We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved the Hippos!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 12, 2014

The staff is welcoming, the food is delicious and plentiful, and the surroundings are amazing! The camp is well staffed with exceptional employees. Camp dinners are around a fire in a very festive area. The game drives allow you to see just about every mammal you want to see & the drivers work to show you what it is that you are most interested in. Thanks Moses!

Room Tip: The people who work at the camp are warm, friendly and dedicated to your comfort & safety. Not a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Deborah O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (124)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 124 reviews

Reviewed June 10, 2014

This was our first stop of three camps. When we arrived we were greeted with a welcome song and then drinks. They did everything they could to make our stay amazing.

We went with our 17 year old daughter. It was her graduation present so it was all for her. She didn't feel comfortable in her own tent. So they had her bed in our tent. They are so accommodating. When you think of a tent you can not image this tent. You forget you are out in the middle of nowhere when you are inside the tent. Well that is until you hear the hippo and other animal noises. The bed is extremely big and super comfortable. At night it is quite noisy. I loved it. One night I kept telling my husband a hippo was by our front door. In the morning outside our door was some bushes and you could see where a baby hippo had bedded down for the night. AMAZING!

My husband got sick in the middle of the night and our butler Rueben checked on him when my daughter and I was on our game and made sure he was feeling better. I have never had a butler before. He was amazing. He made sure everything on our stay was perfect.

Our guide Qambrali made sure we saw all the animals we wanted. We went out on two game drives a day. The sundowners we had as the sun was setting words can not explain the peace and the shear beauty that surrounded us.

Every time you came back from breakfast your tent was cleaned. I don't know how Juma cleaned it so fast and perfect. Actually every time you left your tent when you came back it was cleaned again. The clothes were picked up in the morning and brought back when you were on your afternoon game drive. Pack light the laundry service is amazing.

They all celebrated my daughter's graduation. One night we came back from our game drive late and Qambarali was acting strange. It was dark, and then light were where they shouldn't be. We drove up to a special dinner in the bush. The whole camp came to the party. The food as always was superb. After dessert there was dancing and singing. Then we saw a cake and a sparkler on it. They surprised my daughter with it for her special time. I was shocked, I didn't know that was going to happen. They smeared frosting on her forehead and she had to cut the cake for everyone. Before this I thought nothing they could have done would have made our first trip to Africa anymore special. Boy I was wrong. For them to go out of their way to celebrate my daughter's accomplishments was the icing on the cake.

I wouldn't dream of coming on a safari without being at a& Beyond Lodge. I wish I could rate them higher.

Room Tip: Every tent is great!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank unowhup
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 26, 2014

This was our second stay at an &beyond lodge on our honeymoon and it did not disappoint. Located next to a hippo pool on the Grumeti river the location was superb. The room was very nice with an outdoor shower and a massive bed with a view out onto the bank where the hippos grazed. The rooms are noisy at night due to the proximity of the hippos but this only added to its charm! Our room was kept spotless by our house keeper Peter K and our butler John did an amazing job keeping us fed and watered! The food at the camp like all the &beyond lodges we have stayed in was superb. The game around the lodge was impressive and varied, we also saw the tail end of the migration while we there which was also very special. Picking up on other comments, there are bugs but this can only be expected due to where the camp is located and insect repellant and insect killer is provided. All in all a very pleasant stay!

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Guy M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We have stayed at this camp three times as well as other locations in the Serengeti, and we can attest to the fact that andBeyond's Grumeti camp is one of the best in the Serengeti and should be rated much higher than it is. We like this place so much that we hesitate to publicly recommend in the same way we do to our friends, but that's a little selfish, here we are. This is more of a camp for safari aficionados than once in a lifetime safari-goers, and the location in the Western corridor is remote but very special, as is the service, food, safari vehicles, and the excellent guides (especially Waziri). We greatly look forward to our next visit.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SherAlex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2014

We stayed here for two nights during the second week of December 2013 and were one of two couples in camp during our stay. We were expecting the migration to be on the eastern side of the park but large herds were actually here in the western corridor. The staff was great. The rooms were well-maintained but could use an update, especially given that Singita's Sabora camp is not far away and has a similar rack rate in high season when the migration is supposed to be around (late June /early July). Our rate at this time was substantially lower. We asked for a room right on the water (#10 I think) and hippos were walking by the tent all night. We were surprised by a hippo bounding out of the bush on our way back to the tent one evening but our escort made sure it ran the other way. The food was great, especially the pizzas. Our guide Wazieri was very experienced and patient. We shared our vehicle with the two other people in camp, one of which had visited the camp 20 years earlier and the other who was on her very first safari. Everything was new to her so that added to the excitement of the game drives. There were plenty of predators about. As at Kleins camp, we never saw saw another vehicle during our game drives. This is a very good reason to visit the western corridor at this time of year, and the lack of other visitors reminded us of the privacy one has on game drives in Botswana's private concessions---at a much lower price.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marseus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2014

Staying at Grumeti was a memorable and hugely enjoyable experience.

Accommodations: superb. It's actually a stretch to call them tents -- they are large rooms covered by canvas, with a thatched roof above the canvas. Highly comfortable. We stayed in #9 precisely we wanted to be along the river and hear hippos day and night, and we were not disappointed.

Food: excellent, and they were very accommodating to our special requests.

Service: as good as the other aspects were, they especially shone in this department. People could not have been nicer. The managers, Donald and Joseph, were great. Our butler was the wonderful Aron, who "got" us and was happy to look after us. Get this: when my wife accidentally left a plastic mug in the tent when we were leaving, Aron actually drove miles down the road to catch up with us and deliver the mug, much to our amazement.

Game viewing: even though we were not there when the migration was around (which of course we knew would be the case), the wildlife was abundant and easily seen. Our driver was Benson, who was knowledgeable and capable. He was tireless in searching for some of the more elusive species, and patient about waiting while I took photographs and my wife painted. He knows every nook and cranny of the area.

Room Tip: #9 and #10 are along the river, which provides closer (and noisier) access to the hippos.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ralphhh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

andBeyond is fully committed to service over all aspects of accommodation, so expect (and receive) the highest standard of personalized, attentive service at Grumeti. Top marks for service in every aspect. You can tell the staff works tirelessly at satisfying your needs. The rooms could use a refurbishment in regards to furnishings, but they are still very comfortable. The overall experience, from dining to game-drives and nighttime BBQ's, is enthralling and enchanting.

As with any tented camp, expect nighttime animal noises. You can even hear lions roaring in the (not so far away) distance. However, this particular camp is located on the waterfront of a river that is absolutely crawling with hippos, and boy are they NOISY. Some people think this is a nuisance and a source of sleep deprivation: personally, I really enjoyed listening to their conversations and their laugh-like sounds. To be honest, I even missed it on my first night away from Grumeti.

The park itself offers every chance to spot all the Big Five (although the elusive and shy Leopard was a no-show) plus everything from Dikdiks to Elands, Black and White Colobus monkeys, all sorts of raptors, reptiles, and snakes to boot (we crossed paths with a Black Mamba). The rangers and guides are very knowledgeable and keen-eyed. If you tell them you want to spot so-and-so animal they WILL find it.

The infinity pool has a great view of the river, but it could use temperature control (it can get chilly). Watch out for thieving monkeys, and be prepared to endure tsetse flies on your game drives, especially around woodland areas.

Room Tip: Rooms 10, 9 and 7 have the best view of the river. They will tell you all rooms have a great view of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
80.2 mi away
andBeyond Klein's Camp
andBeyond Klein's Camp
#45 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
139 reviews
53.3 mi away
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
#22 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
228 reviews
31.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#67 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
90 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
152.4 mi away
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodg...
#7 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
205 reviews
54.2 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#9 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
291 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kirawira Serena Camp
Kirawira Serena Camp
#34 of 128 in Serengeti National Park
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Grumeti River Camp)
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 128 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $844 - $1,571 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The playful andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp lies right in the path of the annual Great Migration of wildebeest and zebra. This area is also home to exceptional year-round resident wildlife. The spacious and delightfully colourful tents are shaded by tall evergreen trees and, each night, the calls of hippo provide a nightly serenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grumeti River Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing