We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
TripAdvisor
Serengeti National Park
Post
Inbox
Search
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (100)
Filter reviews
100 results
Traveler rating
88
10
2
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
88
10
2
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bow and arrow king bed running water sitting area remote location before dinner hot shower three nights northern serengeti one night other guests tented camp lamp shampoo sink flushing bonfire
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 100 reviews
Reviewed December 7, 2017 via mobile

We stayed at the Central Tented Camp for 2 nights and everything was excellent. Great service,food , tents , bed , bathroom, views , it was all very very good . I would highly recommend this camp to everyone. The staff went out of their way to make our stay a great experience.

Date of stay: December 2017
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank philhZ4955QO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2017

Overall: Fabulous location right in the middle of the Serengti. Loved the views, natural setting, and just “peaceful” vibe. Excellent views of both sunrise(behind the tent) and sunsets (from the front of the tent). Great place to just hang out, read a book, play a game of cards, and relax. Nighttime occasional animal noises were not disruptive, but fun and part of the adventure. We did see some animals around the camp from a distance and clear evidence (dung) in the mornings that animals are close to the camp during the nighttime. We were given a walkie-talkie upon arrival to use if we needed/wanted anything. Also, there was a lamp in the tent we could use as a flashlight, though we had brought our own flashlights...

Limited time in camp with few opportunities to socialize. Come in from a day of touring, prep for diner, eat at pre-assigned tables, sleep, do it again. Most others seemed to be French – we were the only US folks - so could have been a language issue as well. In the evening, staff would collect wood, light a brush wood campfire and set up chairs for folks to just chat and enjoy for a bit before diner. This was really the ONLY chance we had to meet others and we really enjoyed it!.
.
Camp condition: Tents well maintained, clean, and nicely set up with tables, camp chairs, lamps, etc. Dining tents nicely appointed with individual tables for each “party” and comfortable outside sitting areas. Also provided universal electric plugs to power up camera, phones, laptop in the dining tents (Great!). Nighttime campfire was AWESOME. Internet not up for 3 out of 4 days – did get about 10 minutes on day 4 just before we left.

Tent flaps on the dining tent left open to better enable servers easy entry/exit (cooking tent behind the main tents). However, that meant one night some HUGE flying bug (at first I thought a bat) kept flying in and out of the dining tent. Since I was near a light, he flew into my face/forehead at one point. When he got stuck in my hair, I was done and just left. EWWW. Overall, bugs were not bad and this was just after a rain which may have played into it but the other couple dining in the same tent also followed us out to avoid the problem,

Tent: LOVED our tent (#3). Comfortable queen size bed with fresh linens and a wonderful quilt, good mosquito netting, wood plank floor, plenty of fresh air we controlled through tent flaps which allowed us to be cool in the day and warmer at night, solar-powered lighting, bedside tables, places for clothing, indoor plumbing (YA!) including flushing toilet, sink w/running water and shower. The staff filled an outside tank with warm water for a refreshing shower as often as we wanted (though we kept it to once per day). The water for sink/toilet would run out at night if I used too much in the evening to wash up (Lesson learned). Outside sitting area was great, though adding a table would be a great extra. Fresh bottled water provided daily for drinking and brushing teeth (do NOT use water from tap). Soap provided but no other amenities (shampoo, conditioner, etc.). We were TOLD we were in tent 3, but there are no numbers on the tents so it is easy to get confused. One night, another "camper" tried to enter our tent by mistake -- it was rather startling...

Food: A different afternoon/before dinner snack was provided each day: peanuts, popcorn, and even the unexpectedly good popcorn with bananas. Dinner was YUMMY and served at our appointed table (no buffets). Always 3 courses – a soup, main course, and dessert. The soups were amazing especially the warm green banana soup. One night the main course was perfectly cooked med/rare beef, tender and very flavorful. I never had room for dessert. Breakfast was eggs cooked to order, bacon, sausage, fruit, cereal, toast, coffee/tea. Box lunches for safari were FULL of all sorts of stuff (too much actually). Lunch in camp one day was delightful with a ham pizza my husband is still raving about. We had brought wine with us (not knowing what to expect), but there was wine available for purchase. They had no problem with us having our own.

Service: LOVE these guys. They could not do enough for you. Once the sun is down/dark – staff walk you to and from tents/dining/fire with flashlights due to the animals around. Also staff serve the meals, lug your STUFF, and just generally take care of everything with a smile. English was clearly not the most used language here, but the guys tried hard and most of the time we were able to communicate if not the specifics, the intent was "close enough". They were universally GREAT.

Date of stay: August 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
2  Thank Kmcoyle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2017

Great location in the northern Serengeti. Staff will heat buckets of water over fire and pour it in a tank above your shower when you are ready for a shower. Family tents have a front porch with chairs and a table, a king bed, 2 twin beds, shelves, a wooden floor, a flushing toilet, running water sink, and the shower. Dining is in a separate tent. The food is great and the staff will come to your tent asking if you want beer or wine. The wildebeests will soothe you to sleep with the mooing sounds. Zebras come within feet of your tent and a guard with a bow and arrow will roam the grounds at dark in case of lions or other dangers.

Date of stay: July 2017
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dan P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago
Google Translation

Date of stay: October 2019
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2019
Google Translation

Date of stay: September 2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews