We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Faded glory”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed November 30, 2012

A old lodge in a great location. The location is right in the center of Serengeti and its a great place. The hotel though is old and it shows off. The rooms are dark and small. AC was not working properly and check-in and check-out procedure was kind of chaotic. There was a lion living in the compound the following morning and as per the employees, that happens quite a lot. The lion was just lying on the second floor in front of two doors. Kind of scary but as I said, you are right in the middle of everything!

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank OnTheWay2Stay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

108 - 114 of 362 reviews

Reviewed November 18, 2012

This lodge is beautiful with very good views of the area. However, the rooms although very clean, are in an avarage condition with very noisy wood floors and the running water on the bathroom was so weak that was very difficult to take a shower. I reported it to the front desk and it was not fixed. Anyways, the food was the best from all the lodges that I stayed during my safari.. As most places around this area, the power and hot water are cut off at 12 PM to about 5:30 AM. There is not internet despite of what they claim and like somebody else mentioned, the fitness center has brand new machines but is not open for some unknown reason.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juan V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2012

My dad, husband and I stayed at this lodge during our safari in the Serengeti for 1 night. This is a beautiful lodge built between large rocks situated on a small hill in the middle of the Serengeti. It is beautiful and offers great views of the area. There are monkey's and baboons that wander around the lookout area which adds to the atmosphere. There is a beautiful pool, a nice bar/lounge and great buffet restaurant with good food. The floors in the room are a little loud and "creaky" and the mattress a little hard, otherwise a great place to stay!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cjgm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2012

This lodge has an incredible look to it as the main building is built into and around giant granite boulders. They are literally inside and outside the building as some may reach 30 feet tall. The overlook is amazing where you can see a large water hole with hippos sounding off all night. The rooms have extremely loud squeaky wood floors. As most places are, the power and hot water are cut off at midnight and come back at 5am. The rooms are average on space and the food is good. There is a weight room with exercise equipment that has looked like it is ready to open for the last year, but for some reason they have not yet opened it. One key thing is that you HAVE to know where the migration is located for the time that you want to book. This makes a big diference in the price as well as how far in advance you have to make your reservations. I highly recommend Fortes Car Hire out of Mwanza for any Safari needs. I have the names, numbers and email for them if you need any further info. You can contact me at rfrasier@cornerstonenashville.org if you need any additional info on them.

Room Tip: They are all comparable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Robby F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the Seronera wildlife lodge for 2 nights while we were on safari.
The biggest highlight from this lodge is that the room did not have a mosquito net for the bed and we had a few mosquitoes buzzing around us at night! This is very surprising given that the hotel and the grounds are quite impressive and the hotel is expensive. It was very clean and in certain areas it seemed, renovated.

The food at the hotel was very good. They served a breakfast and a dinner buffet, where you had to make a reservation for both. We found the hotel very busy so it was slightly noisy at night and in the morning.

The service was excellent. They served popcorn and nuts during happy hour – their bar/lounge was really nice. But we found the drinks more expensive than a few of the other places we had stayed at.

The best part of the hotel is that you are in the middle of the Serengeti so you cannot get closer to nature. The one night we saw a hippo outside of our room! And the view from the main hotel lodge was amazing.

Despite the uniqueness of the hotel and how impressive it was, I would not recommend it based solely on the fact that they did not have a mosquito net for the bed. You can probably get the same experience at another lodge in the Serengeti that has mosquito nets.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SaraKOttawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

This place has an amazing location and so much potential, but if fails to deliver.
We stayed here two nights with our other safari nigths in tents.. the tent option was far better!! The place may have been great in about 1982, but the furnishing and fixtures haven't been attended to since. The first night we had a power black out - something one can expect when staying remote.. but the staff were rude and unhelpful in dealing with the situation. The candlight also added ambiance (a good thing) which in the morning (with the light) revealed filthy stained furnishings and i believe the same food recycled into the next meal.
Some other things that this place has / doesn't have include:
_rock hard beds
_a locked unusable gym
_squeaky floorboads
_bathrooms with echo bathroom noises onto the outside walkway
_missing shop
_missing computers from the internet cafe
The highlight from here is watching sunset from the upper deck and the pool area is nice in the afternoon.
I recommend save your money and stay elsewhere!

Room Tip: Choose a back room upstairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank 461Dave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2012

This lodge is huge with a lot of rooms. We reserved 6 rooms for 12 people. It was a good stay.

* All meals are included in our package. Decent selections. They serve omelet in the morning and fried pasta at night. Drinks are charged separately.
*The local band plays drums and sings every night. We enjoyed.
* Water and electronic are not served 24 hours. They have strict hours in the morning and night. I can understand that is to save the energy but felt inconvenient.
* The rooms were clean and basic. The water worked weird. Sometime it only had hot water, sometime it only had cold. 4 rooms had the same problems.
* There is no internet. They said it has been broken for a while.
* Location is good, inside the park. Convenient for games.
* The view around pool area is fantastic. You can easily see antelopes and warthog.
* The stuff are friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank goccmm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bu...
#1 of 4 in Serengeti National Park
207 reviews
8.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
915 reviews
34.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#15 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
25.5 mi away
Grumeti Migration Camp
Grumeti Migration Camp
#64 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
89 reviews
16.6 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#7 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
496 reviews
30.3 mi away
Serengeti Simba Lodge
Serengeti Simba Lodge
#33 of 122 in Serengeti National Park
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seronera Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #104 of 122 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $200 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seronera Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seronera Wildlife Lodge is artfully constructed round a rocky outcrop from glass and wood elements, perfectly blending into its surrounding; next to the lodge, several waterholes attract day and night the most amazing animals, providing a unique opportunity for a close encounter with the so called Big Five. The Lodge is only 5 minutes far from the departing point of the hot - air balloon safaris, which offer a thrilling birds-eye wildlife perspective of the vast plains of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seronera Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing