We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolute perfection!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 13, 2012

Signita Sabora Tented Camp was absolutely perfect! My husband and I, not only stayed here but also got married while we were here!

The wedding was absolutely amazing and beautiful, we literally could not have asked for anything more! Wilson and Colleen had us send over the appropriate paperwork and took care of everything else for us. We arrived that morning and Wilson let us know that they would serve us lunch at 12:30 then we would have a few hours to get ready and arrive for the ceremony! Simply amazing! Every detail was taken care of to absolute perfection!

The lodge itself is absolutely gorgeous. The tented accommodations are the most luxurious place we have ever stayed. Gorgeous spacious rooms, large deck, beautiful bathroom, very private outdoor shower, where you can watch the baboons play and the zebra and wildebeest graze while showering!

All the meals were great, easily as good as many high-rated NYC restaurants. Excellent wine parings! Nightly campfires were a great place to unwind before a meal. The game drives were a lot of fun and Martin was a pleasure to spend time with. Our butler Samwuel took care of our every need and the entire staff at Sabora was fantastic! I could go on all day...

Truly Heaven on Earth! Thank you Singita Sabora Tented Camp for the most incredible stay and perfect wedding! We look forward to returning and celebrating our anniversaries in the future!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank meredith422
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilson O, Manager at Singita Sabora Tented Camp, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2012

It was such an honor to host you at Singita Sabora especially at such an important time of your life. We indeed count ourselves lucky and wish you all the best in your new found happiness. You will forever remain part of the large Sabora family. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (105)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

72 - 78 of 105 reviews

Reviewed August 2, 2012

see my other review at Faru for service levels and overall experience - sabora was an amazing experience as you are right in the bush - we had zebra come right up outside of our tent during the day. the tent isn't as comfortable as the faru lodge (it gets pretty hot during the day) but if you want the experience of being in the bush without giving up any luxuriousness or comforts then this is the right place for you. overall a fantastic property and Singita overall has the finest lodges in the world

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mpaulberkley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 20, 2012

My friend, my daughter and I visited Sabora Tented Camp on June 30th for three nights. Having stayed previously in a Singita lodge in South Africa, I had high expectations of their Tanzania camp. We stayed in the family tent which consists of two lavish, separate one bedroom tents which are connected by a third tent which is a living room of sorts. This tent setup was the most luxurious tented accommodation that I can imagine. The furnishings were antique classic safari style. The beds were extremely comfortable and the mosquito netting enclosing the beds could have been very romantic had I been with my husband instead of my daughter. Nonetheless, it was superb! Our butler Moses was kind, amazingly capable and present just the right amount of time. Our guide Francis was kind, worked hard to show us amazing wildlife and everything we asked of him. We visited the Sasakwa Lodge, also managed by Singita and located in the same area near the Grumetti River and while it was beautiful and very luxurious, I would not trade my tent out on the plains for the lodge experience. The tented camp was truly unique. We listened to Wildebeests making their honking noise just outside our tents all night long and we all loved that. The Zebras were right at our decks and camping out on the tennis courts. The food and drinks were fantastic and if it wasn't on the menu, they made it for us anyway. We stayed at two other luxury safari lodges, one in Kenya in the Masai Mara and another in the northern Serengeti which I will review separately. I will say that I wouldn't hesitate to visit both countries over a 12 day trip. But this camp was our last stop and it was surely the highlight. Our flights between camps were very pleasant and easy. The game drives from Sabora were terrific. We saw everything we hoped to see including many baby elephants, lion cubs, nursing zebras, and cheetah cubs which are my favorite. We saw some grisly scenes as well which involved the expected feasting on wildebeests and gazelles by lions, cheetahs, hyena and many vultures. Since this is a private concession, so the guides communicate well with one another and convey where the action is taking place. This was truly the most beautiful place I have ever been.

Room Tip: If you have three or more people traveling together and you stay in separate tents, you cannot walk...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank nancijoporten
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 18, 2012

Price is fair, excellent service, comfortable & chic tent, our safari guide ( Ray ) was very knowledgeable, park conservation is amazing, food incredible.
The park is a private game area so they are allowed only 4 cars per day, allowing a better game view.
We had our own butler, every service was provided with excellence. Manager Wilson, stuff, butler, trackers all are on top of their games.
They had packed lunches and cocktails for us during the long safari hours, the guide parked in the middle of the Serengeti while we watched the wildebeest migration.
One night we had cocktails around a bonfire while there was African drums and dance.
They made our stay very pleasant and unforgettable, we felt at home away from home, everything there was perfect and it felt very VIP.
I wish to go back every year.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ingrid Rheinlan... G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 7, 2012

We spent 2 nights at Sabora Tented Camp in June 2012. Our first impression is stunning as the property seems to appear from nowhere. It stipulates the sense of Africa in Bygonne era.

Our guide is very knowledgeable and always tried his best to take us to the best spots. The camp provided dedicated staffs for us who took care of us as if we are kids. Foods and Beverages although were relatively less luxurious compared with Sasakwa Lodge but it was still amazing having high-end restaurant quality in such a remote area.

The plain game is totally different experiences. The scenery is one of a kind. Images of large herds of Zebra and Topi, Elephants walked in a row, Lions prepared for a hunt -- all in the plain which seems to be endless, are really unique and unlike safaris in other places.

During our last game drive here, we had ring-side seats for the migration and had our sundowner at Sun set and it was really amazing experiences.

In a good day, you may have Zebras and Thompson Gazelle as guests walking in front of your tent!!

Only drawbacks would be the fact that we need to seal our tent carefully -- otherwise, you will have surprising guests such as lizards (but they are not harmful) :)

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Yoda72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 24, 2012

Having spent a night at sister lodge, Faru Faru, we went on to have two nights at Sabora Tented Camp. It really was the 'Out of Africa' experience with the most luxurious accommodation, restaurant and lounge but what makes is so spectacular is it's setting and it is right out on the middle of a vast plain so you really get make the most of being in amongst the game as they come right through the camp. The service and food was excellent and special thanks to our butler Martin and the Asst. Manager Sidiki who was so very accommodating. I would highly recommend this to anyone wanting the true safari experience.

Room Tip: All the rooms are in amazing positions.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IntrepidMe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2012

we went to tanzania on safari and stayed at the wonderful sabora tented camp in the grumeti reserve ,serengeti.
you are actually in tents but no luxury is spared!separate bathroom,outside rainshower,veranda overlooking the flat plains of the serengeti-wonderful!
2 wonderful game drives daily seeing many of the big/small 5 with our own personal and superb guide adas.we relaxed on our veranda or had a swim in the afternoon,although you can ride horses,go to the gym etc.
in the evening we enjoyed pre-prandials with other guests in front of the fire and then were served excellent food in great opulence!the head waiter ,moses,is so charming and wanted for nothing , drinking excellent wines and spirits.wilson the manager made all go smoothly.

we would definitely go back nick and susan manchester

  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Alice D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
65.6 mi away
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
Sanctuary Kusini, Serengeti
#38 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
149 reviews
30.0 mi away
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
One Nature Nyaruswiga Serengeti
#46 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
23 reviews
26.8 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
915 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.6 mi away
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tent...
#42 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
123 reviews
44.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
327 reviews
12.3 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sabora Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sabora Tented Camp

Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $872 - $3,175 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Singita Sabora Tented Camp 5*
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Orbitz and South African Hotels so you can book your Singita Sabora Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sabora Tented Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing