We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Good value!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Residence l'Oued

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Residence l'Oued
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good value!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2013

Surprisingly clean and modern for a cheaper Tunisian hotel (no offense, Tunisia, but yeah...). Comfy beds, linens seemed pretty new, bathroom was in good shape. Wifi only in the lobby. Breakfast was pretty decent continental-style. Didn't swim in the pool, but it seemed nice! A bit of a walk (10 min?) from the town center, but then, it's not a very big town, and cabs are cheap.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CJ1919
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    84
    41
    6
    1
    1
See reviews for
32
47
17
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seoul, South Korea
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

we checked all the hotel booking website and travel agency to have reservation of this residence in advance but when we visited their own website we found out that it's cheaper if we contact this residence directly. we got only 5DT discount and still I am thinking it's a little overpriced. becuz compared to other big hotels near to beach like Souse or Monastir in this low season, it was not a big difference. and when we got the residence we realized that we were the only guests so we expected room upgrade, but they didn't give us. Anyway don't book in advance and try to contact them directly..

If you want a tour, I recommend you to visit the agency directly rather than booking by residence since you can get more discount. Sahara tour for two person booking by residence was 120DT. This price is for 4 person but they don't have other guests so you have to pay for 4 person price even if you were alone. But the agency offered us 70DT becuz they have one more traveler who wants to join us.

Room was spacious and bathroom with very good hot water. it was cold since it's winter but there was heater in the room so no prob. bed was big and comfortable. breakfast with coffee, tea, bread, jam, eggs. Location was ideal. not closed to Medina but quiet and relaxing.

staffs were kind and nice, Especially the male staff gave us very good idea for tour. He was sincere and helpful :)

*Don't trust Google map when you drive to here. It drove us to a place with nothing. haha
It's better type in 'Residence Al Arich' which is just beside of this residence.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ananjyu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Anywhere
Level Contributor
74 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

I spent 4 days in Tozeur due to an unexpected accident. The staff was welcoming and helpful from minute one. Clean rooms. Small swiming pool, just to relax.The only problems there are the breakfast, that is simple and very repetitive, and the internet access. I only could access it once in the whole time I stayed there. Very good relation between price and quality. The hotel fits for any kind of traveler.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Chavernys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
147 reviews
113 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2012

As reported, this is a very quiet maison d'hote with excellent facilities. I booked directly through their website and received a rate of EU20 per night for single occupancy of a double room. As I mentioned that I would need wifi in the room, they very thoughtfully allocated me one close to reception which meant the wifi worked well. Also working to perfection - satellite TV with 5 English channels, hot water, aircon, and the pool which was great.
If I have to find anything about which to be critical, I would say that breakfast becomes boring after several days of the same boiled egg, bread, jam, and coffee. And it might be good to have a couple more loungers by the pool. But really these are very minor cavils given the exceptional value this place represents.
Located right by the edge of the palmeraie, it is quiet, yet close enough to the town. The belvedere rocks with sunset views are about 30 minutes walk west, and the medina, which should definitely not be missed, is about 15 minutes walk east. As already observed, cabs are cheap if the walk is too much.
The French patisserie El Bey, at the crossroads just west of the hotel, serves a good fixed price lunch for about EU3, and the first major restaurant about 5 minutes east (La Lune) does very decent food for dinner. Further into town, I can also recommend The Minaret for dining in a pleasant courtyard with slightly more refined choices than elsewhere.
I strongly recomment Residence L'Oued both for its facilities and for the very obliging owner (taoufik.neji@hotmail.com) and great staff.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SecretStreets
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

Good location in the city. Even if it could seem remote and a little bit on the outskirts, the general atmosphere is nicely quiet and very safe. There is also a picturesque creek running just near the hotel’s walls, probably just getting out of the palmeraie (I think that we got lucky on this one, as our trip was made during the winter, so the water was still running along the road).
Quite a good breakfast (for tunisian standards, that is…) including, besides bread-butter-coffee, some hard boiled eggs, jam and oranges or orange juice, warm milk.
Good advice from the hotel staff regarding a restaurant in the vicinity that works at late hours (and serves local wine).
Very clean and beautifully decorated rooms (especially the bathrooms). The interior "patios" with natural light, traditional brick walls, plants and small chirping birds (natural as well, I mean not in cages) add to the general atmosphere of well-being and relaxation.

Room Tip: When travel during wintertime and you need a warm room, ask for a one that will not have the flow of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank zina_andreea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
20 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 25, 2012

Welcoming staff. At our arrival we were haPpy to find this place. Calm and peaceful with a swimming pool. The architecture of the hotel is very nice. Rooms are good and clean. Breakfast was ok, nothing crazy. Overall, nice Place to stay and relax between excursions in the desert. I recommend for its price, its originality and its peacefulness that u ll apreciate after ur trip in the desert

  • Stayed June 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kevinworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami, Florida
Level Contributor
62 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

Our family of four was given a two bedroom apartment with large living room area and kitchen (great to have fridge for fruit) for 130 dinars/night. The staff was very friendly and helpful and the rooms were clean and comfortable. While we were checking in, one party that drove up was told there was no availability that night - a surprise to us given the extremely low occupancy of our other hotels in central and southern Tunisia in the heat of the summer. So book ahead if you want a room for a reasonable rate at this pleasant hotel.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Helpful?
Thank lauriecoconutgrove
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Tozeur
0.7 mi away
Eldorador Ksar Rouge
Eldorador Ksar Rouge
#2 of 15 in Tozeur
4.0 of 5 stars 109 reviews
0.8 mi away
El Mouradi Tozeur
El Mouradi Tozeur
#3 of 15 in Tozeur
3.5 of 5 stars 190 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Dar Tozeur
Dar Tozeur
#4 of 15 in Tozeur
4.5 of 5 stars 3 reviews
14.0 mi away
Dar Hi
Dar Hi
#1 of 4 in Nefta
4.5 of 5 stars 138 reviews
60.6 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 10 in Douz
4.0 of 5 stars 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence l'Oued? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence l'Oued

Property: Residence l'Oued
Address: Entree Sahraoui, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 6 Specialty Lodging in Tozeur
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 14
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Residence l'Oued reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing