We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A hotel more than a lodge”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
lancashire
Level 6 Contributor
128 reviews
75 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
“A hotel more than a lodge”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

On paper this has it all.
Facilities match that of a city hotel.Gym,I.T room,large resturaunt with live entertainment,large bar etc but do you really want that in the Serengeti?.
The location and views are perfect.
Despite all this I was left with a feeling that it had something missing and was too big and impersonal.
The rooms were adequate but not remarkable and you could hear fellow guests through walls and ceilings.
Staff were efficient.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LancashireIan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    111
    96
    58
    38
See reviews for
57
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
166 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 150 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2013

This is the lodge that I stayed at for 2 nights while in the Serengeti. This is truly worth seeing as boulders are in the restaurant and lounge and have paintings of animals on them.
There are wonderful carvings of animals on the woodwork around the lodge as well as hyrax rule they are everywhere. There is a viewing platform that looks over the Serengeti again built around the rocks.
This lodge actually has tea making facilities something lacking in a lot of lodges but power is controlled by generator so you need to time for charging of batteries and phone.AS usual complimentary water is provided.
From the dining area you can observe the balloon as it passes by .

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank KeenTraveller12372
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hilversum, The Netherlands
Level 5 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 20, 2013

Stayed at Seronera lodge end of October. Lodge well situated in the park with abundance of game even in close proximity of lodge. Perfect starting point for gamedrives. Lodge is nicely built and also inside a lot of attention was paid to interior. Good service and excellent buffet. Staff well trained.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Farfar2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed November 8, 2013

Unlike many other high-end safari lodges, this group of hotels (including the Lake Manyara Hotel (has racist policies that made our stay there very uncomfortable. We are a white American family and we ended up with an empty extra room bc our kids wanted to stay altogether in their own room. The extra room was non-refundable so we offered it our safari guide, rather than leave it empty-but-paid-for. The manager refused to allow this and he would not budge, even when we pointed out that we paid for the room so we should be allowed our guest/friend to stay. The manager assured us that the guides'/drivers' quarters were lovely so we asked our friend to take photographs. The pictures revealed abominable conditions: filthy, crowded and with overflowing toilets. That is where he stayed, while our luxurious extra room remained empty. (We did try to leave and stay elsewhere but everything was booked). The management also discouraged us form having our guide dine with us -- they eventually allowed it, but charged us a ridiculous price in trying to dissuade us form doing so. He was the only African man in the dining room, so I guess their tactics are normally successful. Other high-end lodges we stayed in did not have these same segregated policies -- many encourage guides and families to dine together and provide the same or similar lodging. The racist policies here and at the Lake Manyara Hotel truly ruined this portion of our magical trip. Our school-age children were also horrified.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank KKH5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Serengeti National Park hotels

Surprise, Arizona
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed November 3, 2013

After reading some of the TripAdvisor reviews I thought, "well, I can stand anything for just one night". I did not need to be concerned at all. Rooms were on the smallish side (same as the Lobo Wildlife Lodge) but all you really need to do here is sleep. The location was great, nestled deep in the Serengeti and perfect to be able to start a sunrise safari and catch the animals before the heat of the day set in. True, there are limited hours of electricity and hot water, but ample time before turning in for the evening. We left very early before sunrise and returned to the Lodge for breakfast and for a recharge of camera batteries. Breakfast was very good...not gourmet, but what the heck...you're on a safari. Same way with dinner. staff was very attentive and were there to get more of anything you wanted.

The setting was spectacular, but with one caveat for anyone having problems navigating stairs. There are tons of them leading to all the common areas and rooms. There are no elevators. Staff was always available to take luggage to and from the rooms. If you want to pay an arm and leg for beautiful sleeping accommodations, go to the Four Seasons. For comfort and location, stay here. Be sure to heed the staff advice about keeping your doors and windows closed. Monkeys are everywhere and they will happily steal anything of yours they can have access to. Highly recommend this lodge.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank luvtotravel047
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fredericton, Canada
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2013

We only stopped here for lunch but I was impressed by how the designer built the property around the rocks. The interior of the hotel lobby and the walk to the restaurant and the restaurant and bar area are beautiful. The meal was very well laid out and the food presentation was very appealing, food taste was good but after eating buffets for the past 2 weeks it was getting boring. The views from the restaurant were breath taking and well worth the trip.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Wayne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Brunswick, New Jersey
Level 4 Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed October 23, 2013

I'm reviewing all of the places we stayed on our safari and so far each time I've read the previous reviews and I want to shake people and tell them to remove their heads from whatever dark place they've shoved it. Look, this is a wildlife lodge, do you know what that means? It means you're not at a 5-star hotel in some huge city where they will waste your money on pillow mints, slippers, robes, and other worthless "amenities." The only thing about Seronera Wildlife Lodge that I would mention in the bad category is that they have some facilities that are under construction (gym, gift shop) but we certainly didn't miss them and neither should you! Food was pretty good (great for the location), the staff was nice, and everything was clean. We had some minor confusion about when to pay for drinks we got with dinner but it was quickly sorted out. One reviewer complained about having to climb up to the dining area for dinner because of the architecture -- too that I say awesome! If you're going on a safari and you stay at a wildlife lodge, you should be enjoying things like that. If not, stick to another kind of trip where they have elevators and escalators!

We stayed here as a first stop on our way up to Lobo Wildlife Lodge. The location is prime for game drives, but keep in mind that since this area is easier to get to, you're going to have more crowds and vehicles. At times it felt a little like a zoo (especially when someone spots a leopard or cheetah and tells everyone else on the radio!). I would definitely stay here again if I had the opportunity. I actually mentioned to someone that it would be a cool place to get married.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ryan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
34.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#10 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
440 reviews
13.9 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#46 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
31 reviews
8.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
862 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#17 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
123 reviews
18.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
165 reviews
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#37 of 117 in Serengeti National Park
55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seronera Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Property: Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #92 of 117 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seronera Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seronera Wildlife Lodge is artfully constructed round a rocky outcrop from glass and wood elements, perfectly blending into its surrounding; next to the lodge, several waterholes attract day and night the most amazing animals, providing a unique opportunity for a close encounter with the so called Big Five. The Lodge is only 5 minutes far from the departing point of the hot - air balloon safaris, which offer a thrilling birds-eye wildlife perspective of the vast plains of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Seronera Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seronera Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing