We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 12:00 AM - 11:59 PM
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Serengeti National Park
from $1,980.00
More Info
from $1,575.00
More Info
Reviews (764)
Filter reviews
764 results
Traveler rating
713
36
10
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
713
36
10
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviews spent days wild animals day safari knew where lake manyara wildebeest migration the lion king water buffalo once in a lifetime great migration easy travel tented camp safari company endless plains their natural habitat game drives an amazing experience
Filter
Updating list...
198 - 203 of 764 reviews
Reviewed September 12, 2017

After completed 7 days lemosho route we did a 4 days safari with Marakuo tours from Tarangire, ngorongoro crater and Serengeti national park, Serengeti is among the best park i ever visited due to the availability of many animals and good geographical location.
During a day in Serengeti National park we saw lions, zebra, and mostly interested was a group of lions attack a buffalo while others buffalo try to help. Am sure you will never regret to travel with this team and also Serengeti is the best for anyone want to do safari.

Date of experience: July 2017
Thank troymick3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

Had 2 half day game drive there, seen lots of animals. The funniest thing was seeing a group of mom lions with cubs who were just lying on the road as if drunk. The next day we saw them again, ravening the prey. Hyenas and Jackals were waiting not far away. You even can feel their anxious.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank Lucy L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2017

We traveled to Tanzania in late August of 2017 and the Central and Northern Serengeti were the parks that we camped at and spent the most time in. Before coming to the Serengeti we visited Tarangire National park and the Ngorongo Crater which kind of prepared us for what we were going to see animal wise but the environment of the Serengeti is so different, it's vast, wide open, dry in some areas, green in others, has huge rocks, flat grasslands, and stretches for miles and miles. If you're driving there from Arusha and the other parks like we did be prepared, the roads are horribly bumpy, in August everything was dry and dusty, and it can get pretty hot during the day. We had an excellent guide who maneuvered the roads well and drove slowly so we were able to spot animals and enjoy all the different views. In the Central Serengeti we saw a lot of lions including two females who each had cubs, they were climbing on giant rocks and we heard the smallest cubs meowing, something I will never forget. We also saw several Cheetahs who are extremely hard to spot since they blend in so well with the grasses. One Cheetah was hunting a baby Gazelle and we watched her stalk it, run for it, and ended up missing it but it was amazing to see how well she hid herself and how fast she could run. Another time we saw a mother Cheetah with her young sun laying under a tree in the shade pretty close to the road so we were able to get some amazing pictures and really see the detail of them up close. We spent one night in the Central area at the Kati Kati camp and woke up in the middle of the night with our tent surrounded by grazing Zebras, it was priceless! When we reached the Northern Serengeti we were stunned by the amount of Wildebeest, they were literally as far as the eye could see! We drove up the Mara River and got to see two crossings which was both amazing and heart breaking, to watch those animals propel themselves into that rushing water and struggle to make it across while others simply drowned in front of your eyes or were eaten by Crocodiles was one of the saddest things I have ever seen. The Mara River was full of dead Wildebeest bodies all bloated and wasting away, too much for everyone to eat, which made me feel bad for the obviously hungry animals that we had seen at the other parks. After seeing the crossing I found a whole new respect for the Wildebeest. Aside from the crossing we saw a pair of lions breed right next to our vehicle, saw several leopards, and also managed to find two Rhinos, one of which hung out by our vehicle for a long time so we were able to really observe him and take some good pictures. We spent two nights camping in the Northern area and were woken up both nights to hear Wildebeest around our tent and lions roaring in the distance. At the end of our trip we flew back to Arusha instead of doing the 10 hour drive, we took a small plane from a tiny airport in the park with a simple gravel run way. I am not a fan of small planes and was not happy to hear that we would be making three other stops at different airports before we landed in Arusha but we made it and got to see some great scenery from above. We were at the park at the end of August into early September which is a slow time and most of the time it felt like we were the only ones there. It was wonderful to basically have the park to ourselves, the only time we saw several vehicles was at the crossing or when we found the Rhino and our guide told others but even then we didn't really have many people crowd around us. My only complaint was the other people when we did see them. Cars would gather when we saw exotic things like a Cheetah or Rhino and I was extremely bothered by how loud and rude some people were, instead of being quiet and respectful to the animal and environment around them people were talking, laughing, and having loud conversations about nothing when in reality they should have been quiet and taking in the moment.

Date of experience: September 2017
Thank JamieHtravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2017

We spend 5 days in Serengeti and it was very interesting ! Take time to discover animals during hunting or lazy lions sleeping. We had also the unique opportunity to see gnu migration from Serengeti to Masai Mara throught Mara River.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank emafalc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 28, 2017 via mobile

We had 9 days traversing the Serengeti from Arusha to the Mara River. We saw so many great sights during this time and were lucky enough to see many lion some even lazing in trees. The roads are horrible so you need to be prepared to hang on. I have a bad back but the seats in the land cruiser offered great support. There are few toilets so be prepared to rough it on the road. Distances are covered slowly due to the roads. Make sure you have a good guide and vehicle. We were lucky to have a GREAT GUIDE who had eagle eyes to find the most elusive animal hiding in the rocks, trees or bushes. Tangangire reserve is a must visit as it have plenty to offer in the sightings.
But it is the Serengeti overall that must be explored. It is truly amazing to see the different types of grasses and lack thereof that make up the great migration of Wildebeest and Zebra from the southern part of the Serengeti to the Northern Serengeti when they cross the Mara River in spite of the crocodiles waiting nearby for a quick easy meal. We were lucky enough to see 3 crossings in the 2 days we spent close to the Mara River. And also saw the victims of the crocodiles - no wonder the crocs are big. Plenty to eat. This migration is truly amazing and we were not aware that the animals actually travel in a clock wise direction from the south to the north then back again. So there is no true path taken just the direction. Seeing Wildebeest making the crossing and watching others run for miles just be be part of it is a real wonder. Watching the horizon littered with grazing wildebeest is another scene to behold. And there are literally thousands of them. They follow each other in 1 line even across the river. A sight to be recorded and just totally admired.
The day spent in the Ngorongora crater was a great and delightful experience. Plenty of animals seen - Lion, Zebra, elephant, giraffe and much more including some colourful bird. There are Leopards there too but we failed to find any.
We saw a lot more predator animals in the Central area but we did not have a long time there to look more. Ideally, we should have stayed a night there and made our trip another 1-2 days longer. The predator animals are not migratory as I thought they just wait and enjoy the meals that come their way. We saw many freshly killed prey and even saw a male lion with a very fresh kill. Not a lot of elephants seen but the destruction of trees was evident. Some giraffe seen, they were darker than the southern giraffe in our view. Plenty of Zebra but they are also migratory as are the Wildebeest. But the dust, it is everywhere and gets everywhere so be prepared for this and pack accordingly. Do not use any of the water except to shower, use only bottles water for teeth cleaning and drinking. Don't expect good wifi reception or phone service. This is the wild and should be expected and respected. Don't miss this truly fantastic adventure. We would surely go again and plan a longer stay.

Date of experience: August 2017
Thank review53
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews