We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great camp with a unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Olduvai Camp

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Olduvai Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“A great camp with a unique experience”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2011

We stayed at Olduvai Camp in March 2011 for 3 nights. We were a little bit hesitate to stay here when we were planning the trip based on the older reviews, but decided to go for it as it came highly recommended from the company we booked with, African Travel Resource.

We would definitely recommend this camp to anyone who is looking for a unique experience and is comfortable with tented camps.

PROS
- very good food for dinner and breakfast...they had some awesome desserts too
- good tented accomodations, floor is concrete, bathroom is attached as part of the tent but is outside the zipped portion of tent....bathrooms are clean and well maintained.
- good hot shower
- opportunity to do safari/sunset walk with Maasi...this was very cool, and a really good chance to ask questions and chat (highly recommend)
- very friendly and helpful staff

CONS
- honestly, not much cons to speak of....one thing to note is that most of the staff of the place are Maasi people and as such, many do not speak english (or limited english), so we were really only able to chat with a few staff there about things.

TIPS
- if you do the safari/sunset walk with the Maasi guide you'll need to tip them afterwards...probably like $5-10
- bring a flashlight
- bring US cash if you can - good for tips and settling bill at end of stay

Room Tip: Rooms closer to #1 get you closer to the restaurant and lounge area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank stewbomber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

227 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    138
    72
    14
    3
    0
See reviews for
65
120
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (26)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Waunakee, WI
Level Contributor
19 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2011

We just returned from a week in Tanzania and felt Olduvai Camp was the best value of any place we stayed (we stayed in lodges, high end tents (Kirawira), and less nice tents). The tents are very nice (note that the bathrooms have been renovated in the past six months so older reviews are inaccurate for today), the food was above average, and the setting ws amazing. Combined with the Maasai interaction, we would definitely recommend this camp.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SteveinWI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Croxley Green, Hertfordshire, England
Level Contributor
25 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 21, 2011

Firstly let me say that I really loved my stay at Oldavi. So please read the review carefully. Right the negative first, the beds are really hard and the pillows are small and when the storms brew in the distance, the resulting wind makes the tents noisy at night. The tents are a little more basic than you may find elsewhere and the whole place has a bit of a rustic feel. The bathrooms are basic but clean. What you have to remember is that you are miles from anywhere and getting supplies in is not easy. Considering the logistics the staff do a fabulous job.

Positives; firstly if you are travelling in April then this place is right on the migration route and the game viewing was amazing. I had just left the breakfast when a massive heard of wildebeest passed by about 100 meters from the camp; we encountered Cheetah just a half a mile away. The food was very good and the staff invariably friendly. Dinner is enlivened by the Gennet cat trying to cadge bits of scraps.

The scenery around the camp is simply stunning and the view from your tent is amazing. The camp tents are situated around the outside of a Kopi (Granite outcrop) so every tent gets a great view. The Masai use the area to graze their cattle and I would urge you to visit this camp just to be able to interact with them. It is quite humbling to see how they live with so little in terms of possessions, but have so much in terms of community. The walk with the Masai was one of the highlights of our entire Safari.

So to sum up, if you are after luxury I would suggest you go elsewhere. However, if you are willing to forgive the odd lapse the Oldavi camp is set in an area of outstanding beauty. In April the camp gives you a really great view of the game, offers a chance to interact with another fascinating culture and provides a good standard of accommodation and food.

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Croxley-Hopper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
Level Contributor
146 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2011

i just came back from my Safari trip and our group all felt that this was the way to go.
For someone like me, a city person from NYC, I was a bit hesitant in staying in this "camp site" but in fact its is really quite comfortable and there is a built in side bathroom and toilet in the "tent". If all camping was like this, I wouldn't mind camping. Best way to describe it is "Luxury camping". Some of my colleagues also went with a guided walk and found that wonderful - actually ran into a giraffe. Highly recommended!

Room Tip: choose a room closer to 1- near to the restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2011
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NYRUNNING
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Yorkshire
Level Contributor
32 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2011

I think Olduvai is a place you either get or you don't, and luckily we did! This is a great little camp and offers a unique experience to interact with the massai. The tents are comfortable rather than luxury and the plumbed in bathrooms provide less of a bush experience than at some other camps. However, it should be remembered that this is reflected in the price - less than half that of some of the other camps we stayed.

The food at the camp is wholesome - for example sandwich / pizza / muffin / banana in the packed lunch and roast chicken for dinner.

We stayed 2 nights at the camp and at this time of the year had expected the surrounding area to be green, with the migration somewhere nearby. Unfortunately, there had been no rain for nearly a month so it was somewhat barren. We did a full day game drive up to Ndutu and I would recommend staying a single night at Olduvai, with more time up there to avoid having to retrace your steps.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Skyflyer099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 19, 2011

This is a tented accomodation, which is what i was after. The first night we stayed in a place called Bashy Rift, which was Gorgeous, but maybe a few too many creature comforts for the experience i wanted. Olduvai was perfect. It had a great feel to it, tents were a good standard, food was ok, and people were nice (Remember to have $1 notes, as you cannot carry your luggage anywhere without offending, and if your minimum is $5, it adds up believe me).

What really struck me was the ability to go and watch the sunset with the local Maasai Tribe, and more exciting go on a 5 mile walk to the Olduvai gorge, where we walked past a herd of Giraffe and even babboons, which when not in the safari truck is magical.

This was my second favourite accommodation (My wifes favourite), my favourite was Ronjo Camp in the Serengeti. Which was even more basic and had animals such as Hyena outside our tent, which added to excitement to me.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank D-Man_London
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2011

We stayed at Oldavai camp for 1 night during our honeymoon. We booked through ATR, who we would highly recommend and gave a fair description of the camp. After reading some of the reviews I visited the camp with some trepidation as to what standard of accommodation we would find. This is by no means a luxury camp, having said that the location is unique and the area had a wild desolate beauty in August. The staff are friendly and there is an authentic feel to the camp. The food is simply and tasty, we weren’t ill.

On arrival we were greeted by the staff and taken to the bar for a welcome drink which is a lovely area to relax. This was much needed after the long bumpy dusty journey to the camp. It was a short walk to our tent. At night this is not lit so take a torch. The tents are built on a wooden platform at ground level so you have an area of wooden decking for having a drink and enjoying the view. The tents were simply furnished but clean with a comfortable bed. There were no insects in the tent. The bathroom was clean and had a rustic charm with a fully pumped in toilet and good hot shower. The shower in our tent was plumped in so there was no problem with water pressure or limited water supply. The bathroom was accessed by unzipping the back of the tent and was a separate area with stone walls and a thatched roof. This did mean that any creep crawlies could access this area and we did have an encounter with a particularly large spider. I am not a fan of spiders and 2 Massai guides came to my rescue. Once they identified it as non-poisonous they would have been quite happy to leave it in the shower and I had to convince them that this was not an option! I would highly recommend leaving the tent door zipped shut between the main tent and bathroom!
I highly recommend going on the sunset safari. You are accompanied by a Massai guide to a nearby rock kopje where you can watch the sunset over the desert and watch the Massai herding their goats. It’s so peaceful and is one of my lasting memories of Africa.

I would recommend staying at Oldavai camp as it breaks up the long drive between the Ngorongoro Crater and the Serengeti. I am very glad we stayed at Oldavai but I think one night is sufficient. It was a beautiful area and the camp has a real ‘Out of Africa’ feel. We also stayed at Mawe Ninga, Plantation Lodge, Serengeti Serena Lodge and Pongwe Beach and Breezes Beach Club on Zanzibar.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank SarahLondon_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
28.3 mi away
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
Neptune Ngorongoro Luxury Lodge
#1 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
5.0 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
17.3 mi away
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
Lemala Ndutu Tented Camp
#26 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
52.0 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#15 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
21.2 mi away
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
Lake Ndutu Luxury Tented Lodge
#10 of 37 in Ngorongoro Conservation Area
4.5 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
81.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
46.5 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 161 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Olduvai Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Olduvai Camp

Property: Olduvai Camp
Address: Ngorongoro Conservation Area (Nca), Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #24 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Olduvai Camp has only 17 tents, built around a big kopje. His location in the heart of the NCA is ideal for treks, especially along the Olduvai gorges. Every tent has a good comfort: big beds (doubles or twins) with quality bedding, pillows, covers etc...Necessary furniture, terrace with safari chairs, bathroom inside the structure (WC, hot shower with running water, small sink). The camp is eco-friendly, using solar panels (for lights, water heating etc.), Recycling garbage, water saving etc. Olduvai Camp is a must not to be missed if you like to experience an unforgettable overnight in the bush, between the famous Ngorongoro crater and the endless plains of Serengeti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Olduvai Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing