We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Wonderful, magical, perfection”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Certificate of Excellence
Pound Ridge, New York
Level Contributor
57 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Wonderful, magical, perfection”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 3, 2012

We stayed at Sayari for my husband's 50th birthday and our 17th wedding anniversary. We traveled with our 3 teenage children.

The camp and the staff are absolutely wonderful and I highly recommend this camp. The rooms or tents are beautiful and you are very well looked after.

Albert was our driver for the 5 days we stayed and no, 5 days was not too long at all. Our safari drives were wonderful and Albert was informative and fun. Our game drives were full of animal sightings. My children loved it so much that they forgot to miss the wifi! A swimming pool with wonderful views really helped during the hot afternoons.

The Food is good, I especially loved the breakfast and lunches.

But what really makes this camp work is the hosts, John, Clare, Rory and Maggie are wonderful, entertaining and kind. They go out of their way to make sure your stay is perfect in every way. Thank you so much for making ours magical.

Room Tip: We stayed in 13 and our children 12. One morning we were surrounded by elephants, the next giraffe.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank kimbers1965
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

472 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    422
    46
    3
    1
    0
See reviews for
111
253
17
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

We stayed at Sayari for four nights - it was truly amazing. We were fortunate with the game, seeing just about everything in abundance - including a wildebeest crossing late in November. However, it was not the game that made it so wonderful but the place, the setting, the accomodation, the service, the personal attention, the food, wine, staff and our hosts. I cannot recommend Sayari highly enough. The guides were knowledgeable, informative and friendly and each game drive brought something new. The 'tents' are so comfortable and each is secluded with its own private verandah where you can see the animals feeding as the sun comes up. The communal areas are comfortable and all the staff are welcoming. Our hosts Clare and John went out of their way to make our visit very special and personalised, tailored to our every need. The food was delicious, bautifully presented and we always had the option of private or communal dining. We were celebrating a 'big' birthday and on the last day were treated to special sundown drinks on out drive, a beautiful cake and many congratulations from the staff which was a wonderful surprise.

If you are looking for the perfect balance of luxury, excitement, new experiences, relaxation and feeling like the most special people in the world where nothing is too much trouble - this is the place to be.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank moton
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

I have recordings of the morning sounds from Tent No 4 on my phone that I listened to today on my return to Mumbai, and I was transported to a magical place in a country far away. Tanzania is a gentle place full of gentle people, and Sayari Camp harks back to a time long gone - very Karen Blixen, very "here I am; and here I was meant to be". Clare, John and Maggie are very hospitable. The camp is run to impeccably high standards. But no words can capture the sheer magic and beauty of waking up to an African sunrise, the sounds of birds backed by the deep rumble of the Mara river near by, and the occasional bark of a herd of impala. Need I mention the hippos that can be heard grazing near the tents at night? The inscrutable askari who escort you to dinner? Or the vastness of the African skies at night, twinkling with a million stars that sweep civilization away. Do not miss.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RaviRajagopalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Darwin, Australia
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great camp in a remote setting with luxurious 'tents' and fantastic food.

We saw numerous wildebeest river crossings (highlight) and got the chance to do a walking safari, which we would highly recommend.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank lgm26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zurich, Switzerland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

Sayari was the highlight of our 10 days safari through Tanzania. Located in a stunning setting with a magnificant view of the wide spaces of the Serengeti. Clare and John made us feel like staying at a good friends place. The luxurios tents offer a lot of privace and all the luxurios amenities you drime of, after an extensive game drive with the excellent Sayari drivers (like Malaki). Sayari is what I call casual luxury: Decent, stylish and guest-orientated from A to Z. The only thing I can say is that I wished we stayed longer than just two nights.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank unterwaex_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 7, 2012

we stayed 3 nights, had an amazing time and the team of people were great, fab game drives we saw the widerbeest crossing 3 times! Clare the manager was outstanding truly cared about our individual happiness, would def go again

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sharon021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
uae
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 4, 2012

It is a luxurious tented camp with a swimming pool. The view from the lounge is stunning. Tents have wooden flooring with a deck to relax, and running water in the taps. What a blessing !
managers John and Clare are absolutely fantastic people who make your stay at the camp so comfortable and relaxed. My daughter fell sick and they took so much care of her. Calling the doctor, giving her the right medicines, making sure the chef prepared for her what she wanted to eat. I am so glad I stayed on their side of the camp.
I being a vegetarian, they always asked me and then prepared the meals.
Food is good thanks to chef Johnathan. He is an amazing baker. Everyday different cookies, muffins for tea, plus yummy desserts.
Karim, Ayub, John and rest of the team, took care of all our needs.
Our guide Frank, a splendid person! Each and every game drive of ours was outstanding and he was able to answer all our questions. The location is perfect as the mara river is near by and the safaris are done around this area, as it is home to most of the animals. Thus people from Kleins camp, Ubuntu and bushtops also come to this area for a safari.
Olakira, Serian are close by and thus they have good location too. Kogatende airstrip is just 20 minutes away. We came here after ngorongoro crater, which was dry and dusty and a let down as majority of the animals we saw from a distance.

Room Tip: clare and John's side rooms are from 7 to 15.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank mo I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Serengeti National Park hotels
45.2 mi away
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Serengeti
Four Seasons Safari Lodge Sereng...
#2 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 362 reviews
57.3 mi away
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
Serengeti Serena Safari Lodge
#16 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 834 reviews
25.1 mi away
Serengeti Migration Camp
Serengeti Migration Camp
#12 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
67.8 mi away
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
Mbalageti Safari Camp Ltd
#13 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 415 reviews
4.9 mi away
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
Lemala Kuria Hills Lodge
#21 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
5.0 of 5 bubbles 184 reviews
44.8 mi away
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
Mbuzi Mawe Serena Camp
#23 of 112 in Serengeti National Park
4.5 of 5 bubbles 253 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa

Property: Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa
Address: Serengeti National Park, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Serengeti National Park
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 112 Specialty Lodging in Serengeti National Park
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa 5*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The award-winning Sayari Camp is renowned for extraordinary wildlife sightings and supreme comfort. Set on the unspoilt plains of the Northern Serengeti, close to the famous Lamai Wedge, Sayari gives you easy access to the Mara River and multiple river crossing points. Sayari Camp offers some of the world's finest game viewing - and it does so in remarkable style. Relax in your extra-comfortable hillside suite after a day on safari, or take a dip in the glorious rim-flow swimming pool with dramatic views over the northern plains. Intimate, contemporary and elegant, it is no surprise that this permanent camp is regularly voted one of the top safari escapes on the planet. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sayari Camp, Asilia Africa Hotel Serengeti National Park

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing