We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Hmmm. If I'd had the choice....”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Le Diar el Barbar

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Le Diar el Barbar
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matmata
Horsham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Hmmm. If I'd had the choice....”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2010

Wouldn't have stayed here given the choice, but as many others have said there aren't many places to stay in the area.

The room would have been OK after a good clean.

The pool would also have been lovely after a good clean, but outside area very shabby and dirty and STANK of sewage which was visible in a big puddle. Not nice.

Food poor.

Upside? Interesting building. Amazing views at sunset/sundown.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SandyTraveller_1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    46
    41
    13
    14
See reviews for
30
31
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (3)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Marseille
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

In that Region, this hotel is the Best. no other alternative are available unless you go to zarzis ou djerba.

the rooms are clean and well kept. bathroom are outdated and need some TLC. the worst drawback is food. really bad quality food is served here. probably left overs recycled over and over again. no fruits or fresh vegetable available. poorly prepared tunisian food. I was happy to only stay one night so do book for more. this is worth a 3 star hotel. you could probably eat better in a popular restaurant in Matmata or just prepare some cheese sandwiches from the local grocers. what can i say.......hghhhhh

Besides, Diar el Barbar ( means Amazigh Houses) tries to sell an image of berber tradition, but nothing authentic. nothing real just stereotypes over there. Diar el Barbar is a disappointing place .

just a little research in google will provide a better understanding of local berber population. so do't waste your time.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank babouze
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Matmata hotels

london
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2009

This is the most expensive hotel in town, but is only ordinary. It's perfectly clean and comfortable and the food was OK, but at the price I expected better. It's an average hotel at a top (for the area) price.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tim_london0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Singapore
Level Contributor
129 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 23, 2009

The only nice thing about the hotel is the nice panoramic view from the swimming pool and the pseudo berber-styled bedrooms. Service is very lacking and the hotel is located about 10 mins' drive away from Old Matmata town, which makes you captive of the hotel as there are no other facilities around for food. The restaurant feels like a canteen and the food, likewise. The room was spacious enough but the room we had had no hot water. We had arrived at night and it was cold during that period. Although the hotel looked empty, they refused to give us another room, telling us that all the rooms were the same as the heater was broken. Well then I wonder why the room my friends were in had running hot water? I ended up using their bathroom instead. So much for service.

The atrium where the rooms are has a kitschy fake camel and well making one feel like the hotel is trying too hard to create a berber themed village. All in all, the hotel does not deserve the 4 star that it claims. It feels more like a 2-3 star accomodation and service is worse than some budget hotel i've stayed. It would probably be more worthwhile to stay in a cheaper acomodation in town.

It was also strange that the night we arrived (past 8pm), there was already a "tour agent" sitting in the hotel lobby, asking us if we want to arrange a 4X4 tour of matmata the next morning! A syndicate operation perhaps? We surely did not request for such a service in advance.

You are better off staying somewhere else.

  • Stayed February 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank thewhimsicaltrekker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moreton-in-Marsh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2009

The hotel is located 2km out of town and has great views over the desert. The architecture is interesting and the hotel caters almost exclusively for desert safari tourists in 4X4 vehicles. The rooms are acceptable but nothing special. The pool looks nice but needs cleaning. The restaurant is like a canteen the buffet evening meal looked ropey and we stuck with the cous cous! The breakfast was no better although the crossaints were outstanding. The hotel is okay for an overnight stay but I would not recommend an extended stay. The reception staff however were very helpful.

A word or warning for independent travellers it is very difficult to get from Matmata to Tataouine directly, there are no buses or taxis. A private driver knows this and the cheapest deal we could find was an outrageous 130 dinar. Instead hire a louage to Medinine 60-70 dinar and then a very cheap louage to Tataouine.

  • Stayed January 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doofler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2008

This hotel has an outdoor bar/swimming pool area with a lovely view over the desert - a great place to get away from the tourist botherers in Matmata. It's expensive by Tunisian standards (66TD/person/night half-board) and appears to cater mostly for overnight tour groups. The faux-troglodite style rooms are interesting, but lack windows, which makes them very dark at night. The staff seemed fairly pleasant.

Points to note:

The hotel is about 2km out of town. This was easily walkable in temperatures of 20 degrees C, but may be a bit of a struggle in the summer heat. People hanging around the bus/louage station are more than willing to give you a lift there, for a suitable fee.

The buffet evening meal was surprisingly good - better than many restaurants I went to in Tunisia. However, water and alcoholic drinks were placed on a central table and guests encouraged to drink them. Only later did a man come round demanding money ;)

  • Liked — The view
  • Disliked — Distance from Matmata
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank puddleduckUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2007

Spent one night there last april.
Hotel architecture is nice and interesting.
Lovely view from the hotel.
Service not so friendly.
Food and restaurant is "cafeteria" style.
I would not reccomend this hotel for an extended stay.

  • Liked — hotel architecture
  • Disliked — service
  • Stayed May 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank laluciole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Matmata
0.0 mi away
Hotel Dakyanus
Hotel Dakyanus
#2 of 3 in Tataouine
4.0 of 5 bubbles 46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Sahara Douz
Hotel Sahara Douz
#1 of 7 in Douz
4.0 of 5 bubbles 245 reviews
0.0 mi away
Djerba Plaza Hotel & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Villa Azur
Villa Azur
#58 of 103 in Djerba Island
4.5 of 5 bubbles 24 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Club President
Hotel Club President
#26 of 118 in Hammamet
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,470 reviews
0.0 mi away
Au Trait d'Union Tijma
Au Trait d'Union Tijma
#1 of 3 in Matmata
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Le Diar el Barbar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Le Diar el Barbar

Property: Le Diar el Barbar
Address: Matmata 6045, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Gabes Governorate > Matmata
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 4 Hotels in Matmata
Hotel Class:4 star — Le Diar el Barbar 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA and HostelWorld so you can book your Le Diar el Barbar reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Le Diar El Barbar Hotel Matmata
Le Diar El Barbar Matmata

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing