We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best in the world” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Villa Didon

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Didon
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carthage
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
49 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 283 helpful votes
“One of the best in the world”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 11, 2006

Villa Didon is truly a 5-star hotel. We spent part of our honeymoon there and could not have been more pleased.

We were greeted at check-in with a complimentary drink, and fresh rose petals strewn throughout our room. The rooms are enormous, done in cool marble, with the most modern fixtures and lights imaginable. The enclosed glass shower and jacuzzi tub are elevated on a marble slab, and the sinks and shower drains are reminiscent of Roman-style aqueducts. An enormous balcony presents breathtaking views of Carthage and the Gulf of Tunis.

Everything in the room, and the hotel, is ultra-modern; the hotel was completely remodeled and updated in 2004. Room doors automatically slide open when you insert your microchip-embedded plastic key. The sliding glass door and picture windows have -two- electric blinds - - one acts as a screen, the other a complete blackout curtain. Rooms have fancy electronic safes, flat-screen TVs (with at least one channel in English), and a small refrigerator stocked with a mini-bar (but you can use the refrigerator to store things purchased at the nearby grocery store).

The hotel lobby and lounge are super chic. The outside portion of the lounge is fabulous. The restaurant is large, quite good, and has wonderful views. There is a new, lovely hammam and relaxation center in the basement.

The service is impeccable. You will not open your own door as long as you stay. The entire staff speaks English and is helpful with directions, suggestions, and taxis. The hotel sits in a very well-to-do section of Carthage (next to the Carthage museum), and it's perfectly safe to walk. The Tunis TGV train runs right through Carthage, connecting Tunis and Carthage every few minutes (or you can take one of the many, many cheap taxis). Sidi Bou Said is a short, cheap taxi ride away.

Villa Didon is not inexpensive, and the food, in particular, certainly costs more than at other Tunis hotels. The bar, while very well stocked, is not cheap. Rooms are expensive by Tunisian standards, but for what you get, are a very good deal by Western standards.

Tunisia itself is a fascinating country with a well-developed tourist infrastructure. It is peaceful and perfectly safe and welcoming for westerners, including Americans. Villa Didon must be one of Tunisia's best hotels; it's certainly one of the nicest hotels I've visited anywhere in the world.

  • Liked — style and sophistication
  • Disliked — expensive (but good) food/drinks
  • Tips/Secrets — ask for special packages; visit Dougga
  • Stayed October 2006, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
13 Thank radio71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

94 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    19
    15
    5
    11
See reviews for
3
40
9
16
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 25, 2006

Armed with 2 emails from the hotel "confirming definitely" that my room was booked and having provided credit card details, you can imagine my surprise when I arrived with my partner after an international flight to be told there was no room as I had booked. Despite never mentioning this in prior communication by email, on the phone or on their website, the hotel's management said that I had failed to reply to an email sent just 2 days before my arrival so they were unable to honour my booking.

They 'kindly' offered me a room for one night but on the second I had to make alternative arrangements with no help offered. Incensed, I refused and only after 2 hours of arguments (they could see no problem with what they had done) did the management reveal they had had a block booking of 5 rooms when I was to stay.

Clearly they had decided to send out the last minute 'confirmatory' email in the hope I wouldn't reply freeing up the room. I find such a practice absolutely unacceptable in a hotel which purports to be amongst Tunisia's best and which charges such high prices for their rooms even by international standards. Only after threatening legal action and adverse publicity did the hotel back down.

The moral is be warned! - your room may not be available here even if the hotel confirms it to you in writing.

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
28 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2006

I just came back from 3 days at Villa Didon and this is the first time i write a review because this was too expensive for what it was ! Too upsetting as well ! So it has to come out !
Location is great, view is fantastic, these are the nice things. Now the rest : shower, choice between boiling water and cold one ! When you were done with trying to shower, you had the choice between white and grey towels, stick to the white ones as the grey are the kind of towels which give you the feeling they are already wet and will not dry your body much, same for the bathrobes. Breakfast, 20 eur per person, for coffee and 3 basic mini-croissant and 2 slices of toast bread, butter and jam of course where there, a glass of orange juice (the only tasty thing)!Below average and not worth 2 stars as breakfast, in such a hotel one expects min nice bread, we ended up going early for a Coffee down the street near the monoprix where a breakfast was at 3 eur in a very nice (bistro like) surrounding and had nice baguette, eggs, croissants and orange juice as well !
Friday night was party in the hotel, so if you do not like modern techno you better sleep somewhere elso as the music will follow you to your room and unless the party is over believe me there is no way to sleep.
We asked the hotel to organize a rental car and this one was 156000 km, so i let you imagine how it looked ! Dirty and dusty and costing 75 eur/day !
Taxi ordered by the hotel always charged the double, so just walk down to the monoprix and get yourself a cheaper one.
I spend half of my time in hotels, i am very picky and i choosed this one not to have any surprises in Tunisia ! I ended up paying a lot, being upset half of the time (towels, shower, breakfast)...
You can meet celebrities there for sure, and see the rich tunisians go by, the spa you can try as we did and this was very nice experience to try the hammam ! though i had some appointments for some treatments and this they cancelled at the last minute because i found out some regular guest was there and had priority obviously.
Conclusion : i would not go there again because to pay 220 eur per night and have no decent towels and shower, i say no never again !

  • Stayed April 2006
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
15 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris
Level Contributor
42 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 25, 2006

I chose this hotel based on many extatic reviews of guidebooks.
Well, for sure the view from the mini-suites (as they call the rooms) is the most gorgeous I ever had in Tunisia. Is this really worth 350 dinars (about 220 Euros/USD260)? This is open to discussion.
The staff is not very impressive, to say the least. The room design, with the bathroom and bath in the middle, in an open space with the bedroom, is funny, at least for one night (don't worry, the toilets are still in a separate, closet room!). It is only 2 years old, but you can see it will age rapidly...

The restaurant, as of February 2006, is not Alain Ducasse' Spoon anymore, but called "Le RestO", and nothing astounding except the price. No mention of Ducasse anymore anywhere, I wonder if this may not be in his group anymore.

In short, if you are very rich and want to stay in Carthage with the greatest possible view, why not. It is definitely not a "bad" place. But in terms of price for value, I have seen much better in Tunisia, like the Tamerza Palace or even the Dar El Medina in Tunis center.

  • Stayed February 2006
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
18 Thank Didierz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2005

We stayed here for the May Day bank holiday. We booked a car to pick us up from the airport and when lead to a black Jag amongst all the other taxis, the tone of our holiday was set. The staff are incredibly attentive and very friendly. The room was magnificent but the best of all was the view. Before us was the bay of Tunis with views across to Cap Bon and the Atlas mountains in the distance. With a view like that we couldnt bear to sleep with the blinds down and so were woken at 4am in the most tremendous fashion with the sun coming up and the most beautiful birdsong.
Breakfast is taken on your private terrace (and is extra), the Spoon concept restaurant (Alain Ducasse) wasnt great, was expensive and the staff didnt seem to know what they were doing although they did try hard.
The area itself (Carthage) is very handy for the Roman ruins, most within walking distance and Sidi Bou Said is 5 minutes away in a taxi. We had recently been to Marrakesh and prefered the medina there (much more vibrant) than Tunis medina. The day we arrived we decided to take a cab into the medina. A man approached and asked if we recognised him, he worked at Villa Didon. He then proceeded to tell us about a Berber festival, finishing today. 15 minutes later, totally disorientated from wandering the streets of the medina, he led us to a carpet shop where the festival had just finished that morning! Before realising this was a scam we had tipped him. Needless to say he didnt work at our hotel but had probably tipped the cab driver to tell him where we were from.
We highly recommend Villa Didon, a little pricey but a fantastic boutique hotel experience.

  • Stayed April 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
11 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Carthage
1.9 mi away
La Villa Bleue
La Villa Bleue
#1 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.5 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
2.9 mi away
Movenpick Hotel Gammarth Tunis
2.2 mi away
Dar el Marsa
Dar el Marsa
#2 of 7 in La Marsa
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Hotel Dar Said
Hotel Dar Said
#2 of 4 in Sidi Bou Said
4.0 of 5 bubbles 147 reviews
5.8 mi away
The Residence Tunis
The Residence Tunis
#1 of 13 in Gammarth
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.7 mi away
Le Corail Suites Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Didon? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Didon

Property: Villa Didon
Address: Rue Mendes France, Carthage 2016, Tunisia
Location: Tunisia > Tunis Governorate > Carthage
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Carthage
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Villa Didon 5*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience The Ancient Magic And Modern Luxury Of Tunisia. Antiquity and modern times converge in perfect symbiosis at Villa Didon, an exceptional luxury hotel of exquisite design, boutique sensibility and a truly magical setting. Surrounding ruins of ancient Carthage embrace the Punic Port, where Queen Didon disembarked to found this world-renowned ancient city on the coast of Tunisia. Rejuvenate in one of 10 luxurious and superbly appointed guestrooms, boasting unparalleled views of the shimmering Mediterranean. For the epitome of relaxation, enjoy a soothing and therapeutic massage in the spa. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Expedia so you can book your Villa Didon reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Villa Didon Hotel Carthage
Didon Hotel Carthage

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing