We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Personal experience” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Lexington, Kentucky
Level Contributor
26 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Personal experience”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 10, 2013

I spent 4 fairly miserable days in this lodge. In the first room, no water for the shower...you could turn the faucet handle forever and not one drop would come out. Telephone didn't work, electrical outlets didn't work...moved to another room, telephone not working...third room, seemed okay but no hot water until 6:00PM (every day). Consequently, when returning from a game drive, I had to wash my hands in cold water, take a cold shower. Shower is overstated because there was basically a few trickles of water coming from the shower head.However, the WORST experience was how my guide and driver were disrespected! When management finally consented to allow these young men to take their meals with us, we were charged $80 per meal for our guide and driver. Never happened at any other lodge, camp or hotel. The accommodations for our guide and driver were totally inadequate. They were forced to find other lodging in order to shower and sleep. We were completely appalled by the way native Tanzanians were treated. The wood floors were full of loose boards....squeak,squeak,squeak with EVERY step. I recommend that if you plan a safari choose other lodging and make it clear to your safari company that you do not want to stay at the Seronera Wildlife Lodge or any of the lodges owned by this individual/company. I would highly recommend that you chose accommodations (when possible) owned and operated by native Tanzanians. Also would like to mention that when we were having our meals with our guide and driver, the manager came to the dining room and "glared" at us while we were eating. They (guide and driver) were the only native Tanzanian people in the dining room with the exception of the staff ....cleaning tables,etc.

Room Tip: Try to choose lodging that is owned by native Tanzanians. Do NOT choose Seronera Wildlife Lodge (th...
See more room tips
Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
Helpful?
3 Thank Wanda9425
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

362 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    60
    111
    96
    58
    37
See reviews for
56
152
19
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
The Netherlands
Level Contributor
54 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 73 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and liked our stay. We were very worried about coming since the other reviews on Trip Advisor are mostly very bad. Luckily it wasn’t like the reviews would want you to believe.
Rooms
The rooms are just fine, not big but you do not spent much time there anyway. You have a bed, desk and little sitting area and a bathroom. At night you can open the ventilation in the window and it will be nice and cool. There are mosquito nets in front of this window so the insects will be kept out. The floors do squeak so I would recommend you to ask for a room on the 1st floor as we did. For showering there is no pressure during the busy hours and we didn’t have any water one night between 6:30-7:30. So we showered after dinner and that was much better, lots of pressure and good temperature. After that we always showered after dinner. So we suggest you do the same and you will be fine. The rooms are a bit noisy especially if people pass by in the evening and are loud you can hear every word they say.
Food
The food was very nice, can’t complain about that. There was enough for everyone and lots of choice. Do come early since the big groups tent to take all the seats and there not enough chairs for all the guests to eat at once.
Staff
Most of the staff members are very friendly and will do their best to make your stay as comfortable as possible. The lady at the reception was very rude though and should be stationed somewhere else since she is clearly not suitable for the job. Luckily her collogue is very friendly and makes up for the rudeness.
Location
The hotel is built on the kopjes and has a wonderful view of the surrounding plains. These kopjes are the home of many hyraxes, beautiful agama lizards and several birds. You are in the middle of all the action and that is where you want to be. We saw lots of different animals like giraffe’s, gazelle, topi’s, elephants, hippo’s, lots of birds, lions and even several leopards!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chantalremi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
245 reviews
108 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 7, 2013

The Lodge is perfectly located for exploring the National Park and, as such, ideal. It is constructed around a massive kopje, inhabited by hyraxes and mongooses, and monkeys and baboons which means you can never open the windows. I did once, a crack, inorder to take a photograph and a vervet monkey was immediately trying to get it. The bar is huge, with mock rock paintings on the huge stones and the restaurant below it gives great views over the surrounding plains. The watchpoint behind the swimming pool does that too. The food was pretty average - it was a buffet, some things were excellent, others not so good, and the service adequate. Reception was not so good. Our room was directly above reception, quite small, with an adequate bathroom. It was off-putting to listen to the boards squeaking and the conversations of other guests as one used the bathroom which was alongside the walkway. It was worse when woken at 4.00 a.m. by loud-talking Americans wheeling their suitcases whilst on their way to their balloon flights - but you cannot blame the Lodge for inconsiderate people.
So, great location, adequate public areas, compact rooms but in need of a make-over.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms over reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Diomedia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2013

Been at this place 3 times in past 3 years. The quality keeps declining. Seems new manager from last two times is the problem. Buffets are terrible for what you pay to stay. Warmed over left overs of the day before. Very unappetizing in appearance & taste. Rooms are hot, old and the floors are very creaky. If you have to stay here get the upper floor. Customer service is poor. Not good for anyone with disabilities, all stairs, long walks. Great location, unique setting in the rocks but needs a major make over and new management. I won't stay there again.

Room Tip: Top floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank John8254
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Serengeti National Park hotels

Meerbusch, Germany
Level Contributor
107 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013 via mobile

Rooms very poor, service disatrous, hotel standard - the worst we have ever seen. They took advantage of our sitiation. We had to move out of a camp due to too many lions in front,of the tent. For two nights we payed 1100 us dollars. we would never have booked is lodge!!!!

Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank Petra1991
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shanghai, China
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2013

the wildlife located in the centre of Seronera with a great view. But the rooms are small and very old. The ventilation is not good and very hot in Feb. There is no nets and a lot of insects in the room. Thers is no balcony view in the room. Lunch box is below average. There is no coffee or tea maker in the room so you have to go all the way to the dining area for that wake up cup very much needed early morning or even the evening cup of tea. Guest rooms did not have fans.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank herbalsense
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
39 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2013

The location is great, its in the middle of Serengeti. It is built into the huge natural rocks of Serengeti. You can feel the respect to the nature in the architecture. The view from the observation desk is perfect. You can see the endless plains of Serengeti and the wild animals.There is also a swimming pool between the rocks. We arrive late at the hotel that's why we had no time to swim. The way to the restaurant from the rooms is a long way walk. We had dinner and breakfast at open buffet which was ok. The bar area is also quite nice, the room was nice also. It is really a big hotel. That's why they serve a lot of people at the same time, I mean you can come across lines at the buffet. If you enjoy staying at more cosy places this place is not good for you.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homemadetravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
5.7 mi away
Serengeti Heritage Camp
Serengeti Heritage Camp
#39 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 51 reviews
6.3 mi away
Kananga Special Tented Camp
Kananga Special Tented Camp
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
34.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.8 mi away
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
Lemala Ewanjan Tented Camp
#13 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 200 reviews
12.3 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#29 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
27.6 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seronera Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Property: Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #80 of 115 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3 star — Seronera Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seronera Wildlife Lodge is artfully constructed round a rocky outcrop from glass and wood elements, perfectly blending into its surrounding; next to the lodge, several waterholes attract day and night the most amazing animals, providing a unique opportunity for a close encounter with the so called Big Five. The Lodge is only 5 minutes far from the departing point of the hot - air balloon safaris, which offer a thrilling birds-eye wildlife perspective of the vast plains of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Seronera Wildlife Lodge reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Seronera Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing