We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Review Highlights
Once in a lifetime experience over Serengeti

Myself and my Scottish partner are delighted that we factored the hot air balloon into our trip. A... read more

Reviewed yesterday
OB375
,
Dublin, Ireland
via mobile
One of the highlights of our trip

Our pilot was Jonathan Smith. He was exceptional! This was a bucket list item for me and it lived... read more

Reviewed 6 days ago
crpattonii
,
Houston
via mobile
Read all 543 reviews
  
Reviews (543)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
342
59
20
9
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
342
59
20
9
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews launch site champagne breakfast balloon ride full english breakfast toast hot air balloon safety briefing bush breakfast glass of champagne different perspective pre dawn early start once in a lifetime balloon company balloon basket early morning smooth landing
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 10 of 436 reviews
Reviewed yesterday via mobile

Myself and my Scottish partner are delighted that we factored the hot air balloon into our trip. A first for both of us, and not easy for my partner who is afraid of heights but who settled very quickly into the ride and enjoyed it thoroughly. This trip is moreso about experiencing the sunset from the wild plains and enjoying the spectacular Serengeti views from the air rather than being a safari. The animals were frightened off from the balloons hence why they don't wait around to be seen, anyhow the jeeps on the ground have the safari element covered off in full, this is a whole different experience.

The champagne breakfast was super, tasty, plentiful and in a fabulous setting. We had great lively conversation with a lovely bunch of Canadian ladies that we only met that morning in the balloon. Thanks to our Canadian pilot Shawn and team for the safe yet fun experience.

Thank OB375
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 days ago

Unfortunately I was unable to attend this event because I was vomiting when it was time to leave the Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge. The tour operator declined to refund my money which was paid a year in advance & said he could not sell my seat on such short notice. I know for a fact that another member of our group went & she did not have a reservation. If you pay in advance and cannot go, be aware that you probably will not get a refund from Serengeti Balloon Safaris!

Thank Navigator645213
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 6 days ago via mobile

Our pilot was Jonathan Smith. He was exceptional! This was a bucket list item for me and it lived up to all my expectations! Jonathan did an excellent job taking off and landing. The ride was very smooth! We were able to see quite a few animals and to top it off the breakfast was great! I would definitely recommend this. If you don’t do it, you will regret it! I would do it again in a heart beat!!!

1  Thank crpattonii
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

Great trip all round and one that ticket off a bucket list moment for the both of us. Was very lucky with the wind direction and floated along the Masai river for majority of flight. Funny Turkish captain was great fun and had a lovely breakfast by the river.

Thank Daniel R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago

My goodness, it was beautiful. Jonathan, our balloon operator, was excellent, turning the balloon around so everyone saw the sights from all vantage points. It was a little tight with 4 people per basket, 3 would have been better but still great. And talk about a smooth landing. The champagne toast and English Breakfast under the trees in the Serengeti was well worth the cost. You have to experience this.

1  Thank Leanne F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

On of the best things we did in Serengeti is the Hot air Balloon ride. It was just a perfect chance to get on our first balloon ride with a magnificent view of the vast Serengeti on a very perfet weather.
The crew was great, they picked us up on time though very early in our camp and sent us to the Serengeti Visitors Area where our Tour driver was waiting for us.

Our Pilot, who was unbelievably funny and nice made the whole ride more enjoyable and informative at the same time.

To top it off was the champagne to celebrate a successful ride and a bush breakfast that we shared with everyone. It is simply a wonderful unforgettable experience we had on this day.

1  Thank mayasotigue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

We had a fabulous time with Serengeti Balloon Safaris’s. Our fabulous pilot, Johnathan, did a wonderful job! We saw many animals below- after the ride, we were treated to an amazing breakfast in the middle of the Serengeti! Incredible Experience!!

1  Thank Michele S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

We took the ballon from the Grumeti Tented camp in the Serengeti. We had to get up early (as expected) and drove to the take off site. I asked in advance if a child of age 5 is aloud on the balloon, as mostly small kids are not aloud.
We arrived after 45 min drive in the dark at the take off site, the pilot knew that we were 6 people but was not informed about the weight (due to the kids). So two helpers flew (most probably the first time for them with us) in the balloon.

The difference to other flights we already took was, we were all by ourselves in the balloon. There was a belt and a harness attached to the basket for each person. The kids could step up on the "seating" couch and also see everything there was to see. And we felt save that they will not fall out. And the kids were aloud at a young age at 5 years old.

We saw many animals giraffes, buffalos, elephants, etc. but with the noise we made with the balloon the ran away (also to be expected). We didn't expect our ballooning pilot to be our tracker as it was more important to us, that he looks for the correct ballooning instead searching for the animals to see for the tourists. (I don't understand the bad reviews about that issue).

The breakfast was exactly as show in some images, typical english breakfast with beans, sausage, egg, etc.

It was a very nice experience, the landing was just perfect. The pilot landed us, that we were still in the same position as when we where flying.
He sat with us during breakfast and explained the history of the ballooning including the speciality about the champaign bottle to us then.
It was a wonderful experice to do with kids and yes, it was expensive. But it was also worth it.

It is not a driving safari to see the animals close by, it is a balloon safari.

1  Thank Petra C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

I arranged this at the last minute as a surprise for my brother and sister. Our driver was aware and did all he could to keep it a secret (greatly appreciated). We had an early start but got to experience a mini night safari and saw an elephant, lots of hyenas and smaller animals...pretty cool start to the day. Watching the moon go down and the sun creep up over the serengeti was something else. Safety is important so once the drill was up we were buckled into the baskets...what fun that was...16 of us, 4 in each section. We got to know our neighbours very well lol. The ride once we were in the air was smooth. Views were incredible, just wish we had seen more animals...landing was alot of fun albeit a tad bumpy. Then back in the cars to have a bush breakfast via a pit stop to see some lions wandering around. Breakfast was brilliant and we got chatting to the others in our basket. The loos with a view were quite the experience and not something il ever forget...then back in the cars, another mini safari and back to our drivers. All in all a great experience and 1 im glad we got to do.

1  Thank NehaP4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Car picks you up at your camp early, still dark, and drives you to the field where the balloons are being set up. Baskets hold 16 people in 4 sections so plenty of room and with security straps you always feel safe. Climbing in and out can be the most difficult job. They start you out with basket laying on it's side and get everyone secured before setting the basket upright. The flights is amazing going to various heights along the plains. Our pilot Shawn Glover from Canada was quite knowledgeable about the Serengeti and all it's animals. After a soft landing we where whisked away in the Safari vehicles to our Champagne breakfast. The radios announced a Cheeta sighting viewing stop was made on the way. At the breakfast sight there are tables set up for hand washing and two tents for "loo with a view." The breakfast was delicious and the champagne excellent quality. The price is high but well worth it for the experience.

1  Thank SandiePT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews