We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Mediocre hotel in oasis town” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tozeur
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
30 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mediocre hotel in oasis town”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

One of the Golden Yasmin chain, this hotel was another that seems to have double beds in all rooms, not the greatest situation for two people travelling together as singles. The room was large, like a suite, but the balcony was tiny. Unfortunately our room was invaded by the smell of a nearby drain, but it was only for two nights. We were on a package tour, so I can't speak to prices of meals but the buffets were adequate. Air conditioning did not work (maybe because it was off-season) and the internet wi-fi was slow. Like most hotels we found in Tunisia, coffee was available at breakfast but not at other meals. You pay extra for any kind of drink. Overall it's an attractive-looking hotel. The ambience of the town and learning about the oasis make up for everything!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Brenda M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

146 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    38
    61
    31
    10
    6
See reviews for
23
55
7
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Constanta, Romania
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2012

I've just came back from a 7 days holiday in Tunisia, and we had a 2 days trip in the Sahara Desert. We have slept in Tozeur, at the Hotel Ras El Ain. Our main accomodation in Port el Kantaoui was terrible so we were a little worried sincerely about what hotel we will find in the middle of desert. But we had a very, veru pleasat surprise finding this hotel, which is really really nice to stay in. The restaurant is wonderful. They don't have a very large variety of plates, we had there dinner and breakfast, but was enough and good food. Only we had to pay the beaverages. The staff was very kind, you have WI-FI Internet acces in the lobby and at he the pool. All the rooms are in little bungalows, very very nice, rounded by a great garden. The rooms are very big, with balcony. They are like junior suites, with a sofa and a DBL bed. Air conditioning was functioning properly and we had hot water permanently. Cosmetic amenities were available in the bath.
I kindly reccomend you this hotel for a short stay, or even for an entire holiday. Its only inconvenient is the location, Tozeur is a little bit far from civilisation, in the middle of the desert. But if you want silence and be far from everything is exactly what you need :)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank any-nadine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pontefract, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
32 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 17, 2012

We stayed at this hotel while on tour in Tunisia. We only stayed at the hotel for one night. We found our room clean and comfortable. The staff apeared freindly and polite. There was plenty of choise of food and the food was of a good standard. We would stay at this hotel again.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MickWPontefract
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scottsdale, Arizona
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2012

This hotel was overpriced. I disagree with other reviewers: it deserves 3, not 4 stars. Firstly, our bathroom was dirty and they never cleaned it. Secondly, the food was ok but not worth the price. If you stay here DO NOT EAT LUNCH!!! It is way, way, way more expensive than any restaurant close by. We ate lunch one day and were so shocked by the price that I talked to the manager. He basically said: whatever, too bad.

Furthermore, we stayed in another Golden Yasmin property and it was much, mush better. We wouldn't stay here again: there's a new Palm Oasis going up in town and just down the street is the Dar Cherait or the El Mouradi.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank L M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tunis, Tunisia
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

Terrible hotel, terrible service. First there was total confusion when we checked in. The old man behind the desk did not know what he was doing. He did not input our names on the systems which was the first big mistake. Once we got to the restaurant the confusion continued. We were a group of 25, the waiters could not understand the concept that each family wanted to pay for their own meals and drinks. They kept insisting that one person would have to pay for 25? Then came dinner, more confusion. Despite us having submitted our payment vouchers. ( proof that we had paid for the entire stay and meals), we were told that we had not paid for the Christmas dinner, which turned out to be just normal dinner; no special dinner or animation as promised. The food was just terrible.

The rooms were very small. We asked for a baby cot, it could hardly fit in the room, it was ancient, very low and my son could just raise his leg and fall out of the cot.

If you want to enjoy your holiday, do not even consider this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Mosdee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
komotini
Level Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2011

we 've stayed 3 nights as ;part of a tour in tunisia and it was the best hotel we've stayed.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank filiotopkaridou
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
41 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2010

This is a four star hotel that really deserves all the four stars. Not to be compared with our “four star “hotel in Hammamet. It was way better. It is a beautiful and elegant structure. It has a big indoor and outdoor swimming pool. In the outdoor pool the water was strangely warm, but then I figured out that it was better so. When I went out of the water, even the 36 Celsius degrees of Tozeur felt cool…
The rooms were beautiful and clean. The restaurant was great. The food was better than in our other hotel in Tunisia and the staff was very friendly.
Too bad that we stayed there just for one night…

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank realrv6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tozeur
0.2 mi away
Eldorador Ksar Rouge
Eldorador Ksar Rouge
#2 of 15 in Tozeur
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
1.3 mi away
El Mouradi Tozeur
El Mouradi Tozeur
#3 of 15 in Tozeur
3.5 of 5 stars 187 reviews
0.5 mi away
Dar Tozeur
Dar Tozeur
#4 of 15 in Tozeur
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.4 mi away
Dar Hi
Dar Hi
#1 of 4 in Nefta
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
0.6 mi away
Yadis Tozeur Oasis
Yadis Tozeur Oasis
#7 of 15 in Tozeur
3.0 of 5 stars 16 reviews
0.4 mi away
Dar Saida Beya
Dar Saida Beya
#3 of 14 in Tozeur
5.0 of 5 stars 23 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur

Property: Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Address: BP 141 | Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur 4*
Number of rooms: 164
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Travelocity and HotelTravel.com so you can book your Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing