We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The perfect place to end an amazing safari”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

The most beautiful and comfortable accommodations of our 13-day safari in Tanzania. The three nights at Sayari Camp were heavenly. Our "tent" looked out on the Serenghti and one night the elephants came to much on our trees. Very luxurious camping - my style. Meals were excellent and plentiful and the staff catered to our every need. Loved my dip in the pool and the soak in the marble bath tubl! Great ending was the surprise sunset cocktail party set up on the banks of the Mara River. Don't leave Tanzania without visiting here.

Room Tip: Rooms are all the luxurious "tents" the only difference is the distance from the main tent...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Katiefoster46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (511)
There are newer reviews for Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

330 - 336 of 511 reviews

Reviewed September 25, 2013

The camp is wonderful. I loved all of the people here. Our guide, Kivuyo, was outstanding. I will request him when I come back. We saw some amazing things and it is so fun to go out with someone who loves what they are doing. He really enhanced our experience and I left feeling like I have a new friend. The food was some of the best I have EVER had. The tent is very large and comfortable.

I highly recommend Sayari.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Gypsy10313
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2013

My daughter and I visited Sayari the 2nd week of Sept. and our timing was perfect. The great migration was in full swing (it started mid Aug) so we were able to view massive river crossings at least once a day. Thousands of Wildebeest and Zebra crossed each time and it was awesome. The camp is perfectly located within the Serengeti National Park and the game viewing opportunites are exceptional. The rooms are first class with all the right touches. The main lodge is within easy walking distance and well appointed, Food and drink are excellent, as is the service. The managers, Kathreen and Ross, set just the right tone for the camp and are always near by. Our guide, Emanuel, was well trained and his people skills were exceptional. This is a great camp as others have noted.

Room Tip: All the rooms are identical but the camp is split into two sections , rooms 1-7 and rooms 8-15, each...
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Gary P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 23, 2013

sayari camp is first class luxury. The camp is situated near the Mara river and the tents are truly sumptuous, very comfortable beds and beautiful bathrooms. Had a bath one day watching herds of wildebeest and zebras grazing right outside the tent. Service was great, the camp managers Ross & Catherine were very friendly and we liked the fact that they ate with the guests at night.
Because we were celebrating our 25th wedding anniversary the camp staff presented us with a bottle of champagne one evening at dinner and led by Alice & Zuly sang traditional songs to us something we will not forget anytime soon. Food was delicious and imaginative even though we were in the middle of the Serengeti, picnic breakfasts and lunches were amazing truly an adventure eating them surrounded by the game. Loved having a drink around the campfire at night listening to the sounds of the bush which continued all night, we had wildebeest running past our tent, an elephant munching on trees and a hyena calling throughout the nights we stayed managed to sleep through the lion kill though pity.
We had Olredi as our guide he was brilliant took time to find out exactly what we wanted out of our safari and what we wanted to see, which is why on our last night he drove for miles to let us see a black rhino. He is very knowlegable and knew exactly where to get the best " river crossings" and our jeep always had the best viewing spots including one evening watching a male Leopard grooming himself as the sunset. We saw every animal we wanted to see and many more. I would recommend this camp to anybody wishing to safari in the Serengeti and I have to say a big thank you to Nick French from The Tanzania Specialist for his recommendation.
We will definitely return.

Room Tip: We stayed in tent 7 which is the nearest one to the larger dining tent and lounge tent.
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Joelle_ferguson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2013

We really had an amazing experience at Sayari. The staff are all very welcoming, chatty - but not over the top. They were quick to prep gin and tonics and had delicious bitings with sundowners.

We were overly impressed with their environmental strides. Such as:
- No plastic water bottles what-so-ever. water at meals is served in pitchers. And in the rooms they have metal water bottles.
- Shampoo & Conditioner bottles are glass (not tiny plastic jobs) and all refilled
- Campfire uses sustainable briquettes not firewood

The rooms are gorgeous - a perfect mix of luxury and camping. The windows slide int the tent - so you can open them at night (they have mosquito lining). There is a huge bath tub and the best shower on earth.

The food is superb. The pool is nice (could maybe use a little more shady areas).

The location is great and right near the airstrip and river for game drives.

Overall -Best luxury camp in Serengeti.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank LauraBorner
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2013

I can't say enough nice things about the Sayari Camp. Eric the manager will bend over backward to make sure your stay is perfect. The rooms are beautiful, with a big bathroom and sort of outdoor showers. The dining tent and lounge are luxurious. The service was great, they are quick to make sure you have a drink and the four course dinners were delicious and beautifully served. The lounge has great wi-fi.
There is a nice pool built into the rocks that was perfect for an afternoon swim after being on safari all morning.
The very best thing about it is their location. They are so close to the Mara River. We saw four of the big five our first morning out. Our guide Nawtoo was very experienced and really went out of his way to make sure we saw everything right up close. There are animals all around the camp. One night going back to our tent with our escort, we nearly ran into a hippo right outside our door. Also, it was clear by the droppings on the pool deck that an elephant had been in there during the night. This property is outstanding with and outstanding staff. I would give it ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ljsmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed at Sayari at the end of August, 2013 and our stay there was nothing short of amazing. We were lucky enough to have met Michelle, the temporary 2 week relief manager of half the "resort". She was amazing. Our guide Malaki was very very good too. We enjoyed our time exploring with him as he was quick at getting us to the action and also highly educational. We learned alot from him.
Some of the other employees you will meet are amazing as well (Happy and Zull in particular). Seek them out!
We stayed at Singita (boulder) before and while less luxurious and opulent, Sayari gives them a run for the money for sure.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnnyderm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#4 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
450 reviews
25.2 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#14 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
312 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
888 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#17 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
218 reviews
67.7 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
457 reviews
76.2 mi away
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
Serengeti Pioneer Camp
#3 of 118 in Serengeti National Park
254 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 118 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range: $1,032 - $2,548 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Agoda, Hotwire and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing