We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hippos, baboons, and crocs”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 6, 2011

Stayed here for two nights at the beginning of a 10 day safari. As with all the &Beyond lodges this one was amazing. The direct interaction with wildlife at the camp was incredible; Hippos splashing about in front of the lodge and then snorting past our tent at night, the occassional croc sighting, the resident Kingfisher who loved posing in the tree out front, and the vervet monkeys trying to steal things from outside our tent. Of the four &Beyond lodges we went (Serengeti, Manyara, Ngorongoro being the others), this was my favorite, particularly because it seemed so far from anyone or anything else. On several game drives we never passed a single other car. One night we had cocktails on top of a hill as the sun went down and there were no signs of people for as far as the eye could see, it was pretty amazing. I have nothing but good things to say about the camp as well. Pool area was great, where else can you cool off next to Hippos playing in a river? The food was quite good and the staff was very attentive and friendly. Our dinner in the Boma area was unforgetable.

Stayed: May 2011, traveled as a couple
8  Thank 3WeeksAYear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (123)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

104 - 110 of 123 reviews

Reviewed March 7, 2011

This fabulous lodge is not simply one of the many in the Serengeti. It is UNIQUE, both in its style but above all in its superb location along a byway of the Grumeti river. From the luxury tented accommodations, there is a full-time spectacle of river hippos. So often they came right up to the front of the tented rooms, offering quite an emotional and exciting experience.

The staff could not do enough to please, even surprising us with a torch lit dinner, just for us, out in the open spaces, with dance and song. We loved every aspect of this lodge - it is not like so many others which are so often too much the same.

The game viewing was magnificent, varied and leisurely - excursion options were excellent and fascinating, like the one to Lake Victoria, a village and a school.

We cannot recommend highly enough the Grumeti River Camp.

  • Stayed: February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank geniuslo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 22, 2010

This "And Beyond" tented camp is by the River Grumeti which is home to hippos who grunt, snort and frolic all day right in front of you!! Their noise could get to light sleepers at night. At times they came and sat out on the banks of the river and we could watch them from the raised platform of the camp sit out. Meals in the sit out were delightful as there were a plethora of wild visitors. We spotted herds of Impalas, Babboons, Wildebeests, Warthhogs (besides hippos) on the other side of the river as they came to graze or drink water or simply pass by!! The tents are large & spacious with window openings through which we saw a variety of small birds and animals. The staff is very friendly, gracious and extremely efficient. The camp also organizes trips to Lake Victoria and hot air balloon rides (a bit steep) over the spectacular plains of Serengeti, besides the regular jeep safaris. A hippo stood outside our tent for a full 10 minutes and we had to wait with our escort for it to leave before we could get in !!!! Our daughter fell in love with our ranger, Killian, who was amazing with her and even taught her a Tanzanian song besides fulfilling her curosity about the wildlife we encountered. We were very well taken care of and loved our stay at Grumeti.

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank ANJUGOELA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 20, 2010

We stayed at Grumeti Camp at the end of a 2 week safari in the Serengeti and Ngorongoro Crater. We loved the location of the camp on the river as well as the design and feel of the camp. It was relaxing and the staff was gracious. We loved sitting in the lounge and patio facing the river with the hippos in view. And the birds were sensational. We used the small round pool each day - it is beautifully designed and also has a view of the river and hippos. The water was heated and lovely. This camp also uses outdoor dining settings with lanterns and gorgeous lighting. Our tent was very nice with a great bed and shower.
We appreciated the manager and all the staff.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ROBLongBeach_CA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2009

Grumeti made an excellent contrast to &Beyond's Klein Campa as it is in a totally different area and there is an enormous hippo pod right in front of the camp. Various animales especially dik-dik and other animales came into into the camp at all hours. The level of guiding was excellent.The food was also very good. The tents were comfortable but somewhat cramped. The service was excellent as well.I saw lots of antelope,crocodiles.colobus monkeys,lions eating a warhog,duiker,and in the dark bushbabies. I loved hearing the hippos and other animales at night!

  • Stayed: August 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Africanman_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 5, 2009

My husband and I stayed at Grumeti River Camp for 2 nights. It was nice, but I found it odd that there was no privacy between you sitting on the toilet (inside your tent) and the outside, which was situated right near the main pathway. I mentioned this to the manager and his response was that 'this is the bush'. My thoughts that 'the bush' would have been far more private as I would have chosen a bush that was not right next to a walkway in plain view of the neighbours!! My husband spent some time making a make-shift curtain for the toilet as there was no other way to use it in private. A bit odd given the price! Other than that, we had a nice stay here. The game viewing was fairly good, though nothing compared to Klein's. That said, I suppose you come to Grumeti to see the hippos - and that we did! For the price however, we peobably wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed: July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank KrystalSaudiArabia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 2, 2008

We arrived at Grumeti River Camp with the very high expectations that accompany the visit to any CCAfrica (now &Beyond) properties and, as usual, our expectations were met or exceeded. We were greeted with a warm welcome by Joseph, the camp’s assistant director who oversaw the very pleasant course of our stay and seemed to have a reservoir of patience and kindness with my several requests to borrow his internet connection to keep up with the presidential campaign.

Grumeti possesses the style and feel and quality that one expects from CCA properties, but it is also possessed of a family of hippos lounging daily in the river that runs in front of the reception/social area and the lawn where breakfast is served. The hippos remain in the water all day, dozing, playing, rolling over, yawning and generally putting on a non-stop show, with usual hippo noises as accompaniment. Returning from a game drive, it was great fun to sit with a drink and watch these guys for the rest of the afternoon.

Of course, these are the same hippos that take to the land at evening, making the same noises and keeping some guests awake (as mentioned in earlier reviews). We actually enjoyed the nocturnal entertainment, but if it’s a problem, you may want to adjust with Ambien or earplugs – or go somewhere else.

But if you chose the latter, you will miss some extraordinary game viewing and a staff that epitomizes CCA’s dedication to making their guests feel cared for and appreciated.

Our “butler” Richard, in a totally unobtrusive way, seemed to be everywhere, with a welcoming smile on his face and a tray of something delicious to offer. By providing a one-on-one consistent and attentive relationship like that, CCA effectively makes its guests feel at home and comfortable. And no one does it better than Richard.

That commitment to relationship was carried through with our “tentkeeper” Siadi, who did an extraordinary job keeping our temporary home clean and comfortable. We never returned without finding a note of some sort from him, including one we brought home with us. In Swahili it read “Lala Kama Gogo” and included the translation “Sleep like a log.” A nice personal touch.

Unlike other safari venues, the region around the Grumeti River is not really susceptible to “tracking” to locate animals. Instead, there is reliance on the knowledge and skill of the ranger about the environment and the habits and nature of the animals. He/she must be able to anticipate where animals might be in light of the season, the rainfall, the availability of food, etc. It’s not enough to look at footprints in the dirt. Our guide Noel possessed all of that knowledge and experience, and we were able to see the “usual” fare of elephant, giraffe, crocs, etc, but also several lion and the elusive Black and White Colobus. Much to my wife’s delight, he also spotted 85 different variety of birds in our two days together. At spent a few minutes with each of them. Next time, she gets her own vehicle!

“Luxury tent” always struck me as an oxymoron. But this is as close to one as you can get. I’m no camper, but were it not for the canvas sides and the outdoor shower (which was great fun, by the way) and the animal noises at night, it really didn’t seem like camping. Which I guess is the point.

In summary, I can recommend this property – and this experience – without reservation. We used CCA to go to South Africa in 2000 and returned to them for this, our second trip, to Africa. As before, everything they do – and everyone who does it – is “beyond” what one would expect. And they are a good, decent company in dealing with their employees and the communities they share.

  • Stayed: October 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Hamilton6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Serengeti National Park
31.6 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
42.1 mi away
andBeyond Klein's Camp
andBeyond Klein's Camp
#45 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
137 reviews
53.3 mi away
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
andBeyond Serengeti Under Canvas
#24 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
221 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
37.5 mi away
Soroi Serengeti Lodge
Soroi Serengeti Lodge
#49 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
142 reviews
0 mi away
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodge
andBeyond Lake Manyara Tree Lodg...
#7 of 43 in Lake Manyara National Park
202 reviews
19.6 mi away
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
#48 of 123 in Serengeti National Park
106 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp

Address: Serengeti, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania (Formerly Grumeti River Camp)
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 123 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $873 - $2,343 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp 4*
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The playful andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp lies right in the path of the annual Great Migration of wildebeest and zebra. This area is also home to exceptional year-round resident wildlife. The spacious and delightfully colourful tents are shaded by tall evergreen trees and, each night, the calls of hippo provide a nightly serenade. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with South African Hotels so you can book your andBeyond Grumeti Serengeti Tented Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grumeti River Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing