We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wow !”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Singita Sasakwa Lodge
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed April 16, 2013

We spent our honeymoon at Sasakwa Lodge ! I was a bit concerned about us going in April as this is midway through the rainy season. However, it can not be more appropriate to say that Sasakwa (the Serengeti) has something unique to offer at every time of the year. We went not expecting to see much game but were very surprised with the sheer abundance and scale of the Serengeti. We caught a mating leopard couple fighting over their kill on the first day and the sightings over the next 7 days were equally unforgettable. I cannot really do justice in words to the level of service dedications and if there were more green circles to highlight Sasakwa would get them all ! Our private butler prepared meals in various exotic private locations surprising us each night ! The private game viewing vehicle is new and has comfortable seats (not benches) and as he drives are longer at this time of year it was good to have a comfortable seat. Joe was our guide and I would highly recommend him ! His tracking skills are legendary and overall knowledge of the hidden tracks of the Serengeti Grumeti reserve are awesome. Each room is straight out of a catalogue! Truly unforgettable. We also had high tea at Serengeti House (also part of Singita) a short drive from Sasakwa and this is much the same style as Sasakwa but dedicated to a more private experience and ideal for families or couples travelling with one or two other couples. We enjoyed the spa and although the property has a tennis court and gym we did not use these facilities. We will definitely be back !!

Room Tip: We stayed in 'Markham' cottage which has a fantastic 'cliff edge' view from your hea...
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank James3337337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
There are newer reviews for Singita Sasakwa Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 104 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2013

I found myself in the lap of luxury as I spent my first two nights at Sasakwa Lodge which is crafted in the style of an Edwardian Manor House. Settled on the great Sasakwa Hill, Sasakwa’s panoramic scope stretches over the moody plains offering up some of the most spectacular views imaginable. With no doors in the main lodge and a clear view of the endless expanse, setting foot in the lodge is like stepping out onto the Serengeti plains themselves.
Looking over that view was one of those things that really will stay with me forever - If you are going to the Grumeti Reserve this is the Singita Lodge that you want to stay at! The rest are amazing but this one is life changing!

Room Tip: Room 10!!!
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ryan10099
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Wow - really don`t know where to start it was all so wonderful. The ``lodge`` itself is very beautiful and huge - room after room, beautifully furnished and with a wonderful feel and atmosphere. The view from the deck and grassy area immediately below the deck where you eat most meals is breath taking - huge seemingly unlimited view out over the Serengeti. Just off the grassy area below the desk is a very large and inviting swimming pool.

The so called cottages are really little houses. They are very private and have the same amazing views as the lodge. They comprise several rooms or areas. There is an entry hall with a fully stocked fridge and a power room. Then there is a large and very comfortable sitting room (with TV) seating area, desk etc. that leads out to a large patio. Next is a large comfortable bedroom with an amazingly comfortable bed, seating area and desk. It too leads out to the outdoor patio area. then there is a huge dressing room with tons of built in storage (seriously, you could stay a month) and a makeup table and then the bathroom which features a huge double vanity, private w.c., walk in shower and large separate soaker tub and wonderful thick soft towels.

The outdoor patio area is very large, partly covered, partly open. There is a separate outdoor eating area and a grassy area that leads down to a wonderful eternity edge plunge pool that you stand in and gaze out at the amazing view. it also seems to double as a watering hole for a troupe of rather shy baboons!

The food was wonderful - every meal and snack was wonderful - the quick bite before the early morning game drive; the late breakfast; the high tea; the dinners and snacks in between were all great. The chef is remarkably talented.

You will feel pampered like you have never been pampered before. You will have assigned to you someone who looks after all your food needs - always there to wait on you and make sure that from a food standpoint you have exactly what you want and need. That person quickly figures out what you like and don`t like (he had on ice, pretty much at all times, my preferred type of wine). Management are constantly checking in with you to ensure you have everything you need and want. Laundry done perfectly every day and returned in less than 24 hours.

One evening, we returned from our late game drive quite late and we were very tired and commented accordingly when we arrived back - the director immediately suggested that we have dinner in our room. Our butler came with us back to our cottage so that he could take our order and arrange so that we would have dinner in our room just about the time we had finished our showers! Truly amazing service all around.

Our last night, our butler had set up dinner in the very pretty pergola next to the lodge - lit with lovely gas lamps. After a wonderful meal, we arrived back at our cottage to be greeted by a line of rose petals that led through the living room and bedroom and into the bathroom where there were candles lit, more rose petals, a steaming bath and champagne on ice!

Finally, last but by no means least, the guides. Our guide had been working the three Singita Grimeti Reserve camps for about six years. We were amazed and delighted at his knowledge of the area, the birdlife, the animals and the flora as well. He found the mother cheetah with her son, lions galore, a black rhino and countless other wonderful animal experiences.

The professional approach the entire staff takes with looking after the guests is quite remarkable. There is an attention to detail that is truly remarkable. Yes, this is very very expensive but if you want the absolute best of everything, amazing views, fabulous accommodation, wonderful food and terrific wildlife experiences in the Serengeti, this is the place to go. And yes, you are on a hill mostly above where the animals are (compare to, say, the wonderful Mambo Camp in Botswana where there are pretty much always a variety of animals in and around the camp) but there were certainly some animals always in camp (a pair of dik dik's one day, a large troupe of shy baboons always and of course the very naughty monkeys) and the trade off is the view.

What they have created here is a six star hotel that happens to be in the Serengeti and happens to offer wonderful game drives. Oh yeah, and it has a large well equipped gym as well.

Room Tip: there are no bad rooms - they are all fabulous cottages.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SpikeVancouver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 24, 2012

Luxury in the Serengeti. Very Safe & Clean Accomodation that employs mostly well trained locals which is nice because it contributes to the local economy. Good Food, personlaized service. Our Guide was excellent.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank H_Bakr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 13, 2012

This is a wonderful, luxury lodge. Guides are GREAT! Food, wine, and cottages were spectacular.

Internet, Free calls to US, laundry service all were included. This may well be the finest place i ever stayed. Just fabulous.

Room Tip: The cottages are great. You can't get a bad one.
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MrLeeHarvey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2012

This lodge is over the top in luxury; beautiful sculptures, wonderful food, elegant, huge villas with sitting rooms and powder rooms We found the food very good and the service excellent. It doesn't feel much like a safari camp but rather a luxury hotel. Our guide was simply the best we have had - very professional and knowledgeable. It was an outstanding experience.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Marcie L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2012

We flew into the private airstrip at the Lodge and were welcomed by our guide for the three days we would be at this excellent property. The greeting was what we had come to expect from the top level lodges but the actual property was nothing like the others. The architecture was great, the furnishings were great and the overall quality was readily apparent.
The rooms are beautifully done free standing cottages with great views form the soaking pool and patio. A personal waiter/butler as well as a guide were assigned to us. He was always available to take care of any request. Our guide was knowledgeable and fun. The management staff mingled often but unobtrusively to insure all was well. And it was WELL!
The food was consistently good and the wine was okay. There is an upgraded wine cellar that we selected from on our final night. Brush up on So African wines if you want to know more about what you are drinking.
There are two tennis courts and we played one evening with the very good equipment they have in the tennis facility. The spa services were very good too.
We loved this place and would go back in an instant Five starts under rates.

Room Tip: There are only ten but we prefer rooms closer to the lodge (rooms 5 and 6).
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Mike T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
6.1 mi away
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
Singita Sabora Tented Camp
#47 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
104 reviews
7.9 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#59 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
88 reviews
8.1 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
208 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
31.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
450 reviews
14.5 mi away
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
Mapito Tented Camp Serengeti
#49 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
125 reviews
15.3 mi away
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented Lodge
Kilima Valley Serengeti Tented L...
#58 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Singita Sasakwa Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Singita Sasakwa Lodge

Address: Grumeti Reserves, Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Phone Number:
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #46 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $3,110 - $4,235 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Built in the style of a stately Edwardian manor house, Singita Sasakwa Lodge is positioned on Sasakwa Hill with sweeping views over the plains of the Serengeti. The lodge's grand entrance leads to elegant rooms of generous proportions, wide wraparound verandas and rolling lawns. The traditional glamour of Venetian mirrors, cut-glass crystal, silver candelabras and antiques are combined with animal hides, local artefacts and tribal cushions. The lodge has nine cottages with one, two or three bedrooms, all with private infinity pools, and also a four-bedroom villa. From elegant afternoon teas on the veranda to wine-paired dinners on the lawn, every experience is memorable and overflowing with special details. A spa, gym and tennis courts provide a multitude of activities in between game drives. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz so you can book your Singita Sasakwa Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Singita Sasakwa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing