212 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur

Property: Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Address: BP 141 | Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 14 Hotels in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur 4*
Number of rooms: 142
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestling in a magnificent garden facing Tozeur's palm oasis, beside the majestic lanscapes of the desert, the Golden Yasmin Ras El Aïn promises a cool and comfortable stay in the heart of the Tunisian south. Three kilometres from Tozeur airport, close to the town centre and facing the enormous palm oasis, the hotel is ideally located to make the most of your Saharan stay. Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur is certified ISO 22000 V 2005 food safety accredited DKD / UKAS ISO 9001 V 2008 (Reservations, Sales, Reception, Accommodation, Food & Outside Catering) with accreditation and Cofrac Ukas and certified ECOLABEL Tunisian "ISO 14001 in progress." ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, HRS and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing