We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very Nice Staff, Good Alternative” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Cork
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Very Nice Staff, Good Alternative”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 12, 2013

If I had to say one thing I really liked about this camp, it was how nice people were there, from the moment I set my feet on reception, passing by the restaurant and even security and porters outside the tents. They would always greet with a big smile and would not be afraid of talking with you.

The place is beautiful, located just outside Serengeti National Park, and turns out by being a great option if you want to avoid the expensive acommodation inside the National Park itself. Tents are spacious and the beds were comfy. The bathroom looks great inside the tent. Our tent was very close to the restaurant. Judging from what other people said here, I guess we were lucky. If I recall well, our tent was number 19.

The restaurant is excellent and it's the only place where you can charge your batteries. It is traditionally decorated and the atmosphere at night is perfect, with a fire circle nearby where I sat drinking my coffee.The dinner was fantastic. In the next morning, the lunch box & buffet breakfast could be better, as it had little choice to pick from.

I heard a few people complaining about insect bites and during the night I could hear hyenas howling, which probably got me a bit tired on the afternoon of the next day. I don't really see a problem with this. I loved listening to the hyenas and wondering how close would they be. And these things happen in safaris. The only way to avoid it is not to travel at all. And if you take anti-histamines daily, insect bites will not bother you that much.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rui H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

199 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    53
    89
    34
    10
    13
See reviews for
53
80
7
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level Contributor
162 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2013

Let's start with the good : First the fantastic setting, allowing you to feel right in the middle of this wonderful nature. We spent as much time as we could on our seats, in front of our tent, just admiring the view. The room itself is pleasant and quite comfortable and the bathroom's got a cute style. The restaurant area is nicely decorated and the fire "circle" very enjoyable. The evening meals were correct, although as always with buffets, quantity tend to be more of a priority than gustatory quality. At last, the staff is very nice and friendly.
Then what did we enjoy less ? Our deepest disappointment was the showers. Tents are connected to a solar system which is a very good environmental commitment however, there is not enough hot water for every guest ! We were out of it on our 2nd day, as we had the bad idea to come back from our safari after the family of 5 in the tent next to ours (the only to be back in our area). No hot water in the morning either (and mornings are quite chilly in July). Breakfasts were very disappointing for continental breakfast eaters, no FRESH pastries or anything similar (just bread and dried out mini croissants)... at least elsewhere we had crepes !
Finally, a warning to people with walking problems, our tent was at the far end opposite the restaurant and it is VERY far. Expect to walk for a good 7mn to get there... don't forget anything !

Room Tip: Ask for a tent closer to the restaurant if you can't walk to long.
See more room tips
Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
3 Thank DomBea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helena Montana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 20, 2013

I have read some positive and some of the negative reviews here and I can't believe anyone could find fault. What a great spot in one of the wildest places left on earth. The tents are amazingly outfitted with comfortable beds, good mosquito nets and nice showers, enough running water and bottled water to brush your teeth if you are worried about consuming the tap water.

A great place to return to after a long day on the Serengetti.

The food was marvelous. Each night a four course African meal with great variety and truly wonderful flavor. I don't know how they do it, but they can make even the simplest meal taste special.

Then after dinner, you relax on your porch with a beer and watch the zebras and giraffes just a couple hundred yards away. But no worries, there are guards around the perimeter to be certain they don't get too friendly.

Things to keep in mind:

This is the Serengeti, not Sandals in St. Lucia, The Ritz Carleton in New York or Charring Cross Hotel in London (those are my WIFE'S preferred camping places).

1. if you want a really warm (not hot) shower, get up early.

2. yes crawly things live there, they were there before you. The management keeps out as many as possible, but some will visit you. Expect them.

3. if linens aren't washed as often or replaced as often as you would like, just ask and they'll change them gladly. Better yet, accept the fact that you a guest in a country where water is scarce and precious and they try hard not to waste it.

4. In Africa as in European Countries, you'll be served European portions at dinner, which means smaller than the heaping plates we like in America. If you want more, just ask.
5. When you are in Tanzania, you are on African time. It's different than our time. Enjoy experiencing a new culture with friendly, beautiful people. Don't worry, dinner will come, the driver will arrive and it'll all work out. Enjoy.

6. when they aren't too busy, talk to some of the staff, even if they don't speak much English. Most want to learn it, and knowing some Swahili will make your trip nicer. A few words in Swahili to a staff member or your driver will make them bend over backwards to help you.
7. MOST IMPORTANT when you take a safari, you have choices in your accommodations. Out tour operator offered three different levels of luxury. There are some very nice hotels out there. I only saw pictures online but they are pretty fancy. I was impressed just to have a tent with a concrete floor. Tent camps are intended to be rustic. If you want a nicer place, treat yourself, you're on vacation.


Maybe it's just that my son and I had just spent eight days getting to the top of Kilimanjaro, maybe I've read too much Hemingway or maybe it was the magic of the place itself, but I think if you want to really go to Africa, see the Serengeti, have a great safari and meet some beautiful people, this is a great choice of places to stay.

I look forward to going back.

Mike McG

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mickeymc40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nuremberg, Germany
Level Contributor
32 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2013

Our problems started when they were not able to find our reservation/payment. After a long waiting, we got a tent, which was not really ready to be used. The WC was as dirty as the public ones beside the road.

Even if the food is not bad, the restaurant gives a bad impression, since the tablecloths are not changed very often and not clean at all.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Claudia R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kokkedal, Denmark
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 25, 2013

We stayed two nights at Ikoma Bush Camp. This is really in the middle of nature with good tents (containing very large double beds and our private small gekko in the bathroom) spread out around the large thatched central hut. After dark you are escorted by armed guards on the pathways. After an excellent four course dinner in a candlelight atmosphere we sat around a campfire outside the hut and talked with two of the guards. At night we heard hyenas crying, apart from the great variety of birds and other unidentifiable sounds. The staff is very accomodating and helpful and we would not have minded another night or two - the more so, as on the 2nd day we had the place to ourselves. Low season at its best.

Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Michael C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
london
Level Contributor
44 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2013 via mobile

When we heard we were staying in tents on our safari my husband grimaced and i trembled .he has an inherited loathing of such accommodation having suffered from a father who insisted on taking him on long camping treks into the New Zealand bush . Luckily this place was glamping with four poster beds with nets with no holes . The best hot showers I had experienced in tazania quite remarkable in the middle of the dry Serengeti in a morrocan inspired polished concrete ensuite ! Yes ensuite to the tent . The food was remarkable in its adherence to an English colonial menu produced hundreds of miles from civilisation if the meat was a little chewy ! The highlight however were the charming staff particularly Joseph the guards and the lovely Masai guard who couldn't stop smiling we sat and talked into the night by a huge campfire quaffing beer and disturbed only by the occasional hyena cackling in the bus or a civet cat attempting to sneak past us. We came in rainy season but were told at peak season that the giraffes and gazelles regularly turn up for breakfast which is offered in the divine dining tent which is very romantic . This place was my second favourite on the tour

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank misstree
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ATL
Level Contributor
185 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 24, 2013

I am not much of a camper or one to rough it. While I prefer a more regular place to stay, this camp is a good choice as it helps cut the time spent driving into/out of the Serengeti (for those who do not want to pay to stay in the nice lodges inside the park). The large tent I stayed at fit two large beds w/ mosquito nets and had a private bathroom with a basic shower, a sink, and a toilet. It was nice that while "camping", we had the bathroom facilities (we had just hiked Kilimanjaro so these were very appreciated!). You do have to make sure you keep the tent zipped up to minimize spiders, etc. coming in. That aside, it was a very pleasant place to stay. Plenty of "windows" on the tent that allow air to come in at night and keep you cool enough.

The eating area is atop a small hill which affords great views of the land around. Don't miss sunset and sunrise from up there! It was a great place to hang out and meet others too. The one thing to mind, if you are a white wine drinker, is that it may not be cold - ask/check first!!!

At night, it is good to have some portable light (headlamp, for example) to walk around. Also, they have staff to walk you around at night as they best know to keep an eye out for any small wildlife in your path :) None of us saw any but it was good to know they had our backs!

If you are going to the Serengeti, I'd recommend the Ikoma Tented Camp.

Room Tip: Close to the eating area
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ilivetotravel_Raul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
0.0 mi away
Ikoma Safari Camp
Ikoma Safari Camp
#3 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
4.0 of 5 bubbles 128 reviews
0.0 mi away
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
Lobo Wildlife Lodge
#2 of 3 in Serengeti National Park
3.5 of 5 bubbles 266 reviews
0.0 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 347 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#15 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 825 reviews
0.0 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#14 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 407 reviews
0.0 mi away
Asanja Africa
Asanja Africa
#28 of 115 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 158 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp

Property: Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 Hotels in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Set in the midst of an incredible scenery of savannah and skies, you find Ikoma Tented Camp, sheltered in a grove of acacia trees. Ikoma has 35 traditional semi-luxury Meru tents, each under thatch with a private veranda overlooking the impressive plains of the Serengeti. The central restaurant and bar area boast a large camp fire an ideal spot to unwind with a chilled drink after a long days of exciting game viewing.Ikoma Tented Camp is ideally situated at the border of the world-renowned Serengeti National Park, along the path of the migrating wildebeests between Kenya and Tanzania. From Ikoma you can enter the western corridor of the park, taking in Kirawira and the Grumeti river home to the giant wildebeest eating crocodiles. There is no better place to enjoy one of the world's greatest wildlife spectacles.Staying at Ikoma Tented Camp gives you the unique opportunity to enjoy a night game drive or a walking safari, as the camp is located just outside the national park boundary. A great chance to see and hear some of the nocturnal animals that can’t be spotted in daytime, such as the Leopard, Aardvark and the Bat-eared fox. Another special way of experiencing the bush is by going along on a guided walking safari. Guided by a professional ranger and guard you discover the bush and its inhabitants at close range. A great way to start or end a day in the Serengeti, followed by a breakfast in the bush or a sun downer at the close of the day.The airstrip a short distance away from the camp means you can be with us in next to no time and avoid the long drive through the park should you prefer a shorter journey. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Serengeti Tented Camp - Ikoma Bush Camp Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing