We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent base for Serengeti experience”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Serengeti National Park
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Seronera Wildlife Lodge
Reviewed November 13, 2011

This lodge was a very pleasant suprise in view of some of the reviews on this site. As others have noted, it is very cleverly built to incorporate the rock outcrop into many of the public spaces and we enjoyed poking about the site and finding the various vantage points to look out across the Serengeti. My room was OK, certainly clean, although the bathroom lighting was poor (design rather than failue) and the food very acceptable. We did feel that the staff were not necessarily very content, although they were helpful and responsive, and we also heard rumblings of discontent over the conditions for the driver/guides. It should be noted that although internet access is quoted in the facilities, and there is a very nice room signposted as the Internet Cafe -there are no computers and no internet access. This isn't a problem but you shoud not plan on using it.. Considering that everything used in this lodge (including fuel for the generator and water) has to be brought in over the very rough Serengeti roads they do a really good job. We had gazelle outside the room, tree and rock hyrax all over the inner courtyard, monkeys on the roof, a maribou stork in a nearby tree and a hyena trotting past at breakfast.Overall this was a very good base for a magical first experience of the Serengeti.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank alegna_mahnrap
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (362)
There are newer reviews for Seronera Wildlife Lodge
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

155 - 161 of 362 reviews

Reviewed November 1, 2011

The location, along with the setting of the hotel in rocks/boulders, really do make it special. Its placed perfectly in the middle of the Serengeti, and the views from all areas of the hotel are spectacular. Especially from the pool and observation deck, where you can see wild animals throughout the day.

I read many complaints here about the service, but we never had an issue with it. The food was average, the dining rooms busy.

What we had a problem with was the rooms, and overall need of updating throughout the property. The rooms are basic, yes. You can hear your neighbors every cough and conversation, yes. But what really bothered us was the cleanliness. Our bathroom had a film of dirt over the mirror, and water stains in the toilet and shower. The bedroom was a little better, but still in major need of updating and a solid cleaning.

We stayed for 2 nights here. 1 of the nights we had 2 different wild hippo's outside of our ground floor room, so that was very cool. If they just put some love into this property, I think it could be great.

Room Tip: Stay in a ground floor room, facing the park, and there's a chance you'll see wild animals r...
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bean820
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 1, 2011

Stayed in this lodge for 3 nights in total. The rooms are all right, the food is very good. They treat the Guides pretty bad though which is a total let down, considering these safari companies are bringing big money in. The guides are not even allowed into the regular guests area and their over night stay is in some awful rooms with large holes in their mosquito tents, I mean talking about rasiscm of their own people, it is absolutely appaling.

We were only meant to stay for 2 nights, but Lobo wildlife lodge (in the same group of company) was overbooked and moved us here for another night. This was bad enough considering Lobo is on the north of Serengeti and not the south! Then we were put into a room with 2 single beds, no apologies. When I asked for a double room, we were moved to a room on the firt floor which had some rotten smell. When I asked to be moved to another room, they said they were overbooked. Another person was also complaining about some niosy drunk neighbours, and we ended up swapping with them.

All in all, the rooms are adequate, but the service isn't so much so, and they seem to be very dissorganised. There's a gym, an internet room, which is untouched. There's meant to be a boutique which is unopened. If you don't have any issues, the place is fine, but if there's anything slightly wrong, be prepared to be annoyed.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank heavenlynarayan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 28, 2011

Built into and around a kopje (outcrop of granite boulders) this lodge takes advantage of its unique location beautifully. The restaurant and bar areas feature the boulders prominently, and plenty of wildlife frequent the area - birds, hyraxes and ayama lizards on hotel grounds, and antelope of various species, warthogs, monkeys and a hippo all strolled past our room at various points (not to mention the elephants watching us hop into our truck as we went to leave).

However the rooms, while nice, have a number of irritating issues - the open air louvers from the bathroom let a lot of noise from passing guests in, the floorboards squeak like you won't believe, space can be cramped because of over-optimistic inclusion of furniture, and some people might find the hard beds problematic. We had no issues with food queues, but the place seemed quiet given the size (we travelled in the dry season, so crowds were probably down from its peak).

Overall the charming architecture and rock hyraxes would summon us back.

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dlanods
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 23, 2011

We encountered one big problem with this lodge that needs to be addressed - the accommodation and food for safari drivers. At most safari hotels, such as this one, your safari driver will stay (and eat) at the staff quarters of the hotel you stay at. During our stay, all the safari drivers at the Seronera Wildlife lodge became sick after being given poor quality food for dinner the night before. None of them slept during the night as they were stuck to the toilets. They were all understandably upset and struggled to do their jobs the next day. This is a big problem as not only is it inhumane to treat people as poorly as this, but it can affect your safari and endanger your lives if your driver gets sick. Something needs to be done by management, who needs to spend enough money on driver conditions. Until this is rectified I cannot recommend this place.

On a side note:
- food queues, especially at dinner, were painfully long and slow - the design of the buffet can be improved
- we found the rock hyraxes that people here complain about to be quite lovely (they are native animals, not rats)
- soundproofing of rooms is indeed a major problem
- lack of mosquito net was problematic
- exhange rate here (and all other Wildlife lodges it seems) was ridiculously bad - bring shillings for drinks!
- location is indeed excellent
- private Indian management does not seem to treat locals and staff well

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Commando_Cotman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2011

This is our 9th visit to Africa and 5th safari, so we have seen some other places to be able to make comparisons, and I must say that this lodge is very disappointing.
The only thing we have appreciated is the location with wonderful view over the plain and the architecture, well mixed with the big rocks outside.
Rooms are quite small, with cheap furnitures miles away from African atmosphere; there is no hair dryer in the room (even if a gentle lady at the Reception managed to bring us one after dinner) and the towels are weared out; above all the rooms are noisy and you hear every conversation of the people walking by the corridor: the parking of jeeps is right outside the rooms, so you hear their rumors everytime that somebody is arriving or going away. Poor bathroom amenities, so you'd better take everything from home.
The food is nothing special.
Despite of the advertising, there is no Internet or shop or gym: the rooms are sadly closed and the expensive training machines of Technogym lies unused and dusty: I don't think I would have trained after 8 hours safari, but I don't like false informations:
From the site:
"fully-equipped gymnasium, massage, Internet café" and "In-room facilities: 220/240V for shavers, safe, mini bar, telephone, tea/coffee-making facilities, hair dryer".
So, you'd better avoid this lodge and choose another!

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank susannaegiovanni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 11, 2011

We spent 1 night here (and 2 nights in 2 other lodges)


Summary
---------------
Despite the negatives, the hotel is clean, hot water, good bed.....and your in the middle of the Serengeti.....what more do you need?


Positives
-------------
The rooms were clean, hot water provided.

Rooms did NOT included mosquito net, fridge and hair dryer. Other lodges I stayed in did not have this

Antelopes outside the bedroom window grazing

Negatives
---------------
Reception Staff - bit moody

Floor boards in the creak...A LOT.

Lots of rat type animals all over the premises

Outside noise e.g. people walking past all enters the room.

Towels very shabby

Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
1  Thank junior_patel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
34.9 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#11 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
1.3 mi away
Serengeti Acacia Camps
Serengeti Acacia Camps
#18 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
145 reviews
8.4 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
Kisura Serengeti Mobile Camp
#48 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
37 reviews
13.9 mi away
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
Serengeti Mawe Tented Camp
#41 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
37 reviews
18.6 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#23 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
179 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Seronera Wildlife Lodge? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Seronera Wildlife Lodge

Address: Central Serengeti, Serengeti National Park 2633, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #100 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $200 - $230 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Seronera Wildlife Lodge 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seronera Wildlife Lodge is artfully constructed round a rocky outcrop from glass and wood elements, perfectly blending into its surrounding; next to the lodge, several waterholes attract day and night the most amazing animals, providing a unique opportunity for a close encounter with the so called Big Five. The Lodge is only 5 minutes far from the departing point of the hot - air balloon safaris, which offer a thrilling birds-eye wildlife perspective of the vast plains of the Serengeti. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Seronera Wildlife Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing