We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“COME "SNORT" AND SLEEP TO THE LULLABY OF HIPPOS"”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
MUMBAI
Level Contributor
104 reviews
95 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“COME "SNORT" AND SLEEP TO THE LULLABY OF HIPPOS"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2010

This "And Beyond" tented camp is by the River Grumeti which is home to hippos who grunt, snort and frolic all day right in front of you!! Their noise could get to light sleepers at night. At times they came and sat out on the banks of the river and we could watch them from the raised platform of the camp sit out. Meals in the sit out were delightful as there were a plethora of wild visitors. We spotted herds of Impalas, Babboons, Wildebeests, Warthhogs (besides hippos) on the other side of the river as they came to graze or drink water or simply pass by!! The tents are large & spacious with window openings through which we saw a variety of small birds and animals. The staff is very friendly, gracious and extremely efficient. The camp also organizes trips to Lake Victoria and hot air balloon rides (a bit steep) over the spectacular plains of Serengeti, besides the regular jeep safaris. A hippo stood outside our tent for a full 10 minutes and we had to wait with our escort for it to leave before we could get in !!!! Our daughter fell in love with our ranger, Killian, who was amazing with her and even taught her a Tanzanian song besides fulfilling her curosity about the wildlife we encountered. We were very well taken care of and loved our stay at Grumeti.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    16
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
33
60
6
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Korean first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Long Beach, CA
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at Grumeti Camp at the end of a 2 week safari in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. We loved the location of the camp on the river as well as the design and feel of the camp. It was relaxing and the staff was gracious. We loved sitting in the lounge and patio facing the river with the hippos in view. And the birds were sensational. We used the small round pool each day - it is beautifully designed and also has a view of the river and hippos. The water was heated and lovely. This camp also uses outdoor dining settings with lanterns and gorgeous lighting. Our tent was very nice with a great bed and shower.
We appreciated the manager and all the staff.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ROBLongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northbrook, Illinois
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 20, 2009

Grumeti made an excellent contrast to &Beyond's Klein Campa as it is in a totally different area and there is an enormous hippo pod right in front of the camp. Various animales especially dik-dik and other animales came into into the camp at all hours. The level of guiding was excellent.The food was also very good. The tents were comfortable but somewhat cramped. The service was excellent as well.I saw lots of antelope,crocodiles.colobus monkeys,lions eating a warhog,duiker,and in the dark bushbabies. I loved hearing the hippos and other animales at night!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Africanman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
18 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Grumeti River Camp for 2 nights. It was nice, but I found it odd that there was no privacy between you sitting on the toilet (inside your tent) and the outside, which was situated right near the main pathway. I mentioned this to the manager and his response was that 'this is the bush'. My thoughts that 'the bush' would have been far more private as I would have chosen a bush that was not right next to a walkway in plain view of the neighbours!! My husband spent some time making a make-shift curtain for the toilet as there was no other way to use it in private. A bit odd given the price! Other than that, we had a nice stay here. The game viewing was fairly good, though nothing compared to Klein's. That said, I suppose you come to Grumeti to see the hippos - and that we did! For the price however, we peobably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank KrystalSaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamstown, Massachusetts
Level Contributor
86 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 104 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 2, 2008

We arrived at Grumeti River Camp with the very high expectations that accompany the visit to any CCAfrica (now &Beyond) properties and, as usual, our expectations were met or exceeded. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Joseph, the camp’s assistant director who oversaw the very pleasant course of our stay and seemed to have a reservoir of patience and kindness with my several requests to borrow his internet connection to keep up with the presidential campaign.

Grumeti possesses the style and feel and quality that one expects from CCA properties, but it is also possessed of a family of hippos lounging daily in the river that runs in front of the reception/social area and the lawn where breakfast is served. The hippos remain in the water all day, dozing, playing, rolling over, yawning and generally putting on a non-stop show, with usual hippo noises as accompaniment. Returning from a game drive, it was great fun to sit with a drink and watch these guys for the rest of the afternoon.

Of course, these are the same hippos that take to the land at evening, making the same noises and keeping some guests awake (as mentioned in earlier reviews). We actually enjoyed the nocturnal entertainment, but if it’s a problem, you may want to adjust with Ambien or earplugs – or go somewhere else.

But if you chose the latter, you will miss some extraordinary game viewing and a staff that epitomizes CCA’s dedication to making their guests feel cared for and appreciated.

Our “butler” Richard, in a totally unobtrusive way, seemed to be everywhere, with a welcoming smile on his face and a tray of something delicious to offer. By providing a one-on-one consistent and attentive relationship like that, CCA effectively makes its guests feel at home and comfortable. And no one does it better than Richard.

That commitment to relationship was carried through with our “tentkeeper” Siadi, who did an extraordinary job keeping our temporary home clean and comfortable. We never returned without finding a note of some sort from him, including one we brought home with us. In Swahili it read “Lala Kama Gogo” and included the translation “Sleep like a log.” A nice personal touch.

Unlike other safari venues, the region around the Grumeti River is not really susceptible to “tracking” to locate animals. Instead, there is reliance on the knowledge and skill of the ranger about the environment and the habits and nature of the animals. He/she must be able to anticipate where animals might be in light of the season, the rainfall, the availability of food, etc. It’s not enough to look at footprints in the dirt. Our guide Noel possessed all of that knowledge and experience, and we were able to see the “usual” fare of elephant, giraffe, crocs, etc, but also several lion and the elusive Black and White Colobus. Much to my wife’s delight, he also spotted 85 different variety of birds in our two days together. At spent a few minutes with each of them. Next time, she gets her own vehicle!

“Luxury tent” always struck me as an oxymoron. But this is as close to one as you can get. I’m no camper, but were it not for the canvas sides and the outdoor shower (which was great fun, by the way) and the animal noises at night, it really didn’t seem like camping. Which I guess is the point.

In summary, I can recommend this property – and this experience – without reservation. We used CCA to go to South Africa in 2000 and returned to them for this, our second trip, to Africa. As before, everything they do – and everyone who does it – is “beyond” what one would expect. And they are a good, decent company in dealing with their employees and the communities they share.

  • Stayed October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney
Level Contributor
22 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 2, 2008

I stayed at Grumeti for two nights last month as part of a quick CC Africa tour of Tanzania and Kenya. The service and food were everything you would expect from CC Africa, but I thought the lodge and rooms were a little dated and needed refreshing.

The location is great for safari - the airstrip is next to the camp and you dine overlooking a pool full of hippos. The layout of the camp is well thought out - giving a range of dining locations, all of them pleasant. Food was very good and seemed to keep coming at you every hour or so!

The rooms are private and though they didn't have much of a view the wildlife had a habit of coming to you, rather than you needing to look out for it! Monkeys got into my tent twice - they didn't touch anything other than the bowls of sweets that are left for you (which seem like an unnecessary temptation as the last thing you need here is more food in your rooms!).

Everything was comfortable in the room but quite tired. The outdoor shower is a nice idea when it has a view - but this one didn't and there wasn't an indoor shower option. Given it was very cold in the mornings that meant avoiding a shower before the morning game drive as you would have to step outside in the cold. As and when they refurb it I hope they add indoor showers as well.

The game experience was good, and the guide enthusiastic and professional (and refreshingly, for the first time in my experience of African safaris, female), but you aren't allowed to go off road which limits the experience. We actually ventured off at one point to see a lion eating a kill but got caught by the rangers and fined US$100!!

Timing of the visit here is key. If you can get here for the migration you will presumably have a huge volume of wildlife to enjoy. When I was there (late July) the migration had already passed through and it felt like we had arrived at the party a bit late. Good sightings were few and far between so (as I have commented in other safari reviews on this site) if you are only going for the animals I think you should look to stay in a private concession where you are allowed to off-road without getting fined.

  • Liked — Good location, food and service
  • Disliked — Everything was a little tired and needs refreshing
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Beard3894
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2008

We stayed 2 nights in Grumeti River Camp. We landed on the small landing strip nearby the camp. The Range Rover was waiting for us with cool drinks and then brought us to the camp, which consists of about 10 tents. The tent was just great: large bed, in-tent shower and toilet and terrace in front of the tent. During the early mornings and late afternoons/evenings we had game drives in luxury open vehicles, just the two of us with a ranger. During the game drive you stop for breakfast or late afternoon snack. This is so fantastic: they set you a table somewhere in a safe spot and serve you food and drinks. Back in the camp all food and drinks are included. You go to the open lobby and meet the other guests for drinks before dinner. And also dinner is great. I did not expect them to have all this luxury in the middle of the Serengeti. You walk back to your tent, accompanied by a Masai. At night you'll hear all the animals around you. We had mating lions next to our tent at night. That was a bit scary I must admit: they made a lot of noise. Also the hippo's came out of their pool at night to graze next to our tent.
We had a really great and impressive time here with good and caring staff.

  • Liked — Almost everythong was perfect: location, game drives, tent, food
  • Disliked — -
  • Stayed October 2004, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Edoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
25.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#65 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 78 reviews
15.1 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 414 reviews
31.8 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#45 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
57.5 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
48.5 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
62.2 mi away
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
#6 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 472 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp

Property: andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
Address: Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Grumeti River Camp)
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #33 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The playful andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp lies right in the path of the annual Great Migration of wildebeest and zebra. This area is also home to exceptional year-round resident wildlife. The spacious and delightfully colourful tents are shaded by tall evergreen trees and, each night, the calls of hippo provide a nightly serenade. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Grumeti River Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing