We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good value with the right room”
Review of Residence el Arich

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Residence el Arich
Ranked #7 of 16 Tozeur B&B and Inns
Reviewed November 5, 2012

The hotel is generally good value. We had a very nice room on the third floor overlooking the palm trees. It is worth the 40 dinar per night. They could add value by getting rid of the dirty carpets in the rooms. Get nice ones and hang them on the wall. No reason to have carpets on the floor. They just get dirty and dusty.
A shower curtain the the bathroom that works would be great. Every day we had a big flood in the bathroom no matter how careful I was with the curtain.
Last, the breakfast could be easily improved. Add yogurt, and an egg and different jams and chocolate spread would make all the difference. The breakfast was the same as for all the cheap budget hotels. The Terrace is a great place for breakfast so why not make it a small point of difference from all the other hotels. Wifi is great...generally it works very well. Nice staff as well.

Room Tip: Get a room on the back side or one of the larger rooms.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spiritedbolderwomen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (58)
There are newer reviews for Residence el Arich
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 15 of 58 reviews

Reviewed August 20, 2012

We arrived at Residence El Arich a day earlier than we had booked, but this was no problem. There were obviously not many guests, as we were given a number of keys to see which room we wanted. The last one, on the second floor, was by far the best, almost a suite, with a little hallway and separate doors to the bedroom and bathroom. We had air-conditioning and satellite television, with about five hundred channels, mostly in Arabic, but there were also CNN, BBC and a couple of English movie channels. We also had a nice view over the palmeraie. All this was much appreciated as we had to spend a lot of time in the room due to the heat.

No WiFi in the room, but you can do it in the lobby.

The breakfast on the terrace was very basic, especially on the third morning, when, presumably due to Ramadan, there was no bread - just more of the sweet cakes. But it was nice to start the day with a pot of coffee.

The hotel is not too far from the pleasant old town. Watch out for guides claiming to be the president of the medina. You will end up in a carpet shop and also be asked for a donation, supposedly for the families of the medina. A caleche ride through the palmeraie (ten dinar) is recommended, as is a trip to Nefta.

Well worth the forty dinars a double, provided you get one of the S rooms on the second floor.

Room Tip: Rooms on the second floor (e.g. S19) are far superior to those below.
Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank rayyoong
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 13, 2012

The hotel is situated in Tozeur between the old town and the small tourist zone. It was recommended in Lonely Planet so I’d made a reservation by email. If I’d checked the room first I probably wouldn’t have taken it. It was well worn, with a dirty old rug that looked like it needed a good beating. One of the sheets on the bed had a mysterious ‘Turin Shroud’ like imprint on it. I hoped it was some wash resistant stain but couldn’t help wonder if, as our room was the first on the stairs, whether some perspiring employee had popped up for a nap that morning.

The shower curtain could have been used for a university thesis on mildew growth and the piece de resistance in the bathroom was the most bizarre extractor fan system I’ve ever seen. I’m assuming that’s what it was, but whoever installed it must have been expelled from electricians school in the first term. There were two large holes in the ceiling. The first was round and looked like it could have been installed with a well placed punch. Its only purpose seemed to be to hold an ambiguous and unidentifiable hair based substance . The other hole was larger and more randomly installed. It held a system of bare wires and electrical mechanisms, from which came a length of corrugated hose which stretched across the bathroom mirror and expelled a nameless liquid onto the floor. As this continued through the night, long after we’d showered, I can only assume we were receiving a drip feed of other guests bathroom condensation. This rogue effluence dripped onto the floor leaving us with a footbath of other peoples liquid steam. At least I hope that’s what it was.

Breakfast is taken on what was described as the roof terrace though this was basically the roof complete with A/C extractors whirring away.. It was standard fare of a few slices of French bread, butter and jam and a bun.

Positives? The staff were very friendly and helpful, they replied quickly to an email and spoke good English. The price of 40 diram (£20) was fair for whats essentially a budget option. The room had A/C which worked well and was a lifeline on a day when temperatures hit 45 degrees. The hotel has secure parking too and is situated around 10 minutes walk from the big tourist zone hotels and the town.

In summary, the hotel could be a decent budget option with a minimum of effort. The décor is Ok, its well situated but it just needs the manager to give the cleaners a shake up and do the simple things like replace the filthy shower curtain. And sack the electrician who installed the extractor fan in our room!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank LS13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 5, 2011

Even though it is closer to zone touristique, it is still part of the old town. It is within the walking distance to many local restaurants & the palmeraie.

Rooms are very new & clean. However they are in the middle of construction expansion on the rear side. Expect repercussions. Nice part is the breakfast on the terrace.

Watch out for scams in room tariff - when singles arrive, they are told that all single rooms are booked. Hence they are made to take a doubles room for an inflated tariff.

Room Tip: Choose the rear side rooms if you want a view of palmeraie.
  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kumaresh_sekaran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2011

Upon arrival, we were greeted with a big smile by Mohammed V, the manager. With ease, he organised 2 tours for us (a half day trip and an overnight trip, both with Ali Saadi - www.alitouareg.onlc.fr - a wonderful guide), accommodated my (vegetarian) dietary needs, and whisked us upstairs to a clean and airy twin room (with bathroom) on the first floor.

That evening, we couldn't decide which restaurant to go to, so we asked the lovely man at the desk for assistance in choosing between two restaurants, both listed in Lonely Planet. One of them, Restaurant Dar Deda, happened to be owned by Mohammed V. The guy at the desk called ahead and Mohammed V ensured the staff knew I was vegetarian, and when we got there we got 5* treatment. Best couscous of the trip!

Sleep quality that night was excellent, as the beds were comfortable and the room was at the back, off the street. Bathroom was fine - European toilets flushed ok, and shower had decent water pressure, just took a while to adjust temperature. Breakfast the following morning was a big serving of fresh baguette, fig jam, a big pot of fresh and strong black coffee (milk on the side), and two little muffins. For only 40TD per night for the two of us, we couldn't have asked for better (but certainly could have got a lot worse).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank PrincessBella67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 12, 2010

The room is shappy, 2 out of 3 light switch is out of services, 1 out of 3 light fitting is not working. Our room is facing the road and a contrunstion site, it is very noisy even at mid-night.

However, the staff are very helpful and provide all information. The manager (or the boss) help us to arrange tour and even help us to buy train ticket to Tunis (just buying ticket, they don't change us anything on top of the ticket price).

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EllieChan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2010

Excellent room, great breakfast on the roof-terrace overlooking the palmeraie. Friendly staff. A perfect desert-stay!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mikeCastricum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Tozeur hotels
0.6 mi away
Palm Beach Palace Tozeur
0.8 mi away
El Mouradi Tozeur
El Mouradi Tozeur
#4 of 14 in Tozeur
212 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Ras El Ain Tozeur
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Ksar Rouge
Hotel Ksar Rouge
#2 of 14 in Tozeur
139 reviews
0.9 mi away
Dar Tozeur
Dar Tozeur
#3 of 14 in Tozeur
9 reviews
0.6 mi away
Residence Tozeur
Residence Tozeur
#10 of 16 in Tozeur
10 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Residence el Arich? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Residence el Arich

Address: Zone Touristique, Tozeur 2200, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tozeur Governorate > Tozeur
Amenities:
Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 16 B&Bs / Inns in Tozeur
Price Range: $34 - $47 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 21
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Agoda and Booking.com so you can book your Residence el Arich reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Residence El Arich Tozeur

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing