We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“OK” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“OK”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 20, 2013

We actually stayed in a tented camp which is a sattelite of the Lodge itself. The place was well located and we liked the night sounds from the surrounding wildlife.

We were disappointed by the attitude of the camp manager and found that we had to ask for a reduction(successful as it happened) in the price he wanted to charge us for drinks (beer etc.). This is unnecessary, all that is needed is a printed price list in the bar area.
We were very pleased with the service especially from the staff.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy2508
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ashish s, Group General Manager at Seronera Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review, July 24, 2013
Dear valued guest..

Thanks for your review ..

Its seems there is small confusion in regards to property as we are well structured lodge of 80 rooms as guest have mentioned that it is camp site., moreover we are not selling rooms direct from unit it is actually routed through our central reservation Arusha...

With regards.

Ashish.k. and hotels and lodges team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    111
    96
    58
    37
See reviews for
56
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Dublin
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 6, 2013

This is one of the most amazing locations for a Hotel I have ever seen.
The pool area features a fantastic view of the Serengeti and a large raised observation area if you wanted to really take everything in and at one stage there was a herd of gazelles and a giraffe within metres of my bedroom window!

We (my parents and I) received a warm welcome from the staff who did whatever they could to make us as comfortable as possible. They were competent and friendly - I think they made the place what it is.

The rooms were beautifully presented - to be honest if you're out all day on safari, all you need is a hot shower and a comfortable bed - the bed was certainly comfortable and falling asleep to the sound of nocturnal animals in pitch darkness was just amazing.
If you, or somebody you are travelling with has trouble walking (both of my parents do) I would strongly advise that you tell them well in advance and request a room as close as possible to the dining room/ reception area - there is a lot of walking if you don't.

There was quite obviously a talented team of chefs because the food was magnificent - though not served very hot which was a shame.

Being in the middle of nowhere, the place is powered by a generator that is switched off during certain hours, when people are expected to be out on safari or asleep. This is perfectly understandable but can make it a little challenging if you need to get up in the middle of the night for something - I hope they will consider my suggestion that they provide a torch or (rechargeable) battery operated lamp at the bedside but in the meantime, I strongly suggest you bring you own.

The biggest disappointment was the total lack of hot water - again hot water is only available at certain times of the day but this did not seem to happen during our visit. (I was advised that the boiler had developed a unique problem that they had not encountered before - just unfortunate, I guess). The staff tried to compensate by cleaning off a bucket and filling it with hot water for me - unfortunately the bucket was still dirty and smelled strongly of paint, so I opted for the cold shower, but I very much appreciated the gesture - they tried!
There was also one evening (after my broken shower had apparently been fixed) where the pathetic trickle of water ceased completely and I had to don a towel and discretely nip into my parents' room to rinse off the soap - not the most dignified encounter but at least I had another room to go to - not always an option.

Overall though I think I would recommend it for the location alone - just be prepared for a few imperfections!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank anonymous706
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kearney, Nebraska, United States
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 29, 2013

Our room at the Seronera Wildlife lodge was small, but adequate. The bed was comfortable. The walls are very thin, so sound can be heard from the other rooms and outside. The setting more than made up for the small accommodations and thin walls. The hotel is built to incorporate the surrounding kopjes into the lodge and restaurant, which makes for a charming atmosphere. The pool area was very nice and there is an observation tower to spot wildlife on the Serengeti or watch the sunrise or sunset. The staff was friendly and welcoming. The food was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Kim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KampalaAshsharma, Group General Manager Operations at Seronera Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review, July 5, 2013
Dear Valued Guest Greetings!!

We are delighted to read your positive review about our lodge and thank you so much for your stay. We are pleased you enjoyed the lodge, our service & our hospitality. Positive comments like yours encourage to build our staff morale. We look forward to welcome you again soon at our seronera wild life lodge.

with regards.

Ashish.k.sharma ( For and behalf of hotels and lodges T Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

Don't get scared off from the bad reviews, unless your expecting a 5 star NYC type Hilton in the Serengeti (which in case you should make your destination NYC and not the Serengeti).

The staff was very friendly, they had a professional chef on hand, the Lounge looked like a historic museum and the rooms were nice as well. Lets not forget the amazing overlook as well.

The room plumbing could use a bit of an upgrade, but easier said than done, considering your in Tanzania, in the Serengeti etc.

If your looking for a very good place to stay, which isn't too pricey, than this is the place.
Consider the historic, museum like Lounge as a bonus.

I was concerned about staying at the Hotels And Lodges properties, based on the bad reviews, but I had very good experiences in Lake Manyara, Ngorongoro, Seronera and Lobo .
To be fair, Seronera and Lobo could use better plumbing and more consistent hot water, but keep in mind you are staying in the Serengeti and not in NYC.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WildlifeNature
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
KampalaAshsharma, Manager at Seronera Wildlife Lodge, responded to this review, July 4, 2013
Thanks for the compliments and we shall try to upkeep the expectations moreover feel free to share your great ideas as we always welcome our valued clients feedbacks.... looking forward to see you soon ..

Awaiting your inputs in return if any ..

For and behalf of hotels and lodges tanzania ltd.

Kindest regards.

Ashish.k.Sharma.
Group General manager operations
Hotels and lodges tanzania ltd..
Email.grpmgrops@ hotelsandlodges-tanzania.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

if I knew the Swahili for "hotel of broken things", I would suggest that as the hotel slogan. We had two different rooms, showers did not work in either. Coffee machine in the room- broken. Ditto for the expresso machine in the bar. Amazing looking fitness room - closed. Internet cafe, also amazing looking - closed. Food tended to be scarce if you arrived at the tail end of lunch. staff were not particularly interested in any of these problems. On the plus side, we could see giraffes from our room, and the design of the public areas -- especially the bar, dining room, and pool -- is beautiful.

Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Serengeti National Park hotels

Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

This hotel is an example of what happens with poor management. The hotel grounds and the structure is very nice: it is build int huge boulders and has amazing views. However, it is dirty and has terrible customer service. There were cockroaches in our room both days. (none of the other hotels in my 1 month stay in Tanzania had cockroaches). When we asked the staff to spray our rooms for the roaches, they said they would and didn't. There was a shortage of food at the buffet. It was from 7-9 pm and we got there at 8 pm and there was barely any food left. We asked the manager to make more and they basically said 'no' until we argued with them for 20 minutes and then they made french fries. We complained to our tour operators and the manager lied about our complaint. It was only until our tour operators threatened to not send future clients there, that they started providing better service.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mhenrysea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mechelen, Belgium
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2013

Great location on top of the kopjes and in the very center of Seronera. Nicely built swimming pool with a view. The reception is somewhat cool and the rooms are very (very) noisy and rather small. Friendly kitchen staff and a very tasty but spicy buffet. This is a big lodge (150 guests in high season) and you feel like a number. No internet, no shop (‘opening soon’, but that was also the case 2 years ago).

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BarbaV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#39 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kananga Special Tented Camp
Kananga Special Tented Camp
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
34.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#13 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
27.6 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seronera Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Property: Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seronera Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seronera Wildlife Lodge is artfully constructed round a rocky outcrop from glass and wood elements, perfectly blending into its surrounding; next to the lodge, several waterholes attract day and night the most amazing animals, providing a unique opportunity for a close encounter with the so called Big Five. The Lodge is only 5 minutes far from the departing point of the hot - air balloon safaris, which offer a thrilling birds-eye wildlife perspective of the vast plains of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seronera Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seronera Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing