We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Nearby Hotels
Ikoma Safari Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$206
$195
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$273
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Serengeti Acacia Camps(Serengeti National Park)(Great Value!)
$390
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti(Serengeti National Park)
$1,441
$1,397
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Lobo Wildlife Lodge(Serengeti National Park)
Ikoma Wildcamp(Serengeti National Park)
No availability for your dates from our partners
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Breakfast included
  • Restaurant
Siringit Serengeti Camp(Serengeti National Park)
Kisura Sirengeti Tented Camp(Serengeti National Park)
bedfinder
View Deal
Reviews (109)
Filter reviews
109 results
Traveler rating
102
6
1
0
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
102
6
1
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfaru farulodge managersmall gymprivate reservestyle furniturehollywood moviethree nightstented campopen land roversgame drivesair conditionerour waiteranywhere in the worldrobert redfordafrican safarisouth africaoutdoor shower
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
75 - 80 of 109 reviews
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Signita Sabora Tented Camp was absolutely perfect! My husband and I, not only stayed here but also got married while we were here!

The wedding was absolutely amazing and beautiful, we literally could not have asked for anything more! Wilson and Colleen had us send over the appropriate paperwork and took care of everything else for us. We arrived that morning and Wilson let us know that they would serve us lunch at 12:30 then we would have a few hours to get ready and arrive for the ceremony! Simply amazing! Every detail was taken care of to absolute perfection!

The lodge itself is absolutely gorgeous. The tented accommodations are the most luxurious place we have ever stayed. Gorgeous spacious rooms, large deck, beautiful bathroom, very private outdoor shower, where you can watch the baboons play and the zebra and wildebeest graze while showering!

All the meals were great, easily as good as many high-rated NYC restaurants. Excellent wine parings! Nightly campfires were a great place to unwind before a meal. The game drives were a lot of fun and Martin was a pleasure to spend time with. Our butler Samwuel took care of our every need and the entire staff at Sabora was fantastic! I could go on all day...

Truly Heaven on Earth! Thank you Singita Sabora Tented Camp for the most incredible stay and perfect wedding! We look forward to returning and celebrating our anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meredith422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

It was such an honor to host you at Singita Sabora especially at such an important time of your life. We indeed count ourselves lucky and wish you all the best in your new found happiness. You will forever remain part of the large Sabora family. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2012

see my other review at Faru for service levels and overall experience - sabora was an amazing experience as you are right in the bush - we had zebra come right up outside of our tent during the day. the tent isn't as comfortable as the faru lodge (it gets pretty hot during the day) but if you want the experience of being in the bush without giving up any luxuriousness or comforts then this is the right place for you. overall a fantastic property and Singita overall has the finest lodges in the world

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpaulberkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My friend, my daughter and I visited Sabora Tented Camp on June 30th for three nights. Having stayed previously in a Singita lodge in South Africa, I had high expectations of their Tanzania camp. We stayed in the family tent which consists of two lavish, separate one bedroom tents which are connected by a third tent which is a living room of sorts. This tent setup was the most luxurious tented accommodation that I can imagine. The furnishings were antique classic safari style. The beds were extremely comfortable and the mosquito netting enclosing the beds could have been very romantic had I been with my husband instead of my daughter. Nonetheless, it was superb! Our butler Moses was kind, amazingly capable and present just the right amount of time. Our guide Francis was kind, worked hard to show us amazing wildlife and everything we asked of him. We visited the Sasakwa Lodge, also managed by Singita and located in the same area near the Grumetti River and while it was beautiful and very luxurious, I would not trade my tent out on the plains for the lodge experience. The tented camp was truly unique. We listened to Wildebeests making their honking noise just outside our tents all night long and we all loved that. The Zebras were right at our decks and camping out on the tennis courts. The food and drinks were fantastic and if it wasn't on the menu, they made it for us anyway. We stayed at two other luxury safari lodges, one in Kenya in the Masai Mara and another in the northern Serengeti which I will review separately. I will say that I wouldn't hesitate to visit both countries over a 12 day trip. But this camp was our last stop and it was surely the highlight. Our flights between camps were very pleasant and easy. The game drives from Sabora were terrific. We saw everything we hoped to see including many baby elephants, lion cubs, nursing zebras, and cheetah cubs which are my favorite. We saw some grisly scenes as well which involved the expected feasting on wildebeests and gazelles by lions, cheetahs, hyena and many vultures. Since this is a private concession, so the guides communicate well with one another and convey where the action is taking place. This was truly the most beautiful place I have ever been.

Room Tip: If you have three or more people traveling together and you stay in separate tents, you cannot walk unaccompanied between tents after dark. The Family tent connects two one bedroom tents and the one living room tent all on an above ground walkway that you can use without being accompanied by a security person at night.
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancijoporten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Price is fair, excellent service, comfortable & chic tent, our safari guide ( Ray ) was very knowledgeable, park conservation is amazing, food incredible.
The park is a private game area so they are allowed only 4 cars per day, allowing a better game view.
We had our own butler, every service was provided with excellence. Manager Wilson, stuff, butler, trackers all are on top of their games.
They had packed lunches and cocktails for us during the long safari hours, the guide parked in the middle of the Serengeti while we watched the wildebeest migration.
One night we had cocktails around a bonfire while there was African drums and dance.
They made our stay very pleasant and unforgettable, we felt at home away from home, everything there was perfect and it felt very VIP.
I wish to go back every year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Sabora Tented Camp in June 2012. Our first impression is stunning as the property seems to appear from nowhere. It stipulates the sense of Africa in Bygonne era.

Our guide is very knowledgeable and always tried his best to take us to the best spots. The camp provided dedicated staffs for us who took care of us as if we are kids. Foods and Beverages although were relatively less luxurious compared with Sasakwa Lodge but it was still amazing having high-end restaurant quality in such a remote area.

The plain game is totally different experiences. The scenery is one of a kind. Images of large herds of Zebra and Topi, Elephants walked in a row, Lions prepared for a hunt -- all in the plain which seems to be endless, are really unique and unlike safaris in other places.

During our last game drive here, we had ring-side seats for the migration and had our sundowner at Sun set and it was really amazing experiences.

In a good day, you may have Zebras and Thompson Gazelle as guests walking in front of your tent!!

Only drawbacks would be the fact that we need to seal our tent carefully -- otherwise, you will have surprising guests such as lizards (but they are not harmful) :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews