We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointed”
Review of Tamerza Canyon

Ranked #2 of 14 things to do in Tozeur
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Greenfield, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
17 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Disappointed”
Reviewed January 19, 2014

This was a site I absolutely wanted to see after admiring photos on the Internet. However, once you are there, you see that the site is rather small, overrun by tourist traps (the souvenir hawkers), and quite busy with tourists so that it is hard to take a picture without strangers in it. I think we could have ventured deeper into the canyon far away from the falls and the tourist traps, but unfortunately we were with a guide in a four-wheel drive because the road was really dangerous for a regular car. And this guide had a circuit he absolutely wanted to stick to and rushed us everywhere we went. If you can rent a four-wheel vehicle yourself and get good maps, do it and allow yourself plenty of time to visit this site. Probably would be better in the morning before the throngs of people show up.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank mfhatte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    110
    47
    11
    5
    0
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Devon
Level Contributor
172 reviews
36 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“A honey pot”
Reviewed December 30, 2013

A bit like Toyota Land Cruiser World, but forget that it's a honey pot and brave the walk beyond the tourist trap into the gorges and over the mountains, where you are likely to be entirely alone. Then it merits 5*.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank downingman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Halifax
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Haunting Beauty”
Reviewed July 29, 2013

More than 20 years have passed since I lived in Tozeur and visited Tamerza Canyon. The beauty of this place continues to haunt me and I long to return.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank shelleygeorgehfxcan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
299 reviews
78 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 170 helpful votes
“A fresh and relaxing stop”
Reviewed May 20, 2013

After driving and driving kilometers in desert, you stopped at that place. Beautiful canyon with a nice oasis with a cool, refreshing waterfall at it's bottom. It is so relaxing and peacefull.

Take time to make nice pictures!

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank 999Vince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Gorgeous”
Reviewed May 2, 2013

We visited this site as part of a 2-day tour throughout Tunisia. We were taken to the place by jeeps, and then a hike through the canyon. The views are absolutely amazing and you don't have many people around pestering you trying to sell stuff like in other places. There are also nice facilities on site (after the hike), with toilets and a bar where you can buy freshly squeezed orange juice and coffee.. etc. Make sure you have nice comfortable shoes, the terrain is not always even and you need to do a bit of climbing. It can get a bit windy also, so beware with flying hats/scarves!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank pechito33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Tamerza Canyon also viewed

Tozeur, Tozeur Governorate
Tozeur, Tozeur Governorate
 
Tozeur, Tozeur Governorate
 

Been to Tamerza Canyon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing